We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value family hotel at BF” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia to your Saves list
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
MyKad Great Savings
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
eastofeast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good value family hotel at BF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My family stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in a standard room.

It was low season or rather, the hotel was certainly uncrowded. This made our stay so much more relaxing and enjoyable.

It is hard to fault a hotel whose GM trawls trip advisor for feedback on his hotel and personally answers queries and complaints on the forum page:)

Our room 416 was very spacious. The 2 super single beds put together was more than big enough for our 2 kids and us. The air conditioning was seriously powerful- very crucial in the Penang afternoon heat.

Our room didn't have much of a view, but that was no issue to us. What was bothersome was that it was probably on the side if the hotel next to a mosque, so light sleepers would be woken by the 6am call to prayer. Rooms eastward would probably be spared that. Our room was also one half of a set of adjoining rooms. We had the misfortune of having neighbors whose child woke intermittently in the night screaming, followed by yelling parents. Not exactly conducive to rest but through no fault of the hotel's.

Housekeeping is top notch. They have very honest staff that they should be very proud of: in our morning rush, we left the safe in the room unlocked, with our passports, tablets and USD in full view the entire day we were out. Nothing was missing when we got back.

The only extremely minor gripe was that the water pressure of the shower head was not as strong as I would have liked... But nothing that warranted a call to front desk.

The pool is probably one of the most perfect for families with young kids. There are shaded areas almost anytime of day, which really helps as kids are wont to spend the entire day in the pool.

There are varying depths: 1m, 1.5m at the main pool and 1.2m at the slides with a 50cm paddle area (completely shaded) for the littlest ones. Perfect for kids to swim about and adults to lounge with a drink.

The slides are also a huge draw. There is enough water flowing to make it a thrilling ride for anyone.

My 5 year old visited the kids club which was large enough and not some afterthought. There was a play area with toy kitchens, building blocks and some trucks and cars. There was a small playscape with a slide into a ball pit. There were also a number of rockers and flat screen TV. They conduct various craft activities daily but my kids didn't do any.

Breakfast is open air with an option to sit out al fresco in a green open space where kids could run around. Food wise, it was passable but I was very happy they had a fresh juice counter for carrot and cucumber juice. I hate breakfast buffets that only have carton juice on tap. It would be nice if the quality if the food eg bread and honey stars could be improved.

Location was superb, with the rapid bus stop just outside. It's also right smack in the middle of the night market, if you like that. We were also pretty close to the butterfly farm which is a definite must-do, as is the Escape Theme Park. ( will be posting separate reviews on those 2 places).

The rapid bus also takes you to adventure zone at Rasa Sayang (or you could walk some 20min) which is a fantastic indoor playground with drop slides. Great for a couple of hours to avoid the midday sun. Open to non Shang guests too. Just bring socks and long sleeve tops.

From the hotel, you can walk to the 2 main food centers: "I Love You" and "Longbeach" though neither had anything really exciting and they only open in the evenings around 7pm.

We chanced apon Jewel of the North, a restaurant across the road, a little way down, that had pretty decent Chinese and Indian food. But it was the most expensive meal we had in Penang. The massage shop next to it was also good for an after-meal snooze.

Over all, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Park Royal Penang to families with kids. It's not swanky, it's not posh.... But it ticks all the right boxes for me and it's now my favourite family hotel. Will be back in June again - it's also near enough to the durian plantations!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear lwwho1,

Thank you so much for your kind message and comments, always very nice to receive such positive feedback and very motivating.
All of us, Associates, we are here to ensure all our guests have a great time with us and we are very grateful to know when we do well and even more when we fail to do so by providing us feedback when at the resort to assure we can turn positively the situation to assure our guests ‘ satisfaction.
Thank you once again and look forward to welcome you back.
Have an outstanding day.
Very sincerely,
François
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    583
    191
    67
    29
See reviews for
490
588
43
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Everything was ok, just at the edges it's not up to the best of standards. The food is very average with a real bun fight at breakfast. Spa was good once we got our booking. Unfortunately we sat in the reception of the spa for 15mins before anyone came to meet us when we tried to book. Staff were friendly but lightly trained. Check in was a little messy and I was asked to settle my room bill after 24 hours because I had gone through the level of the authorisation are spending that they had taken when I checked in. But pool is good, very good position on the beach grounds are pretty. One last thought, on the booking I was asked to make some comments so I just said that it (really) was my birthday and my first trip to Penang and yet this was completely ignored by the hotel staff. Even a happy birthday greeting from the staff would have sufficed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Gadstrat ,
Thank you very much for your message, much appreciated!
During busy period breakfast could be an issue with everyone going to the buffet together.
I sincerely regret we missed out your birthday and the information you kindly provided was not highlighted to the management for immediate action, please accept once again my deepest apologies.
I wish you a wonderful time ahead.
Very sincerely,
François
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just back after spending 10 nights at the Park Royal hotel. Whilst the hotel on first impressions needs some updating, it is nonetheless a great option to stay at whilst in the Batu Ferringhi area. Both the bedrooms and bathrooms are big. The hotel is constantly being cleaned. All the staff are friendly and helpful. Only ate breakfast in the hotel, which was good and caters for most nationalities. Great pool area, including a separate pool play section. There are loads of sun beds, both located around the pools and garden areas. There's a tennis court and well equipped gym. The hotel was lovely and quiet and made a great refuge from the busy areas near by. It is very well located for the night markets, hawker centres, restaurants and main local bus services. The fresh hand made cookies delivered to the room each afternoon were a lovely touch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear DappleKettering,
Thank you so much for your nice message and comments. Your kind comments aboutour Associates will pass to them and will surely come as a boost of moral to all of them.
Have a fantastic day ahead
Very sincerely,
François
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

