We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia

Save Saved
You added PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% Room, 20% F&B and Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Had a lovely holiday here. We found the staff extremely friendly and very helpful. The swimming pools is great and relaxing around with a fab view of the beach. Cheap and delicious Malaysian cuisine is just around the corner if you want to experiment it. Horse riding into the sunset is the best ever.

Room Tip: Try the food court down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Adam S,

I am very grateful for your kind and generous comments about our property and our Associates, the latter one are our best asset and will be real happy reading your feedbacks and will motivate all of us to work harder in achieving higher height in guests satisfaction.
Thank you a million of time and look forward with my Team to welcome you back at PARKROYAL Penang Resort soon.
Have a beautiful day.
Very sincerely,

Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    521
    513
    178
    55
    26
See reviews for
420
536
40
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kulim, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My family were waiting for a chance to check in early during the beginning of year school holiday but there will many guests waiting to check in too. Seem like most of the room are yet to be checked out yet.So one of the check in personnel whom is walking around trying to help reduce
the congestion suggested that we go for lunch first and when we are back after lunch they will then be surely able to get us checked-in.

After lunch we will told that the room we wanted is still unavailable but they will provide us with
a suite instead of 2 standard rooms. Upon our approval they immediately asked their housekeeping to add beds and assured room readiness. Within minutes we are experiencing a luxury room with the sea view thrown in. I can see how the paradigm shift change make my old
mum and children mood from being disappointed to happily Impressed.
My 2 children continued to loved every second of their stay. My moms commented that the rooms were clean and spacious. There are two pools to choose from and another "pool" called the beach to view and take a wavy dip. What a wonderful and royal feeling. Thanks to park royal Penang we had a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear MisterLimSon,
It is with great pleasure and satisfaction that we read your message and you can be rest assure that your comments will be read and distributed to all the Associates which will come as a big boost of moral well deserved for their good work.
I am also glad to notice that your children had most probably a real hard time to leave our children club as usual or our pools with slides which are a great attraction for the young and the lesser young.
It is real nice to know you found the Resort rooms clean and comfortable.
We all look forward to welcome you back to PARKROYAL Penang Resort.
Have a fantastic time ahead.
Very sincerely,
François
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our 6th trip to this hotel in 7 years and we were not disappointed , my wife and I travelled on our own this year but we have had two great 40 th Birthday parties in Penang and have stayed a Park Royal with up to 38 persons ranging from singles, couples and families with children ranging from 3 years up to 18 years and a good sprinkling of seniors, the location is great close to restaurants , entertainment venues public transport and night market, the staff and management have always gone out of their way to attend to our needs no one in any of our trips has had any complaint about the hotel or facilities. We would recommend this Hotel to any one who wants to have a great time.

Room Tip: Make sure you know exactly where and what standard the rooms are that you have booked if your travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Bob C,

Our best rewards is to see guests like your goodself coming back again and again as well as staying for so long with us; this is for us the best recognition of our hard work and in some way certification that we are doing something right.
THANK YOU, THANK YOU & THANK YOU!
The whole Team of PARKROYAL Penang Resort join me to say a big THANK YOU and look forward to welcome you back soon to Penang.

Have an outstanding time ahead.
Very sincerely,

François
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Beautiful scenery with the beach directly behind us from the pool area. Pool was nice, sufficient lounges for those wanting to relax by the pool with views of the beach... The beach is not stunning as some areas of Australia, Thailand, Hawaii, Turkey and others but there were plenty of activities on the beach to keep adults and children entertained (horse riding, jet skiing, parasailing, 'banana boat' and seabiscuit riding) but watch out for jelly fish season!
We travelled during the low season (Sept) and although quiet, there were plenty of loud Australian children with little manners by the pool (parents...it is your responsibility to ask them not to scream when trying to get your attention from across the pool as they are people trying to RELAX in peace and quiet!!!). If you are offended by the sight of Muslim women wearing the Niqab or the Burka, then this is not the place for you - we were indeed fascinated by these women but most certainly not offended...they made me feel a little underdressed, especially by the pool in my bikini - we could certainly learn a few things about being a little more discreet in our dress sense to say the least!
Breakfast was good with a sufficient variety of foods but do not expect 'bacon'! The entire place smelled like lemon grass as burners were placed by the lifts on all floors. The live band on the ground floor was good.
Taxi to the resort from the airport should not cost anymore than 70 ringgit. To get to Georgetown from the resort, catch the bus outside the resort at a cost of 2.70 ringgit pp...bus # 101 (much more frequent than 102) or 102. Shopping in town is ok but do not expect high end items - KL is the place for that. Gurney Paragon in Penang on the way back to the resort from Georgetown on bus #101 is the place if you are after labels such as H&M, Sephora, Harley Davidson, etc... For good and cheap Malay food turn left as your exit the resort. We found a great little place (4 different hawker stalls under one roof... they also had burgers and pizza) across the road about 100m from the resort (near Holiday Inn). Further down the road (same side as the resort) is an outdoor food court with a bigger variety, which is well worth a visit. For a little less than 20 ringgit you should be able to feed two adults comfortably with some great cuisine.
Duty free at airport in Penang is definitely cheaper than Melbourne as I checked out brands like Chanel and Chloe perfumes.
Hope this helps!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear SKAMGA,

