We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel for MICE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia

Save Saved
You added PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Room, 20% F&B and Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best hotel for MICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Last week we had our client dealer meet , and hotel was excellent and most cooperative
Staff , right from GM to Conceirge were all geared up for this group
I thanks entire team of the hotel ,for making this happen
Three cheers

Room Tip: Look for ocean view rooms prefably higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Aslam S,

THANK YOU, THANK YOU and THANK YOU for your very kind and generous words, which I will share with the Team.
We are so pleased we made it right and ensure a memorable experience for you and your guests.
As mentioned to you we can surely do even more with your future groups to enable them to discover our fabulous culture and heritage.
Have a fantastic and very fruitful time ahead.
Very sincerely,

François
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    538
    534
    184
    60
    28
See reviews for
445
548
40
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Park Royal for 2 nights during our stay in Penang. Although it had all the standard resort amenities, there's absolutely nothing to write home about, other than the surly waiters by the pool and exorbitant restaurant prices; 3 scoops of ice cream for RM30??? It's positioning right on the beach is convenient, as well as on the bus route. Other than that, mediocrity at its best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Have just stayed at this hotel for 5 nights while in penang. I was really hoping this hotel would prove some of its terrible reviews wrong and those reviews would just be written by picky people but sadly not.

Check in was ok however the young guy who checked us in was very vague on details and I had to press him with questions to actually find anything out I.e. how much they were putting on my card for incidentals or where exactly is breakfast of a morning. Walking to our room the disappointment started- this hotel is seriously dated and shabby. Our room was ok but bed was two singles pushed together which formed a gap in the middle. The bed itself was also quite hard and not very comfortable.

The worst part of this hotel was the noisiness. The band plays until 12.30am every night and when the room is quite close to the foyer and has no sound proofing, this does not make for relaxation. I complained three times but nothing happened, not even an apology. Why does a band need to play that late at a hotel? 11pm would even be ok but 12.30?? Not to mention the noise from other rooms and the pool, it really was not relaxing. Breakfast was only ok and was always busy, again not a relaxing experience.
The best part about this hotel is its location. It is really close to all that is batu ferringhi which is the reason I didn't rate this hotel as terrible.
I will not be returning to this hotel and won't be recommending it to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burekup
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We arrived on Friday, We were given our keys and a drink and that was that? Had no idea where our rooms were, Had no help with luggage. I have two small kids and an 81 year old nanna!!! Got to room and were tired so we grabbed something to eat and wanted to go to bed. Air conditioning was not working. Ugh... we did not sleep a wink.. hot hot hot.. And the noise! Francoise assured me that I would not get the noise with the room I was in. Yelling and screaming from the road and cars and scooters roaring into our rooms. The next morning I was sooo tired. I told reception who said there was no noise. Then Ana, who was very nice, understood what I was saying.. she said she could move us in the afternoon. ugh.. HATE moving rooms after unpacking our things. moved in the afternoon to an "upgraded room"um not really. it was on a smoking floor!!! ugh.. smoke everywhere even though they are not supposed to smoke in the rooms they certainly do!. Had an ok sleep as air con worked in this room, and there was no street noise thank goodness. Bed is like a plank so if you dont want to sleep on hard beds dont come here. No one has asked if we are ok.. basically they dont care. Havnt heard from any managers.. Ana suggested the Lanai room? but only for ALL of us.. 3 adults and 2 kids (not forgetting the 81 year old) um no thanks that wont work.. all of us in one room.. Went down to pool which is great for kids. Tried to order drinks.. Not a soul in sight? so walked to cafe and ordered. This is not a 4 1/2 star hotel... oh and because I was so tired I embarrassed myself by bursting into tears at reception because the last thing I wanted was to complain... nice one Park Royal.. we are staying at the Park Royal in KL so NOT looking toward that!!!

Room Tip: Dont get a room near the street. Sea facing only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

we are coming back in October , I am sure we will get the best out of the hotel , but reading the reviews im not so sure , lets hope we do as our stay last year was very good . see you soon park royal

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked this Hotel through Wotif as a "Wot Hotel? Mystery Deal" and then found that it was not such a "hot deal" as it basically matched what the Hotel was already publishing on Wotif. We felt this was bad marketing on their part. When we arrived the Reception staff were disorganised, but from then on all the staff were outstanding. The room was comfortable and had a nice outlook through large trees to the main street and we could hardly hear the noise from the mosque. The staff at breakfast were really impressive as they were constantly aware of what was happening - indeed what would have been an unimpressive stay was made so much better because of the lovely staff at breakfast. We ate several times at a nearby Hawker's Market Gerai Makanan and Minuman Long Beach, and the meals were really good and the price excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We have always wanted to stay at ParkRoyal when our kids were small but we couldnt bcos of d price at that time was quite expensiv..18 yrs ago. We used to stay d hotel next to RoyalPark! Always look across near d pool slides for d kids n looked exciting! Recently we managed to stay at RoyalPark but just d two of us. The room we had was quite spacious except it is not facing d sea.
I love the breakfast spread especially the healthy drink corner. You can request for veggie juice of your choice. I also like when once you are seated, the staff wld put a card to indicate the table is occupied..
I loved the kids corner for breakfast. The food are placed at the low table for the kids to help themselves!
I loved the embience. I took plenty fotos! We had room service dinner! wow the Nasi Kandar was power with varieties of lauk n my husband had bryani with huge lamb shank - Power! We also had dinner at the restaurant, the food are big portion! I hope we can come again and stay at RoyalPark and get a room thatsfacing the sea. Thank your for makingnour stay a memorable one! Insya Allaah

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia

Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery in Batu Ferringhi beach or "Foreigner's Rock," PARKROYAL Penang Resort is an idyllic retreat offering delightful hospitality as warm as tropical sun. The resort is situated right on the beach and within walking distance to Night Market, well-connected to island-wide attractions including the Geogetown, the oldest colonial city in Malaysia, temples, Butterfly Farm, Penang Hill and many more. It is also situated 45 minutes from Penang International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, AsiaRooms, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Penang, Malaysia Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Parkroyal Penang Malaysia Batu Ferringhi
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.