We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good,Bad and the Ugly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia to your Saves list
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
MyKad Great Savings
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The good,Bad and the Ugly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A very mixed bag experience. Nice book- in procedure. present booking file and passport then seated in a very spacious lounge area and given an iced cordial while they completed our booking. Our rooms were not ready at 2.00pm so they upgraded us. We had requested 2 rooms with king bed but both rooms had 3 single beds. On complaint they place a topper pad on 2 singles pushed together as no king rooms available? The rooms were very dated so pleaded we had the upgrade. We did sleep well during our 4 night stay but had own pillows, the room ones were awful. Duvet cover was ripped badly as well.
Breakfast was good so no complaints.
Lunch and dinners very limited with mixed experiences. Much better food very close so chose to eat out most of the time.
This is a non-smoking hotel so when one room reeked of smoke on the third day we were offered strong lemon oil as they were fully booked but offered another room the next day. This was accepted and the new room was far superior with a king bed and sea view.
The Happy Hour was not so happy as when we ordered they said it was past 7.30pm, we ordered our drinks and after about 10 minutes I noticed the time was only 7.33pm so insisted we be charged the lower prices, this was agreed. but they were in a much smaller glass than the normal priced ones,so hardly a happy hour. The menu for happy hour was also very misleading so read carefully and ask questions. We did but not one of the 3 staff we asked could reply correctly.
The beach was average but would not swim in the murky water so be prepared to grab a sun lounger early and swim in the pool which was clean.
The staff a very mixed bag ranging from rude to excellent. The upper management were by far the best so go to the top if you need to.
This is not a hotel for couples wanting a relaxing break but does cater well for families with many activities and facilities, children noisy and unruly as parents relaxing..
This is not a tropical island getaway, horrific traffic and about 15km from Georgetown along a winding congested road.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Apteryx54,

Thank you very much for your feedback and positive criticisms, sincerely greatly appreciated as it assist us to constantly help us to improve our services to serve all our guests better day after day and create memorable hotel experiences.
I very sincerely regret of any discomfort with our pillows and that you did not see in the room that we offer a variety of pillows to assure the best possible comfort, a call to our housekeeping will have enable you to have a selection to your liking. Once again very sorry!
I do sincerely regret that, as you kindly mentioned, you met with higher management but you did not highlighted those issues at the time of the interaction with us, as we surely will have done our best to improve where needed to assure you had a pleasant and memorable stay with us.

You probably came during the Christmas period whereby many visitors from Malaysia and Singapore come by car to visit our island and at time Penang, yes, was under very heavy traffic very regrettably! In a normal time, off peak season, the traffic is quite smooth and going to Georgetown is a short drive of 30 minutes. I sincerely regret any discomfort caused.

Once again, I sincerely regret of the discomfort caused and you can rest assure that we will continue working hard on the issues brought up to our attention to assure serious improvement.
I do appreciate that you could be deterred from visiting Penang and patronizing our property again but if given another opportunity, we will prove to you those issues were only accidents and not the norm of PARKROYAL Penang Resort.
Please do contact me personally and will ensure you have a memorable time with us.
Very sincerely,

François
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    583
    191
    67
    29
See reviews for
490
588
43
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We asked the travel agent for a quality hotel that was peaceful and could provide a balcony room with a view. Mission accomplished. We were swiftly booked into room 714 on the 7th floor and the second thing we did after turning the air con on was to step out onto the balcony and check the view. We weren't disappointed. We had great 5 night stay and gave the spa a good workout. We found the food, spa, piano lounge, cool bananas, pool and service to be excellent and I took the time to seek out the assistant manager Ana, and expressed our satisfaction. For the Aussies reading this, the place is chilled out, the frothy's are cold and thongs and boardies are the norm and if you sick of Kuta, give this a crack. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Glen P,
It is so nice and very reassuring to read your message which really come as a great motivation to all of us to know we are on the right track!

