We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Rewarding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Penang to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Gateshead UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Very Rewarding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2006

Just returned from 10 days at this wonderful hotel. Arrived after 3 days in K L (stayed at Crowne Plaza see review) to be greeted by friendly staff who checked us in swiftly. Our room was in the tower block with great views over the sea and along the main street with the evening market stalls and lights. I could not speak highly enough of the hotel staff right from the very top down to the bar and restaurent staff. The hotel needs a bit of refurbishing which i understand from the management work is due to begin later on in the year. I would defintly return to this hotel because everybody makes you feel part of the family.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    585
    225
    70
    40
See reviews for
488
387
51
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2006

I had booked to stay here for 7 nights. I booked a kids suite which was very spacious but very dated. The playstation was a PS1 and the tv was very old. Maybe if I hadnt just stayed at the Hilton in KL It wouldnt have seemed so bad. The lobby areas were nice but the room just seemed tired. The hotel manager was lovely when I told him it wasnt what I had expected and we checked straight out. We went up the road to the Shangri la for not much more money with breakfast included. If you get a cheap deal it would be ok, but did lack the atmosphere the Shangri la had. Good night market outside.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire, U.K.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2006

We stayed on the 11th floor of the tower block which is connected to the main hotel block by a private overhead walkway. This is a very useful feature because the bisecting main road can be dangerous to cross.

We arrived after staying in a fabulous hotel in Singapore and it was immediately apparent that the Holiday Inn was not in the same class. My first impression of the accommodation was not favourable. The decor and some of the furniture looked tired and in need of refurbishment. On the plus side, we had a magnificient sea-view from our balcony, providing one did not mind standing, there being no balcony furniture.

The plumbing was rather noisy and the air conditioning vents needed cleaning. Very powerful shower though and the individual safe in the rooms is a nice touch. Unfortunately, I discovered the odd cockroach. Not an infestation by any means and easily dealt with, providing one is not squeamish.

Food was reasonable without being spectacular and visitors may find some of the pork substitutes, e.g. chicken sausage, not to their liking. The pool was clean, although not the largest I have encountered. I cannot recommend swimming in the sea, owing to pollution.

The hotel complex sits on top of a T-junction and, in the evenings, a combination of stall holders blaring out music and traffic noise can be rather annoying. At least, on the higher floors of the tower block, guests are better insulated from this racket.

There are plenty of stalls and eating places in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, especially The Ship. Some of the other 'restaurants' look rather risky, especially those located next to open drainage dykes.

The staff were friendly, extremely helpful and industrious and will, therefore, remain the most pleasing aspect of our stay at the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2006

We stayed in this hotel from 9th to 13th May 2006. We stayed in the Beach Wing, and chose to upgrade to 7th Floor with Private Balcony.

Let's start with the room. The room was lovely, spacious, clean and very adequate for our requirements. The bathroom was clean - with bath, shower. We got fresh towels each day. The air con was a saviour and everything in the room was nice and the view was absolutely stunning.

The pool area is great. You can either lie by the pool, or right beside between the pool and beach they have a grassy area under the palm trees which is sensationally relaxing. We stayed here most of the time, reading books, feeling the cool breeze overlooking the beach.

There is one restaurant in the hotel which has a wide and varied menu to suit all tastes of all ages. We ate here several times and had not complaints, the food was very nice and well priced. Although you can eat alot cheaper out on the streets but we just wanted the convenience.

Also on site, available is massage and feet reflexology. I would recommend the massage, as I had one each day. Once again well priced and felt wonderful. I also had the reflexology which was also just as relaxing, but also educational and really interesting and would also recommend this for such a small fee.

The beach is approximately 4 metres from the poolside of the hotel. Also on the beach they have all the watersports available. We rode the jetskis a few times for some fun, which was pretty good and recommended. I also saw people riding horses along the beach - which we didn't do but people seemed to be enjoying it.

Unfortunately, whilst the ocean surruonding Penang looks gorgeous, it is full of jellyfish. Some people braved the water, and went swimming. We didn't bother but don't let that put you off. The pool is so close to the beach, is doesn't matter.

The location is great. You are right in the middle of all the action of Penang, but it isn't on your doorstep. At no time, whilst in the hotel grounds did we hear/see anything from the hussle/bussle of outside. The night market is on each night right outside the hotel which is the cheapest place to buy all of your trinkets to remember the holiday.

We took a couple of organised tours from the hotel which were fine and met with our requirements. A 1/2 day City Tour which showed us pretty much all the highlights of the island. Dinner Tour to Penang Mountain which was gorgeous and well worth a visit.

All up, we found Penang and Holiday Inn one of the most relaxing island/places we ever visited. Whilst there isn't the luxuries of the Maldives etc, it is still a beaituful place with lovely people, great food and cheap prices. Also, a little mini paradise that isn't yet overly saturated with tourists.

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a nice, clean hotel in a great location for relaxtion.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2006

Tower Wing room was very large (there was a corridor leading to the sleeping area) with a great view of the beach. I think the room I was in was upgraded from standard, the toilet had a bath and a shower, the other room my group used had a much smaller room. The room does show age, but is at least decently maintained and clean. Staff at the hotel were friendly and accomodating. No complaints here. I'd stay here again if I could get the same low rate.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100 , Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy'memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.