In early March we stayed at Parkroyal Penang Resort Hotel and were very impressed with the staff friendlyness the overall quality of this resort. On arrival we were meet at the foyer area entrance by a young lady from reception who took over our luggage and led us to the comfort of a lounge whilkst she checked us in. To add to this greeting we were given a welcome cold fruit drink .
This attitude of total friendlyness by the staff continued through our 4 day stay . The buffet breakfast was excellent with a very wide selection of fruits,cerials and hot foods. The room was large and provided a good view of the ocean. The bathroom was large and the shower worked veryy well.
About one hour from the airport and 20/30 minutes from Georgetown both of which can be reached by hotel taxi services at RM100 and RM40. Hiring a taxi for an all day exploration of Penang Island can also be arranged from the hotel travel desk.However if you already have specific places you would like to be taken too make sure you ask to be provided with a driver who knows Georgetown verywell. Otherwise you may get someone whose knowledge is limited to the popular tourist spots.
Whilst the hotel restaurants are very good outside the hotel either to your right or left are many stalls and eating spots where the great taste of Malaysian food can be enjoyed.
Overall a great spot to switch off and have a very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Keith060,
It is so nice to read your comments as sometime with the Team we feel down but your message is a real ecstasy for our moral and can’t thank you enough.
Have a lovely and fruitful day.
Very sincerely,
François
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at the Parkroyal, and would recommend it to others.
We had a partial sea view room, and though I haven't seen the alternatives I probably wouldn't bother upgrading to it next time. Room was nice and large though, the King Size was two beds pushed together, but comfortable enough. Our room over looked a mosque, so got a little noisy early in the morning and other times, so if you're a light sleeper might want to try and get a room on the other side..
Breakfast included which was terrific, coffee was a little hit and miss.
Pools and slides were very nice, and ecstatic hours was very good value.
It is a trek from the airport to Batu Ferringhi beach, and we didn't venture far at all.
The markets are right on the doorstep and kept me busy most nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the eastern wing to get some distance from Mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear AusTryst,
Thank you very much for your kind comments which I will gladly share with my Team.
We all look forward to welcome you back soon.
Very sincerely,

François
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent a few days here on a romantic get-away and had a wonderful time. The room was large, very clean and well maintained with a beautiful bathroom. The balcony was a little pointless and overlooked other buildings but we never used it as the pool side was wonderful. The buffet dinners are delicious and good value as was the breakfast which was tasty and varied. As a GHA Black member we also got tasty surprises in our room each day from chocolates to fruits which were always a great surprise.

The beach isn't the best for sea swimming but the pool makes up for it. The hotel also offer a good range of excursions around the island - having your own driver for a couple for the day isn't expensive and you can see the sights you want and a pace you want.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Sam E,
Thank you so much for your nice feedback and we are delighted to know we achieve to provide you a great time with great food for which we are renown for.
Have a lovely and beautiful time ahead.
Very sincerely,
François
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My Husband and I along with my parents ,stayed here from 25th Feb-10th March 2013,we both had Sea Facing Grand Deluxe Rooms with Balcony,which we made use of most evenings for drinks before dinner,the hotel although a little tired is very welcoming and was like an oasis after a hard day sightseeing and shopping etc.The bed's are very comfortable and housekeeping should be very proud of their work,as everything was spotlessly clean, the grounds are tropical and very well attended to,I must say all of the staff are most friendly,always smiling and cannot do enough to please.Special mention to Zam at Uncle Zac's On the Beach,I was celebrating my 60th birthday and had the most loveliest dinner with the sun setting over the hill,and Zam had a smile a mile wide while attending to us,so a big thankyou.Breakfast Buffett had plenty of choice to keep everyone happy.The ladies at St Gregory's Spa on first floor are very professional and friendly,would definatley recommend a visit.Great location with everything you could possibley need all at walking distance.We frequented many eateries after recommendations from friends.Will returnand stay again.Thank you to Manager Richard who always greeted us with a huge smile.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the local Mosque as you can ,as it does wake you early,which if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Teena H,
Thank you very much for your great comments and have passed them to all the Associates which came as a boost of moral to them and great motivation to perform even better.
Thank you , thank you and thank you.
Have an outstanding day.
Very sincerely,
François
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia

Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery in Batu Ferringhi beach or "Foreigner's Rock," PARKROYAL Penang Resort is an idyllic retreat offering delightful hospitality as warm as tropical sun. The resort is situated right on the beach and within walking distance to Night Market, well-connected to island-wide attractions including the Geogetown, the oldest colonial city in Malaysia, temples, Butterfly Farm, Penang Hill and many more. It is also situated 45 minutes from Penang International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Penang, Malaysia Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Parkroyal Penang Malaysia Batu Ferringhi
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.