Thank you so much and wish you a wonderful Year 2013 full of joy, success and great health.
Very sincerely,

François
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

we stayed here as part of a family group of 17 between christmas and new year. overall a lovely hotel set out very spaciously right on the beach. taxis or hotel minivan only 40 ringit to Georgetown.
rooms clean and spacious. breakfast is one of the best - try the beef randang or other curries. the pancakes are sensational. we were there during busiest time but our needs were well met. Pools are refreshing & the big slide was a hit with all ages. nearby restaurants on the beach and nearby offered excellent choices of local and international cuisine at good prices. (esp the Ferringhi Coffee Garden group on the right as you walk out of hotel) there is a doctor in residence - a service we used twice for minor ailments that were quickly diagnosed and remedied for a fraction of AUD prices.

Kids club was a hit with the tots - very clean and organised with lots of different activities.
our biggest gripe from our party (tho not troublesome for me) was the noise of the hotel band each night - plus the wedding bands on three nights. seems to depend on what room and floor you are on but it is worth ringing reception when it gets too much.

overall really enjoyed time here - nights - a true family atmosphere & very obliging staff even at the busiest time of the year.

Room Tip: sea facing second floor rooms open on to a large spacious area ideal for relaxing in the chairs away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear leppo_11,
I pretty happy to read your kind words and real nice comments about our Team, our famous Breakfast, our quality of food and facilities.
Children are one of our important guests and we always try to create a great environment for them to have a fantastic time and provide their respective Parents a second honeymoon!
I sincerely regret the disturbance due to the music in garden and lobby, we are doing our best to keep it at level to avoid to be a nuisance to all other customers, please accepet our sincere apologies.
We look forward to welcome you back in a near future and wish you a wonderful Year 2013 full of joy, success and great health.
Very sincerely,

François
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We chose this hotel as it offered the best value among the 5-star offerings on Batu Ferringhi. We were not disappointed. Service was attentive and extremely friendly- all in keeping with a relaxed, luxury resort theme. The hotel is situated next to the beach (and the sea sports), has a great buffet breakfast, and the kids fully enjoyed the swimming slides and the kid's club. Many couples hold weddings on the hotel lawn by the beach. There are also many restaurants and shops, and a night bazaar (pasar malam) at the hotel's doorstep.
The beds were very large and comfortable, and the hotel provided bedroom slippers and showercaps.
The beach is nothing to crow about- the water is not as clear as what you'd expect from a top beach in Bali or Phuket. There are interesting sea creatures to look out for - starfish, jellyfish etc which are delightful to kids.

Room Tip: Beach-facing rooms would be better. But the street-facing ones are cheaper and well-insulated from n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear rypper,

WOW we are so pleased to read your very kind and generous comments. It is really a great rewarding message for all of us to know we are on the right track in providing great service and create memorable hotel experiences to all our guests.
This is great feedbacks and real big moral boost on this beginning of the New Year THANK YOU , THANK YOU, AND THANK YOU!
Again, Thank you so much and wish you a wonderful Year 2013 full of joy, success and great health.
Very sincerely,

François
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Accommodation was very good,the staff were excellent and the location was ideal.The night market is outside the hotel.There's a bus stop outside also which provides a good service to Georgetown.2.70 one-way about 60 pence.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Andygammage,

Thank you so much for your kind and generous feedbacks, it is great to know we succeeded to create a memorable experiences for you while staying with us. Your positive comments about our Associates will surely be passed to them and will generate I am sure great sense of motivation to all of them, including me, to keep doing their best.
Thank you once again and we all look forward to welcome you back in a not too long future.

Have a wonderful New Year ahead, full of joy, success and great health.
Very sincerely,

