We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Penang to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Very nice hotel at the beach in Penang. Room was big and clean with Astro channels on their LCD TV. The restaurant's buffet served a variety of food and they all tasted was good. Eat and feel the breeze from the beach. Everything was nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    587
    226
    70
    40
See reviews for
488
389
51
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Just check in this evening, room ok, but not ok when my kids and i was in the room, the door had been open by a couple, they said the receptionist gave them this room when they check in, i have to tell them that we are just arrived, It's all the hotel fault, what happened if my wife or myself not in the room and something lost, who's going to responsible for that.
Had my dinner at the the Terrace this evening, the theme for this month maybe Indian food, it's nice for who like indian food very nice but for me naan bread with masala gravy and meatball(lamb) is enough.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear mahadzir,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the restaurant.

However, We’re sorry about the key confusion and the poor customer service provided by our front desk which was unacceptable. We will address this point and assure your that we will work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were not warmly welcome upon our arrival. When we reached the hotel all the way from Kuala Lumpur, the parking area in front of the hotel was nearly full and the doorman was yelling at us instructing us to park our car temporarily somewhere and do a check-in first. At the check in, we were informed that our package does not include breakfast (which we believed it should have when we booked the room and made payment a week in advanced).

The beach-wing seems a little worn out. Hillview rooms on the beach-wing block could be kinda noisy as it's just along the main road.Furniture, carpet and etc in room looked old. Bed was comfy enough though. But cleanliness need more attention, especially in the bathroom. We found blood stains on the shower curtain (housekeepers don't shower in the bathtub, maybe that's why they didn't see it). We also saw chocolate stains on the curtains in the room (very visible). Toilets rolls seemed like they'd re-rolled back (not fresh) . But i really like the strong water pressure, as well as the temperature of the water that can get warm quick enough. A good variety of TV channels. Pool size was just nice and the depth was good too (as shallow as 1m and as deep as 3m).

Overall, we were satisfied with this hotel but not really impressed. The next time we want to stay in Batu Feringghi, i guess we'll opt to try some other hotels.

Room Tip: Try booking a beach view room. Beach-wing block has direct access to the main hotel facilities while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed 4 nights with a travelling companion. We both had Deluxe King Size Rooms in the Tower Section which is much bette rthan the main hotel as it is more modern with larger rooms. I had a Sea Facing room on the 17th floor with great views. The room was huge with a grat bathroom & large Flatscren tv. They include 2 complimentary bottleds of mineral water a day which is a nice touch.

Great American style breakfast with everything you could want for including nice smooth porridge! Great omelettes & eggs cooked on the spot by chefs in every way you could imagine.

Happy Hour was great as it was for 3 hours every night!

Swimming pool was good but could get crowded when the hotel was full. Could do
with an extra adult pool. Also more sun beds & umbrellas needed.

Only had one evening meal the BBQ which was brilliant but needed to be promoted more by the management as I'm sure a lot of food went to waste at the end of the evening.

Entertainment was minimal & consisted of a couple of female singers with no one there. Again management need to promote. They should encourage local Malaysian dancers which we saw at the Seafood restaurant next door to appear weekly as they were great & encouraged audience participation.

We were on a 4 nights for 3 deal via Trailfinders which was excellent value for money. I would definitely stay there again as the hotel is inthe best position on Ferringhi beach & right in the middle of the night market, bars & restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a roomin the tower block on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a hillview room with twin beds. The room was small but adequate, and it did have sufficient space for 4 of us (2 adults and 2 kids) to maneuver around. We like the fact that all the major restaurants and hotel chains were along the same road, and we really didn't have to travel outside Batu Ferringhi to get food and entertainment. During the 2 nights we stayed there, the night markets put up their stalls, and it was interesting looking to see what each pedlar was selling.

We tried the breakfast there on our last morning and found it quite acceptable and good. There was enough variety to suit most palates and the restaurant setup was practical and appealing with the overflow out into the garden.

We didn't have much dealings with the staff other than checking in and out, and the odd request for travel instructions, and so I can't comment too much on them.

Good experience overall, and quite enjoyable. I wouldn't mind staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed here December for 5 nights, hotel is in good position, we had a tower room with sea view and balcony, tower section joined to the lower beach front hotel by a covered walkway, the room had been recently refurbished so was ok but the bathroom was old and really needed updating, shower was very good though. We were also woken up twice very early in the morning by reception, guessing this must have been a wake up call to the wrong room (twice) person who rang the room couldn't speak very good English so we never found out why they kept ringing our room, on check out day we told the young lady at reception we wanted to check out and pay the bill she asked our room number then gave us two new key cards, guess she thought we were checking in, again she didn't speak very good English, found this very unusual as found nearly all Malaysian people speak excellent English but apparently not at the Holiday Inn Penang.
The dining area used for breakfast was far too small it was very crowded when we stayed we had to wait ten minutes every morning just to get a table, staff were all very polite though. The worst thing about this hotel was the pool and beach/sea, the pool area was small and very busy and the beach just could not be used to sunbathe or swim, it is just used by jet ski's, speed boats/para gliders and horses it was impossible to sit on the beach or swim it would have been to dangerous, so if you like beach holidays I would not recommend this hotel, overall a disappointing very basic no frills hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Holiday Inn chain keeps up its consistent good quality and service. Staff were as usual courteous and professional throughout, rooms were clean, spacious and in good working condition, and although the 2 properties were 'split' by the Batu Ferringhi road, a pedestrian bridge was built for convenience and safety of guests and staff, meaning that you could still stay 'across the road' and still have easy access to the beach.

Room Tip: High floor Seaview rooms at the tower block are nice to have
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100 , Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy'memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.