We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, but hotel desperately needs a refurbishment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia

Save Saved
You added PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% Room, 20% F&B and Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Great service, but hotel desperately needs a refurbishment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

This hotel is an excellent location, right on the beach front and well located for local restaurants and the night market. The hotel staff are friendly and attentive and the food is generally of an excellent standard. The only downside are the extremely 'tired' rooms which are desperately in need of refurbishment, and the sea itself which unfortunately suffers from pollution from local industrial plants. Because of the condition of the rooms the hotel doesnt meet the standard of the advertised 5*, more like a 3*.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRPEN, Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, July 3, 2010
Dear Guest

Warm greetings from PARKROYAL Penang!

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We also appreciate that you took the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. Creating memorable hotel experiences for all our guests is what we aim to achieve, so we are always pleased to receive favourable comments as you have written here.

Our hotel has a large variety of different room types, many of which have been completely refurbished. Reading the remarks about your room, however, it would appear you were staying in one of our rooms marked for refreshment as part of our continuing property enhancement programme. I only regret we did not learn of your dissatisfaction earlier so we may have had the opportunity to provide an alternative. Please accept our sincere apologizes for the inconvenience.

We trust that your onward journey was safe and sound. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to PARKROYAL Penang. We hope to see you again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

Richard Murphy
Executive Assistant Manager
PARKROYAL Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    521
    513
    178
    55
    26
See reviews for
420
536
40
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

My husband and I stay at the Parkroyal Penang for 3 weeks every year and have done so since 1992. It is in a great location, the hotel is beautiful, very comfortable and well maintained. The restaurants are top-class. The staff are the friendliest, most helpful, people you could want to meet, who welcome us by name each year. We love the fact that the grounds are not one big mass of cement, but, rather, they are grass and palm trees with a beautiful freeform pool, overlooking the ocean. The hotel is situated within the night markets strip, surrounded by great restuarants, serving local and internation cuisines. Cannot speak highly enough of this hotel - we love it and do the others that we meet there year-after-year. The tariffs are great for a 5-star hotel.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRPEN, Executive Assistant Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, July 3, 2010
Dear Guests

Warm greetings from PARKROYAL Penang!

We are most grateful for the wonderful support you have given us over the course of so many years – thank you!

We also appreciate that you have shared your experiences here on TripAdvisor and given us such a favourable rating.

We trust that your onward journey was safe and sound. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to PARKROYAL Penang. We hope to see you again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

Richard Murphy
Executive Assistant Manager
PARKROYAL Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We have just returned from a fantastic 4 night stay at the Parkroyal. I can't believe any of the negative reviews. We stayed in a family room with a huge kingsize bed and 2 singles for the kids, there was plenty of space. From the balcony, the view of the ocean was beautiful, we witnessed stunning sunsets. The buffet breakfast was outstanding, the choice was endless, the staff were so helpful and always smiling. The grounds are immaculate with plenty of palm trees which provide ample shade if required.There were always plenty of free sunbeds. The two pools are lovely, the kids pool has a water slide which my kids loved (there was also a life guard overlooking the pool at all times).
The location is very central, the night markets (which are located direcly outside the hotel) are a must, we purchased lots of bargins, wish I had taken an empty suitcase!
The food at the hawker marker (a steady 10 min walk from the hotel) was very authentic and delicious ( very reasonable, red snapper and stir fry veg for £2).
I have read reviews stating the beach infront of the hotel is dirty, I don't agree, yes there are lots of watersports and activities, but we loved the people watching and the atmosphere. We loved the Parkroyal, a wonderful 4 days!
Tip - Turn left on the beach and after a couple of minutes you reach the sunset bistro, a must for evening cocktails watching the sunset, great cheap food too.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRPEN, Executive Assistant Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, July 3, 2010
Dear Guests

Warm greetings from PARKROYAL Penang!

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We also appreciate that you have shared your experiences here on TripAdvisor giving us such a terrific rating.

We are fortunate to have such a great team of people all working to create memorable hotel experiences for all our guests. Thank you for your kind acknowledgement of our efforts. Your feedback is both encouraging and motivational.

We trust that your onward journey was safe and sound. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to PARKROYAL Penang. We hope to see you again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

Richard Murphy
Executive Assistant Manager
PARKROYAL Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Our stay at the Royal hotel was very pleasant. The staff were very nice and friendly. I like the snake show every Saturday. We have been upgraded for a nicer room with sea view which was nice of them to offer. The only thing is the drinks and food a bit pricey!! Its a very clean hotel, I recommend the Park Royal in Penang. Me and my husband really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRPEN, Executive Assistant Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, July 3, 2010
Dear Guests

Warm greetings from PARKROYAL Penang!