François
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have stayed at the Park Royal twice a year for the last five years and have always enjoyed ourselves. Who couldn't ? Its a wonderful place to relax and take it easy away from the real World. You will start the day with an amazing Breakfast and then lounge around the rest of the day at the beautiful Pool area where you can soak up the sun and have the odd drink or two.
I have no problem recommending this wonderful Hotel and have in the past and will do so in the future . unfortunately are last stay in December , we handed over are Visa Credit Card at check in as per normal so they could deduct Money to cover incidentals during are stay, we have done this many times and never had a problem at Park Royal or any other Hotel we have stayed in. How ever when we arrived back home our Bank had blocked our Credit Card due to some out of normal purchases and wanted to if we had made these purchases. We hadn't, they were for I Tune Games & Soe web site games. Our Bank cancelled our Credit and issued a new one straight away, they also told us that the purchases were made from a portable Sony Device. neither of us own one. These illegal purchases were made on Sunday the 16th of December, our check in date was Thursday the 13th and we had not used that Credit Card for more than a month before . Im not accusing the Park Royal or there staff but something has gone wrong,
I doesn't make me or my Wife very happy to write about this in a open forum but i couldn't find a E Mail address for the Hotel, but then i thought people should be told so they can be a little bit more careful and may be the Hotel could look into there Security Procedures.
As i said its a wonderful place & we will be back in March, but we will be paying in cash.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear thewallet,

First of all, I would like to apologise, most sincerely, if you felt we were possibly involved, , in the credit card scheme; I sincerely and deeply regret you did not contact me directly via our web site or here on tripadvisor.com through message system to clarify the situation, give us a chance to us to clear our name prior being public in this forum to be fair to all parties.
I do appreciate you do not accuse our Associate or property for wrong doing but as our name is mentioned, you can be assured that we will work on it immediately to reassure you and all the readers that PARKROYAL Penang Resort is SAFE!

I do appreciate that credit card safety is a big concern to all and because of it, we have taken already years ago very strict measures to ensure no such issues could occur in our premises.
We are working diligently with the banks to ensure all credit card machines and transactions are safe from any possible abuse. Associates are trained and under strict supervision to not permit such misbehaviour. In the past four years, I manage this property, I am very proud to say, we have no case of fraud.

As soon as I get your personal contacts, you can be rest assured that I will do a thorough investigation associated with the Banks and you can be sure that no stone shall be left unturned to assure that we find the roots of the issue and the truth prevail to clear our name.

Once again, I most sincerely and deeply regret that it could have happen to you, but by experience, it is not necessary that if your card was used in one last place that this place is at fault. Could your card been use elsewhere during the trip? The fraud could be done months after the information been stolen.

Malaysia used to be a centre of credit card fraud issues but I can assure you that for the past 10 to 15 years the banks have work really hard to make it extremely difficult and if suppliers are found at fault they will lose their license and not been able to be supported by any banks as well major fines and possibly closure of the business.

We have taken the necessary steps, long ago and constantly upgrade our system to avoid such claim with aim to keep all our customers safe while staying with us.

On a positive note, I would like to thank you for all your great positive comments about our property and services. Thank you for your motivating words about our service, famous breakfast and our facilities. Coming from a returnee has more value to us and surely boost all of us to work harder and better in providing constantly better services to all our guests including your goodselves.

I look forward to hear from you soon to enable me to regain your confidence in us and PARKROYAL Penang Resort.
Also we look forward to welcome you back and we thank you in advance for keeping the trust in us and will personally ensure to meet you personally in March.

Have a wonderful, wonderful New Year ahead, full of joy, success and great health to you and family.
Very sincerely,

François
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 days and enjoyed the location and ambiance at Parkroyale. The hotel is near the national park, spice garden and there is a night market in the area. Its 40-45 mins from Georgetown and Butterworth, depending upon traffic. We received an upgrade and a good treatment upon arrival; the room was a bit small but the view made up for it. The check in time is 3pm so plan around it or the wait may be a good couple of hours upon arrival. There are several eateries in the area for those who want to enjoy some local food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Feeduki,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback, greatly appreciated! Glad you had a good time with us!
We wish you a wonderful New Year 2013 and look forward to welcome you back soon.
Very sincerely,

François
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia

Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery in Batu Ferringhi beach or "Foreigner's Rock," PARKROYAL Penang Resort is an idyllic retreat offering delightful hospitality as warm as tropical sun. The resort is situated right on the beach and within walking distance to Night Market, well-connected to island-wide attractions including the Geogetown, the oldest colonial city in Malaysia, temples, Butterfly Farm, Penang Hill and many more. It is also situated 45 minutes from Penang International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Penang, Malaysia Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Parkroyal Penang Malaysia Batu Ferringhi
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.