We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia to your Saves list
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast and dinner
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Parkroyal for 9 nights - deluxe ocean view room. Apart from the chaotic check in - lots of people arrived all at one on a public holiday - we had no complaints! The bed was massive - nearly two queens!! The hotel is in a great location with lots of restaurants near by with amazing food (especially Indian and Malay - but also western options). The local street is very quiet during the day but at night comes alive with market stalls selling fake bags/sunglasses/clothes etc. The hotel is located on a lovely beach - recommend requesting to have breakfast in the garden for the view. Maid service was great and very friendly. Free wifi was great. Loved hanging out by the pool - heaps of sun beds, great pool side snacks (massive serving sizes) and loved the frozen mango juices. We old definitely go back. Had a great time!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Caroline D,
I am so please to read your kind comments most encouraging to me and my Team as some time we really feel down but thank you so much for sharing your kind and generous comment swith all of us; greatly and sincerely very much appreciated.
We all look forward to welcome you back in a not too distant future.
Have a wonderful, wonderful day.
Very sincerely,

Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    560
    185
    65
    29
See reviews for
473
565
42
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harvey WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just returned home after spending 8 nights with husband and friends at Park Royal Hotel (Penang). Husband was dragged along most reluctantly, so keen for him to have a good experience. Holiday was a package deal with Singapore airlines, so wasn't sure what to expect. Well! We had a FASTASTIC time! We found the staff to be courteous, polite and very helpful; the buffet breakfast excellent; bedrooms clean, quiet (especially the aircon); loved the pool area; and service wonderful. For what we paid, I kept thinking that someone gave us the wrong price - it just seemed too cheap! Anyone who didn't like staying the Parkroyal, wouldn't be happy wherever they stayed. We'll be back and yes, my husband really enjoyed himself - especially the entertainment and music each everning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear LeahMyalupWA,
THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU. So glad you really enjoyed and had a good time with us as mentioned earlier sometime when we read feedbacks we get very confused. Your kind comments give us a great boost of moral to the Team and I to perform our duty better and of higher standard. Thank you once again so much
Have a fantastic day.
Very sincerely,
Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penang
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

had a short getaway stay at the hotel during weekend in october,. luxury hotel environment and room . not much delay during check in . comfortable room . nice view of pool . nice beach( unable to enjoy beach due to raining day) . had sea food buffet in hotel , nice food and services provided. also had a walk along the night market / stalls along batu ferringhi . variety of stuff for shopping but need bargaining for good price.Our room included breakfast however we woke up late and had it in a rush .Would recommand for traveller to enjoy the breakfast early as the cafe is near to the beach with a good morning breeze.

Room Tip: choose room higher floor better view. other wise all the room are comfortable and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear jackson_kong,

I am so pleased to read your message and to get such nice feedback, always truly appreciated by all of us at the Resort.
We all look forward to welcome you back in a near future and offer you another memorable hotel experiences.
Have a lovely day ahead.
Very sincerely,

Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Spent 5 days in this hotel for vacation. Localization and outdoor amenities is really good, although the rooms are definitely up for need of refurbishment. Old carpets and interior.
Breakfast isn't fantastic, but it is ok. Staff is helpful, but very variable quality of how they threat you. Basically no view from the room that we had, which was a hill view. From the name I did not expect the view to be to great either...

Overall, considering the localization and nice pool area I can recommend this for families as well as couples.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Geir S ,
It is very nice to read your positive feedback and your personal positive feelings about our property which reassure us that we are on the right track and push us to work harder and ensure to provide all our guests with memorable hotel experiences. we are pleased to let you know that we are presently in process to change our room flooring to wooden type and change all carpets through out the resort as well as many other improvement plan for next year.
Thank you very much for sharing and for your support, greatly appreciated!
Have a wonderful day
Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Going to Penang was a last minute decision. I was desiring for a beach location nearby and somewhere I could also explore and be a tourist. Since it has been more than 10 years I was last at Penang, I decided to book the Parkroyal Penang Resort as it was right on the beach. The rooms were quite pleasant and very resort style. The hotel ground is large enough for a lovely morning walk. I most enjoyed the morning experience of having breakfast right at the beach front. You could enjoy the sea view while having a leisurely breakfast and not have to get all hot and sticky at the beach.

The disadvantage about staying at Batu Ferringhi is that it is quite a distance from the city area where all the tourist sights and local food is mostly located. Taking the shuttle bus from the hotel cost quite a bit (which I wish it was free), and taxis in Penang is really expensive and you have to pay through your teeth. The reception was also really slow in processing our check-ins, but I suppose when you are overseas you just have to be patient.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear thegaltravels,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. Always greatly appreciated to hear from our guests.
I am pleased to know you enjoy your stay with us and with my Team look forward to welcome you back in a near future.
In regards of the taxi fare, from the hotel all the fee are fixed to assure that there is no abuse and price list in placed a the front door and concierge to keep everyone informed. A 25 kilometres trip to down town will cost only RM30 or S$.13 approximately. We also have in front of the hotel the regular city bus going down town or to airport from RM2.70 only
I regret that you may have had difficulty with the transport cost and hope this additional information will helpful for a future visit.

Have a beautiful day.
Very sincerely,
Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Parkroyal Penang. The atmosphere was lovey, the staff are amazing they look after my family very well and catered for our every need.Everything was incredibly perfect, from the room which featured a king size bed with two single beds for the kids in the same room (this perhaps the only negative thing...) but a big bathroom with an outdoor huge Jacuzzi which my kids enjoyed a lot, to the Kids club, swimming pools., The food from the poolside cafe was also excellent. we tasted any kind of food Malaysian and it was all about great and tasty one and overall guests support and service. One negative thing I've got to say is that WIFI is free of charge for only ONE device per room, meaning free for only one person. Overall, I would definitely recommend this resort and they truly do such a wonderful job in making every one of their guests comfortable and happy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Marlene S,
Your comments have certainly warmed our hearts and we are truly grateful for your kind words!
Thank you for your lovely review and we are honored that you have chosen to stay with us. It is our vision to create memorable hotel experiences to all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to PARKROYAL Penang Resort soon.
Have an outstanding day.
Yours sincerely,
Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a good value place to stay in Batu Ferringhi, great location near the night market and long beach cafe. Was nice and quite when we stayed there.

The hotel is in need of a renovation, very 80s... The rooms do need a makeover to bring them into this decade... but the rooms are clean and tidy. There are very limited tv channels (no hbo and not many English channels) and like alot of other people mentioned, the free wifi is unbearably slow.

The pool is fantastic, and the hotel breakfast buffet one of the best around

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia

Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery in Batu Ferringhi beach or "Foreigner's Rock," PARKROYAL Penang Resort is an idyllic retreat offering delightful hospitality as warm as tropical sun. The resort is situated right on the beach and within walking distance to Night Market, well-connected to island-wide attractions including the Geogetown, the oldest colonial city in Malaysia, temples, Butterfly Farm, Penang Hill and many more. It is also situated 45 minutes from Penang International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Penang, Malaysia Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Parkroyal Penang Malaysia Batu Ferringhi
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.