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We also appreciate that you have shared your experiences here on TripAdvisor and given us such a great rating. We are glad that you and your husband “really enjoyed your stay” with us. Thank you for your recommendations.

We are grateful for your positive comments about our staff team and are especially pleased to learn that you enjoyed our famous “Snake Show”.

It is true that outside our hotel you can find cheaper food and drinks, but our offerings come only after we meet the strict standards imposed by various authorities.

You will be interested to know that we even receive inspection teams from as far away as the UK! They check we are offering travelers only the best quality and meeting the high standards you will not find outside the hotel at less regulated operators.

We trust that your onward journey was a good one. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to PARKROYAL Penang. We hope to see you again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

Richard Murphy
Executive Assistant Manager
PARKROYAL Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

We were deciding between staying at the Rasa Sayang or the Parkoyal and decided on the Parkroyal because online the photos of the rooms and facilities looked great. Unfortunately the hotel didn't live up to expectations at all.

We booked the Lanai Suite, which was not what you could describe as cheap - about AU$300 a night. When we arrived at our room, we found a dark, damp room in need of a renovation that looked nothing like what we'd seen online. I visited reception and asked to be moved to another Lanai suite and we were shown a room that was marginally better so decided to move. Once again, the room was in need of a refurbishment, very worn and quite dark - you couldn't use the main bedroom during the day without turning the lights on.

The food in the hotel was average, buffet breakfast was quite good, but lunch and dinner seemed to be quite tasteless and oily but we perservered out of convenience due to travelling with an infant.

The service at front desk was difficult, staff did not speak the best English and didn't seem to understand some of the requests. Housekeeping on the other hand were very friendly and always did a good job of making up the room. The spa was the highlight of our stay, friendly staff, reasonably priced treatments and nice facilities. The gym was also pretty well equipped.

Overall, I wouldn't stay here again unless a major refurbishment was completed. For the money we spent on food and accommodation I don't feel it was very good value compared to other places we have stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedbacks which I have taken with great concern, as it is only through your positive criticism that we can improve our services befitted to all our guests and your goodself.
I sincerely apologise if we have fail in our service delivery; I have personally review with my Team your comments and you can rest assure no stone shall be left unturned to assure that we correct where necessary and assure we create a memorable hotel experiences for all our guests.
I do sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in a near future. Please do contact me , I will personally ensure that you have a wonderful stay with great memorable hotel experiences.

Have a fantastic day.
Very sincerely

Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Comfortable well A/Cd rooms. Pleasant pool and lovely gardens.
Helpful Staff.
Brilliant breakfast - could not fault it. Eat as much as you like and choice was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Cannot fault the hotel. Staff were great and so helpful. Our flight out of Penang was delayed and although we were unable to have the room for as lonng as we needed it as the hotel was very busy, they allowed us to stay in it until 2pm instead of 12 noon. A big help.
Buffet breakfast was the best and I can definitely recommend the seafood buffet on Saturday night. Definitely as good as the Raffles in Singapore which has been my favourite for a few years now.
The room was facing the hills but mattered not aswe did not spend much time in the room...only for sleeping. One thing to be aware of which we were disturbed by at first, but which we did eventually sleep through, was the calling to Mecca or whatever they were doing, at a nearby mosque. At 5-5.30am it was not welcome!!!
The bedroom was large and very comfortable and clean and the staff very good and helpful. We ate at the restaurant and the pool cafe...both excellent. Internet is 10rm per 30 mins. The kids club looked good and the kids seemed to be enjoying it. We spent a lot of time around the pool in the shade and loved the beautiful surroundings. The beach was at the edge of the grounds but a warning that there were stingers or something in the sea put us off swimming. The sports on the beach did not bother us atall.
The sun set at night was superb.
Local bus outside the hotel for 2rms to the main town in a/c went every 15 mins. We usually got a taxi back as we were tired!!! That was usually 30 - 35 rm.
In all, this was one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in and we have certainly done our share!!!
Boondy

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia

Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery in Batu Ferringhi beach or "Foreigner's Rock," PARKROYAL Penang Resort is an idyllic retreat offering delightful hospitality as warm as tropical sun. The resort is situated right on the beach and within walking distance to Night Market, well-connected to island-wide attractions including the Geogetown, the oldest colonial city in Malaysia, temples, Butterfly Farm, Penang Hill and many more. It is also situated 45 minutes from Penang International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Penang, Malaysia Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Parkroyal Penang Malaysia Batu Ferringhi
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.