We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A English couples review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Penang to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A English couples review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Check in - as it was just us checking in , it was fast efficient and the staff were ultra friendly
Room - we were in the tower rooms on floor 17 , with a sea view and a view of the busy main rd . Superb room with king size bed , bath and shower cubicle , large tele , safe etc exceptionally clean
Probably one of the nicest rooms we have had for a long time .
Breakfast - wide choice well prepared most things available even for the fussiest . And once again the delightful happy staff
Pool- average pool but very clean limited sunbeds around pool and small garden area leading to beach,this was ok for us because hotel was under 50% occupancy be a problem if busier
Beach - extremely narrow and not used by anyone as there are no beds or parasols and you cannot go in the sea as it is infested with jelly fish and not very clean . Although advertised as a hotel on the beach it's a beach you can't use
Food and drink expensive in hotel therefore few people eat or drink there , much better and cheaper outside
I would suggest for lunch leave hotel via beach turn left 300 metres sunflower bar , great snack selection and a very cold beer
Loads of great places for dinner we found the boatman was our favourite ,
For a small bar with a great welcome frequented by most of the local ex pats and Brits from the hotel try Diaws bar . Here you can also get cheap trips and any info you may need from the bar owner . Leave front entrance of hotel turn right 100 metres take first right them 100 metres on left
Overall nice hotel with fantastic staff rooms great and good location
Downsides - disappointed about poor beach , hotel a mixture of nationalities , majority were fine however, the hotel does cater for guests from the Arab states and these people are a little rude at times

Would we go back ? Yes but maybe to area with a useable beach

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    640
    244
    78
    44
See reviews for
526
454
60
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed in the Holiday Inn Resort Penang for three weeks on a recent business trip and had a fabulous time.
As it was a business trip, involving a drive in to George Town every morning, I must admit to being a little dubious about staying in what is called a 'resort' hotel that would be full of tourists.
My fears were washed away though by the friendliness, warmth and welcoming attitude of all the staff.
My room was on the 16th floor of the Ferringhi Tower, across the road form the main hotel. The room faced the sea which offered a great view of the ocean and the night market too.
The room was big. very clean. Well furnished. And it had everything I needed for my stay.
Bathroom was a good size with large walk-in shower and separate bath. Good water pressure too. A plentiful supply of shower gels and shampoos as well. Towels got changed during room the usual make-over and again in the evening turn-down too.
Internet, once connected, was reliable and good enough for my needs. My work emails made it through unhindered !!! Skype was usable too.
Breakfast was plentiful, with a very varied selection catering for all tastes, even on busy weekends it always seemed topped up and fresh. Tables were cleared quickly too at weekends.
The restaurant in the evening was quiet, I think most people opting to eat out in the market and restaurants locally. The menu was good though and the food of good quality. The Friday night Indian Buffet was awesome with a great choice of curries. My only minor gripe with the restaurant was a very limited vegetarian choice.
The pool was clean and had plenty of seating with the grassed lawn area running down to the sea being a great place to watch the sunset.
Like I say, the staff were very friendly, and even walking between the Tower and the main hotel they would say "Hello" to you as you passed by. Reception staff always made a point of a smile and a "Hello." Very nice compared to other hotels I've stayed in.
Overall a great stay and I'm truly missing it now I'm back home again.
I'll make a point of staying here again on my next visit.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view room in the Ferringhi Tower as the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 11 nights in the Ferrighi Tower. The hotel facility was recently modernised and the rooms are looking great. The entire facility is looking like new and the interior is simply shining. Staff are very friendly and they have unique capacity to create a real, friendly atmosphere without a typical "obligatury" friendliness which is frequently seen in other hotels. Breakfasts are OK and the prices in hotel's restaurants are affordable. The local area is offering all you need including shops and restaurants. We paid 120 euro for roomnight and the price/quality ratio was high. WiFi was working properly in the entire building and was offered free of charge despite connection fee mentioned on the reservation. You should be , however, aware that the pool area/ garden offers quite limited number of places during busy periods (weekends) so that you have to reserve your place without a delay. Still, 9 AM you can find a place there. Also, the hotel management has to find solution to the people waiting for a place during the breakfast for some 5-10 minutes (busy days only). Clear warning has to be made to those who hope for sunbathing on the beach. Beach is deserted (which is both good and bad). There are jelly fishes in the sea which make it impossible to enjoy the sea in a safe way. Moreover, there is no sunbathing "infrastructure" provided on the beach (contrary to the beaches in Thailand).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The room is clean and big. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is great too. It locate just in front of the sea. Our room is with the breakfast, the breakfast is ok, not much variety but it delicious. i enjoy my holiday and I will go there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernakulam, India
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hillside rooms and public areas in that building have been given a limited "make-over" since my last visit to the hotel but the "old and musty odor" still prevails. Don't know what they need to do but other tropical locations don't suffer this problem to such an extent. Service only perfunctory and nothing to rave about--adequate but that's about it. Had booked a sea-view balcony room in the hillside tower and was asked at check-in if I wanted to up-grade (at extra cost, of course) to a balcony room in the sea front building. I declined but wonder what I would have been given as there are NO balcony rooms in the sea-front building! (Perhaps it was a language problem?)

Room Tip: If you travel with smokers and non-smokers in the same room, pay for a non-smoking balcony room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear CMSKerala,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the musty smell and the poor customer service you received. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed at the Hill Side Tower. First question upon arrival was: how do like to pay for the upgrade. I had booked online and did not want to pay for an upgrade. The room I got was dirty. The bathroom had mold growing in bath tub shower and wash basin. The breakfast was included, however the breakfast area seat cushions were dirty and old. Same with the cushions for the pool chairs. The room I had and the breakfast area need refurbishing. Overall this hotel seemed not well managed and neglected. Internet was free, including in room wired internet.

Room Tip: The beach side tower rooms are refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Edgecliff,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations regarding cleanliness and poor breakfast experience. We will address these point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed at the hotel over the weekend. Great value, spacious room n friendly staff. B' fast could be better though. Location is good too, had a bad experience at another hotel holiday inn helped redeem my holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100 , Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy'memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.