We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I miss it already. Excellent Hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Penang to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I miss it already. Excellent Hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Room
We stayed in a King size sea view room with a balcony in the Feringgi Tower building. The view was amazing especially at sunset. The room was well decorated with all the modern facilities that you need (fridge, satellite tv, tea/coffee supplies etc). It was spacious and the bed huge! I can't remember the last time I slept for 9 hours, let alone every night on this super comfortable bed.The balcony had a railing to it which is still a little scary when my toddler wants to stand right on the edge to peer down but cannot really fault anything in the room.
9/10

Customer Service
Purely excellent. Every staff member works really hard to ensure you feel welcomed and comfortable. My young daughter was being picky with her breakfast and the staff happily made a fresh batch of oatmeal (which wasn’t on the menu) at no cost to see if she would feed better (which she loved). We made lots of requests throughout our stay here and EVERY one was taken care of superbly. On one of the nights, the staff had their staff party with a themed disco night and lots of cool prizes to be won. You can see that the management care for their team with fun incentives such as these to generate a warm and professional morale.
10/10

Décor
As other reviewers have mentioned, there are two buildings that sit on opposite sides of the same road. The beach building is the shorter building on the beach side which has the restaurant, kids play rooms, pools and large lobby. The décor is pleasant with staff constantly cleaning throughout the day. The other taller building (Feringgi Tower) has been more recently renovated and is classy, chic and elegant. This building has its own reception and concierge as well as a small but well equipped gym. All parts of the hotels were clean, spacious and well furnished. We were comfortable wherever we chose to relax in.
8/10

Food
As with all breakfast buffets, it looks amazing on the first few days but after a while you only stick to the same things that you know what you like! The spread of food was varied and regularly checked. You had your usual breads (brown, white, croissants, rolls), chesses, spreads, salads, fruits, warm continental meats, cold meats, cereals, juices, free flow of tea and coffee, pancakes and an assortment of spicy Malaysian dishes. The only complaint I would say is that the egg station was a little out of sight and we didn’t realise this until our third day. Once we discovered that, the chefs that cooked your made to order egg items were brilliant.

We ate out most nights at the various restaurants all around the area. One night we stayed and ate at the hotel restaurant and this was the 2nd best meal we had in Penang (I forget the name of the best restaurant bit it was surrounded by lush tropical plants and waterfalls – 2 mins walk from Holiday Inn away from McDonalds!). The hotel food was high standards, generous portion size and presented stylishly!
9/10

Pool
There was one large pool and one for kiddies. The pool area was clean and had a few inflatables for children to play with. It’s nothing really amazing but at the same time, nothing to complain about. The only thing I could add is that it would have been nice if there was some kind of water apparatus (e.g. a slide) that the children could play on.
A few seconds walk takes you to the sandy beach. The beach is clean, wide and is rock-free. The view of the bay is scenic but the water was slightly murky for my liking. With the dangers of jellyfish in this area and not knowing what’s in the water was enough for me not to venture too far into the sea for a swim. The sand was nice and clean to build sandcastles but you do have to kindly decline all the beach vendors that welcome you to try their massages/excursions/watersports etc.
6/10

Overall
So glad we chose this place. It was one of the first holidays we went to where I actually enjoyed staying on the resort and having fun as opposed to always searching for activities away from the hotel. The best parts were definitely the staff and room – all which added to a great holiday. Will highly recommend.
9/10

Room Tip: Rooms near the ground floor may be a little loud. If staying on the Feringgi Tower, the walkway brid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    640
    244
    77
    44
See reviews for
526
454
60
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We recently (November 2012) had a few days here. Lovely hotel recently refurbished. It has two parts - one either side of the road, which is a bit of a a pain in the neck when your carrying lugagge, but the road is spanned by a covered walkway and only takes a couple of minutes to cross. Tower Rooms were a really good size with very good bathrooms and veiws and staff very helpful and polite. The only downside was that everyone staying in the hotel seemed to go to breakfast together and that was bit noisy! Also being British you forget the rest of the world still smokes in public places so that was a bit off putting. Otherwise food was fine and you could walk straight on to the beach from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have booked The Christmas evening buffet for 38 people. It is not easy to please this amount of people with everything people want. Sadly the Lone Pine where we have been for 2 years were so unhelpful we decided to try elswhere. The Golden sands were fantastic but no dancing. Went to the holiday Inn. FANTASTIC service. I have delt with Whatti, Donald and Lynn. Outstanding service from all 3. if Christmas evening lives up to this standard we are in for a great time. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Summary:
It's not a bad hotel for Batu Ferringhi. It's just nothing very special either.

Arriving at Holiday Inn Resort Penang:
We arrived by taxi at around 1pm. We had booked a Tower Hill-view room. At check-in my Priority Club Platinum status was recognised and we were given a choice of an upgrade to a Tower Sea-view balcony room or a Beach Wing Sea-view (but with a different bed configuration). We took a look at both rooms and although the Beach Wing was smaller and didn't have a balcony, we thought it was nicer and closer to the beach, pool, lobby etc. We were also given 2 x free (soft) drink vouchers to use at the bar. The vouchers had the Tower room number written on them - I suggest to reception that they might need to change them to the Beach Wing room number but they said there'd be no problems. They were wrong ...