Thank you very much for sharing with all of us, greatly appreciated! I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable time with us and Penang.
I sincerely apologise for any disturbances which may have occurred around the pool. We try our best to keep one pool for the children with its slides and games away from the main pool to enable guests looking for more relax time to enjoy the moment.
We all look forward to welcome you back to PARKROYAL Penang Resort and wish you a wonderful day.
Very sincerely,
François
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked this hotel ages ago and had just read some reviews before arriving, so it was with trepidation we disembarked our taxi to enter into the hotel
We experienced a very friendly welcome and found our room nicely average it does need some cheering up!
We where most surprised that on our second day, my husbands birthday - we found balloons,flowers and cupcakes with a Birthday card to him, in our room- How lovely ( they must of got info from passport)
Our requests where met promptly However the wifi in our suite did not work which was very annoying. Also it would of been nice to have a concierge to help with restaurants and advice to what to go and see.
Staff very friendly and helpful, easily approachable.
Night market, hawkers and restaurants great, also horse riding on beach, hotel has a very nice sunset bar and a good happy hour drinks list.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Cathy C,

Thank you very much for your kind feedbacks much appreciated. We keep upgrading our Wi-Fi to assure everyone throughout the Resort could enjoy seamless connection which we are now achieving with also higher connectivity speed. I apologise for the inconvenience we may have caused .
I am delighted that you found our Team very friendly and helpful and will not hesitate to pass your compliments, THANK YOU!
Have a fantastic day.
Very sincerely,

François
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was my third time in the Parkroyal and once again I loved every second of my stay! The staff were friendly as always and the rooms were clean and spacious. There are two pools to accommodate families as well as allowing adults to take a break and relax. The hotel has also set up a great platform by the beach where we can enjoy the delicious bbq buffet while enjoying the sunset! In the evenings, it was wonderful to walk through the night market and walk away with some great bargains. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Donna M ,

How nice to get such feedback particularly knowing you are a returnee, your kind comments have even more weight as it is a sign hopefully we are doing it right!
I am so pleased you also enjoyed our famous beach front outlets with its superb sunset view and great Barbecue.
We all look forward to welcome you back to PARKROYAL Penang Resort and please do not hesitate to contact me personally.
Have a wonderful day ahead.
Very sincerely,

François
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Although the hotel is showing signs of age, the public areas are well maintained, open to the beach and ocean so our stay was very pleasant. The rooms though need a round of renovation, which explains the regular "special deals" online, but I didn't mind the spartan look in the 80s (or 90s) style. It was very comfortable. The service was attentive.

If you like seafood, there is a fantastic seafood restaurant (Chinese style) 5 minutes walk along the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Chuchatchat,

I am very pleased to read your positive feedbacks and am delighted to know you had a good time and our Team was attentive to your needs.
We look forward to welcome you back in PARKROYAL Penang Resort in a not too distant future.
THANK YOU SO MUCH!
Have a fantastic time ahead.
Sincerely,
François
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia

Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery in Batu Ferringhi beach or "Foreigner's Rock," PARKROYAL Penang Resort is an idyllic retreat offering delightful hospitality as warm as tropical sun. The resort is situated right on the beach and within walking distance to Night Market, well-connected to island-wide attractions including the Geogetown, the oldest colonial city in Malaysia, temples, Butterfly Farm, Penang Hill and many more. It is also situated 45 minutes from Penang International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Penang, Malaysia Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Parkroyal Penang Malaysia Batu Ferringhi
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.