We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holidays august 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Penang to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Rockingham, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“holidays august 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

had a wonderfull time at the hotel, manged to pick the holiday for the end of Ramadan so the hotel was bursting with a lot of people from the middle east but no problems for the staff they managed brilliantly. had a lot of time in the pool and palm tree gardens watching the para gliders. ste out a lot as there is many eateries and the night markets are to be seen, got lots of shopping done at VERY cheap pices(don't forget to haggle!!!!!!!!) because of the holiday time lots of fireworks at night ....all very enjoyable. we stayed in the beach side with a pool view never ever bored during the 10 days we stayed.

Room Tip: all rooms appear to be very good I made several friends and heard no complaints from anybody, as I s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald M, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Billnbev,

Thank you for writing such a great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our team will be very happy to receive your praise and do look forward to welcoming you for your next return visit to Penang again!

Warm regards,

Donald Morris
Executive assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    640
    244
    77
    44
See reviews for
525
453
60
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We wanted to stay on the beach in Batu Ferringhi for cheap and Holiday Inn was the most affordable place we could find. Kind of thought it was going to be a dump - until we checked in. Staff was amazing and accommodated is for an extra night, even let us use their Internet to save on the booking cost. Clean, gorgeous rooms. Strategic location. Private and beautiful beach area and great pool. The only thing is the food is a bit pricy. Otherwise GORGEOUS hotel! :D

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald M, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Charlene r,

It is such a pleasure to read your great comment! Please let us know if we can assist with your booking in future and we look forward to welcoming you back to Penang!

With best regards,

Donald Morris
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed two nights in the tower and the staff were very friendly, rooms spacious and clean.
Great to be right on the beach together with a big pool.
The night market in the main street was fun together with a many restaurants on the beach and main street to experience the local cuisine.
Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If staying in the towers, request your room high up and sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald M, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Des C,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing such a wonderful comment! We are happy to read that you had an amazing stay at our Resort. Please let us know if we can assist with your booking in future and we look forward to welcoming you back to Penang!

Sincerely,

Donald Morris,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Wow what a place. The hotel was lovely, welcoming, clean and the staff were wonderful!! Couldn't believe how close to the beach we were and how more it was! The pool area, the food and the cocktails at the bar were fantastic. We stayed in the tower and asked for our room to be as high as possible and they didn't disappoint us! We were on the 20th floor and what a view!! Thank you all at the wonderful Holiday Inn for a fabulous 9night stay and we can't wait to come back!! <3 xxx

Room Tip: Stay in the Tower and as high as possible with a balcony facing the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald M, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Donna A,

Thank you for writing such a great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team will be very happy to receive your praise and do look forward to welcoming you for your next return visit to Penang again!