Rooms:
The Beach Wing rooms are smaller than the Tower, but on the sea side they have good views of the pool and beach area. There is a function business next door, so noise in there rooms can be a real issue. But the functions did not last too late during our stay (thank goodness!). Everything was neat, clean and tidy. Not really luxurious but perfectly nice.

Restaurant - lunch:
We had travelled since early morning and were hungry. So we decided to have lunch at the hotel's only restaurant (it serves breakfast, lunch and dinner). It was quiet and the food was quite good. We discovered later that it's a bit over-priced for the area, but we were still pleased with it.

Restaurant - breakfast:
We booked a rate that included breakfast. Day one was pretty disappointing. Crowded, chaotic, noisy and hot. I went and sat in the lobby area which at least was quieter and cooler. Day two was much better - we went late and the crowds were going. So be warned, if the hotel is quite full, the restaurant only just copes! Food quality was quite OK but nothing very special.

Service:
Overall it was good. It's pleasant enough but not as friendly as some hotels. This can be quite a family destination and I got the impression that the demographic causes quite a lot of work for the staff.

Other:
The hotel is in a very good location. Right on the beach. You can walk to many other restaurants. There is a night market at the door. There are convenience shops across the road. One afternoon the management held a small cocktail party, for returning and high PC status guests, which was very nice to attend.

Leaving Holiday Inn Resort Penang:
We had an early morning flight to catch. Unfortunately check-out took ages. We discovered we had been charged for our welcome drinks (probably because of the wrong room number on the vouchers that we used when also buying other items from the bar and had signed the tab with our actual room number). It wasn't a big amount to correct - just 2 x soft drinks but it took the staff about 15 minutes to do it! So check-out, all up, took about 20 minutes. Not good when you have a flight to catch!

Room Tip: The Tower will be quieter, but the Beach Wing (sea view) feels more like a resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Spent a weekend in Penang and stayed in Holiday Inn.. After reading reviews from tripadvisor we had opted for the ferringhi tower rooms. The Hotel was beautiful and well maintained. We got a free upgrade from hill view room to sea view room.. And the room was beautiful, quite spacious and neat. The view from the room was lovely and looked great when it rained.. BF food was elaborate but i felt vegetarian variety was limited. The service is pretty good. The cafe has a beach view so it's nice to sit alongside but can be a bit bothered with pigeons and flies sometimes.. Would request them to try and keep them away. One of the hotels where I found the fridge to be empty and need to request for a mini-bar.Staff were helpful. The link bridge to the beach wing is pretty nice and short, moreover it's faster to cross the road. I loved the ferringhi tower more than the beach wing which seemed quiet and secluded from the crowd. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and the food was pretty good. The pickup and drops from the hotel to airport were prompt. The hotel service charges 90 ringgits each way from and to the airport. The taxis charge you less around 70 ringgits. We had also arranged for the trip around Penang for 5 hrs. The fare was bit on the higher side but it's better to negotiate a bit. We did so and got the timing extended to almost 5 hrs.But overall I loved the stay and would certainly recommend it for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ferringhi tower sea view rooms on the top floors. They are spacious and have a great view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kl
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Booked a night stay at the Ferringghi Tower with a balcony facing hill view. Requested for a higher floor which you can have a nice view of the greenery mountain and the lovely trees. Rooms have newly renovated with a pretty blue and white decor and clean bathroom. I like the new setting of the furniture and also a big screen LCD tv. Staff was attentive and will try their level best to accomodate youur request. Overall I really enjoy stay here and hope will stay more longer to enjoy other facilities offer by the hotel. EXCELLENCE....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
444 helpful votes 444 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just spent over a week here with my sister. We were booked into the Ferringhi tower, but they upgraded us, but on arrival in the sea view room, which looked tired, we asked to go the other side of the road to the newly refurbished rooms, these were much nicer and we had a nice balcony. Only the views of the hills, but we didn't mind.The staff were very good about the move. BF had a good variety of food, also we ate in a few nights and the choice was also good.
You wont see a good variety of bread here, they dont eat much like some countries. If you want an early BF it was all out and ready for the 6.30 start.
Our rooms were very spacious with iron and board, safe, a fridge which was empty, but you could ask for drinks to be added. They have 3 pin plugs here.
Quite noisy by day as its a family hotel with plenty of children.
The pool is in 3 sections, so not good for early morning keen swimmers. It went quiet about lunch time when we used it. They have massage attached to the hotel, but you cant have it charged to your room, you have to pay as you go.The night market is also outside the hotel at night, from about 7.00pm till mignight, also plenty of eating places. Water sports on the beach.
Be careful walking around the pool area, as its gets plenty of splashes from the children.
They do a free shuttle bus to Straits Quay, this is a posh mall of shops, but has Tesco nearby/
Also a free shuttle bus to the centre of Georgetown twice a day. Free daily papers delivered to the rooms. If you are coming from KL, change £ before you come, as the rate here is not as good as KL.Keep a bit of Malay £ for the airport, as they wont accept anyother currency.
Only drawback in being in this part of the hotel is you have to cross the road to eat, but we didn't find this a problem. Staff all very friendly. Enjoyed our stay. Stay up high and in a (34) room its very quiet.

Room Tip: Stay in the Ferringhi tower and have a back room (34) high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100 , Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy'memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.