Warm regards,

Donald Morris
Executive assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed five nights at this lovely hotel. We were in tower with very easy access to beach wing and facilities. The breakfast buffet was lovely, the hotel well placed and very clean, the staff very pleasant, friendly and helpful. The swimming pool very nice, a shame we were advised not to swim in the sea due to jellyfish. Wonderful Malay massage hut in grounds, super massage and well worth 50 ringgits! also used pedicure girls and lady at front doing leg and foot massage-all very good. Tried the hotel's afternoon tea on last day-lovely!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Along the stretch of Penang Batu Ferringhi, I would say the hotel i choose - Holiday Inn did not failed me. i stay there for 5days and just return today. Holiday inn had the good location among all the expensive hotel. When u arrived into Batu Ferringhi, you will first see Rasa Sayang, Shangrila, Lone Pine, Holiday Inn, Park Roya, hard rock and Bayview as last. The nite market starts foutside Lone Pine and end till Bayview. (Actually alot of the night markets stalls are either closed down or they do not open nightly) Holiday inn have 2 buidling - Main Tower where gym is and Beach Wing (just opposite cross the road) where you will have your breakfast/swimming pool/kids play room, billard, tour desk and beach. I am lucky to have upgrade to the beach wing level 2. The room is spacious and clean, bed is big and comfy except the pillow that i can sleep well even with too pillows.. they are too flat. TV Channel ok. Makeup rooms rather slow. I go out for late breakfast about 1130am and return about 5pm still yet to clean my room so i gave up. Opp beach wing ( outside main bulding), you will have a small local stalls selling local breakfast and nice coffee which is cheap and good if you like to explore local food than paying RM40 ( when offer its RM30) for a breakfast which last till about 11am. Next to this breakfast stall will be another little hawker selling local food like Roti Prata, Malay dishes cooking like tom yum soup, kampong fried rice, pizza & pasta which only opens say about 5pm till midnight. the pasta and pizza are frozen so not recommended. On my first nite, i explore the right side of hotel where the stretch till bayview hotel. I had this local dinner on my first nite at slow rock. the food so-so can accept but i recommend their tom yum soup, its really sour,hot and spicy as if i ate in a thai restaurant which i enjoyed so much when i try again opp my hotel the small eating place, it lose! it just sour and spicy not really tom yum soup! My whole trip was raining.. sudden pour luckily i brought umbrella with me! But its no problem taking a bus if you are in the stretch. you can take the local bus - Rapid transport # 101 & 102 @ RM 1.40 - RM 2.70 max. Just tell the bus driver where you want to go or which hotel you stay, he can tell you the price and you just pay cash. The drivers are really nice. This buses can bring you down to Komtar or Gurney in George town! I tried all while i was there, its cheap and exciting whole trip about 1-2hrs. Oh Holiday inn do provide free shuttle to Prangin mall at 10am daily where you need to book in advance. 6pm from Prangin mall back to Holiday inn. You need to take not where is the bus stop as some do not have signage at all. ask the local they know better. oh Bus 102 also takes you to airport too but you will need to leave earlier at least 2hrs grace before your 2hours before departure because of traffic jam. i book the standard call from Hotel at RM70 and luckily i leave hotel 3hrs 40mins before my departure and i met 2 car accident on my way to airport. but i have ample time so i am alright :)

Foot Massage/reflexology and body massage is RM50/hr. If more than this amount, you can choose another place, they are so many so no worry. The massage parlour at the Golden Thai Restaurant is most ex at RM 60/hr. Night market shopping, always bargain for your prices. they always give good offer to first customers :) I realised the imitation watches cost at least min. RM400 and above. very ex. The stalls inside F1 are really expensive. We realised many of the worker are not local, they are just worker on work permit from other country and their job is just tell you the price and you take it or leave it. they wont bother if you buy anot or offer discount. If Chinese stall owner, they will want your business. Night market starts from 8pm till midnight. If you are earlier, you will only see few stalls open. there are a few min markets where you can shop for your drinks, beers, titbits or ice cream. the Chinese mini market opposite holiday in close rather early about 7 or 8pm.

The long beach food court, well not as good as other reviews said. this is really a touristic place where the food taste is cater for tourist, no local taste. The satay at 10pcs for RM10 with chicken and beef only. its overcooked chicken meat and no satay aroma. the tepanyaki garlic fried rice (RM4/5) no garlic taste or smell. hot plate bean sprout still ok (RM4/5) the BBQ hot plate chili fish so so (RM25) not spicy..the BBQ cuttlefish/squid (RM25) is full of onion and curry powder and curry leaves and sweet despite they say its spicy rather weird. Fried Oyster and Kway Teow never open, the KL black noodles or hokkien mee (RM4) we order is nice - only food i taste there is acceptable! the BBQ wings (cant remember).. very sweet with sweet sauce coated not crispy, the home made spring roll is made with cabbage instead of turnips thus so so.. western stall food price ok. mushrooms oup RM 5, Steak RM18. The indian stall food cant make it.. really disappointed. I had the fried chicken, chicken liver,mutton (smell super strong) 1 vege and 3 packet of properdom i paid for RM16. So this Long Beach hawker is ..... Next to holiday inn is the Golden Thai Restaurant with culture dance every nite and next to it will be The Ship - best steak in town. i went in to see the price of the seafood and thot wanted to have a good crab meals but their crab are so small and market price! well, its not worth tho! 100g RM80..Lobster is huge and is about 100g RM130..Mantis Prawn quote big.. not a crowded restaurant tho.. the Ship.. steak is really so so and i pay RM 57.90++ for a sirloin steak, seafood plater RM39.90++ ( acceptable ), half dozen escargots RM18.90++ (taste failed too creamy and just add the bake garlic and bake escargots ontop thats it). the waiters inside some are helpful some just play dumb.. can ignore you means turn their back to you. We try this End of The World Most recommended seafood restaurant and this is really disappointment! saw so many greviews how good it was and ask the local they too recommend . We are the first to be there. We order a fish, thai style sweet and sour at RM 74, a plate of bean sprout RM10 a plate of salted egg york with prawn RM38 and broccoli with mushroom RM15. Fish still acceptable, consider fresh, salted egg york prawn is tasteless i dun even taste the egg york salty nor the prawn freshness sweet but only smell butter. the coffee shop stall at my house area cook better and cheaper than this seafood restaurant. Overall only the broccoli and mushroom taste the best! We walk off with disappointment. Luckily i never order crab. i saw their fish tank - hard shell crabs, lobster, flower crabs, manti prawns are quite lifeless and the hardshell crab so small.. like small flower crab size.

Eden Parade you can avoid. Tesco on the way from Batu Ferringhi to Komtar can avoid also. The Prangin Mall is consider the newest shopping centre and what i realised is that in penang shopping centre outside looks big and grand but inside alot of stalls are either not open or closed. you can count with your 10 fingers how many are really open for business inside. very disappointed. One day we wanted to visit the tourist area in George town but its raining on and off and with super hot sunny sun sometimes! weather is really unpredictable! the bus 101 & 102 will transit at Komtar, which is their bus interchange but they do not stop here they will continue. Get the free Penang map and see the routing of the bus. I did not try the chulia lane street food cos i do not fancy penang laksa, fried kway teow and wet weather make it even inconvenience for us to go. We will do it next trip. We stop somewhere near to Komatar and saw this Dim Sum Place which is a big big eating place and its reasonable cheap. We suppose to go Komtar instead we walk to the dim sum shop.after enjoying our lunch we walk to komtar-Prangin Mall. Oh Sunday do not visit George town cos its dead town. all shops closed except shopping centre.

Overall we have a good break and eating almost everything at Batu Ferringhi.

Room Tip: If you are light sleeper get the main tower higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald M, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear KeLyholiday,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang.

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback in regards to your recent experience with us and I am glad to learn that that you enjoyed your stay here at the resort.

We have noted your concern in regards to the makeup of your room being slow. Please rest assured that I have personally spoken with the Executive Housekeeper who is responsible for further improvement and rectification to ensure that we maintain a high quality and standard to all of our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Resort Penang in the near future.

Sincerely,

Donald Morris
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I got a free 2 nights stay in Penang and got the beach wing. The room was quite ok, clean and all, just a little dated. It was good that wifi was open everywhere from the lobby to the room. The pillows were a little soft, so I had to use two. The buffet breakfast was quite a spread and I quite enjoyed it. The pool was divided into three sections: one for games, one for swimming adults and the other is for kids. Quite deep I must say. As for the location, unless you drive, it's quite far in and you have to take a taxi which the hotel can call for you and it's not metered. Overall, the experience is average.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald M, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Jezzie H,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Resort Penang!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor. I am happy to know that you like our room, breakfast and the wifi in the Resort.

On behalf of the team, we thank you for choosing our Resort as your holiday destination. We would love to have an opportunity to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Resort Penang on your next visit to the island.

Sincerely,

Donald Morris
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100 , Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy'memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.