We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Arrived at reception,very welcoming had sea view room but tardy and tired looking! Asked to move to refurbished room, this was in the garden view side, much better, still quality was fair, but great views of Main Street and great bed. Breakfast was disappointing and service abysmal since staff chatting, reading paper and cups dirty. Choice of food limiting, and cheap quality, compared to Cambodia where we had just come from, they were streaks ahead for customer service, quality and cleanliness. Pool ok , I don't know, just felt I was in a hotel ten years old, and showing it, we've stayed in cheaper hotels and they've continued to keep up with the styles and trends, I feel this holiday inn needs to get its act together, or will become third rate hotel!

Room Tip: Go for the tower block across from main hotel..... Worth the walk to the beach, much nicer. Wifi onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    516
    201
    65
    38
See reviews for
431
351
44
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have been vacationing here for about ten years with my family. It had been a great, undervalued place, decently-priced for both accommodation and food, and with good service. While the beach in Penang is somewhat mediocre by southeast Asian standards, the resorts in Penang more than made up for it by offering other things. The Holiday Inn, in particular, offered great family rooms with two double beds, which are ideal if you have very young kids. It also has a great location, smack in the center of Batu Ferringhi, with the night market right at its doorstep.

My most recent visit was quite a disappointment. The hotel has been somewhat refurbished (very basic flourishes, to go with the new Holiday Inn Resort branding). The management has seen this fit to raise tariffs by about 30-50%. This is still not too expensive. However, what was a real disappointment was the quality of food and service standards that have noticeably dipped. It wasn't something specific, but the little things that tell you how poorly the staff has been trained. (e.g., when waiving at a waitress in the restaurant, she would not come over but yell from her position across several tables what we wanted, and so on...)

All this is particularly alarming as the Batu Ferringhi strip in Penang now has keen competitors in the Lone Pine Hotel and the Hard Rock Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was a very nice and relaxing resort. Upon arrival at around 9:30pm, the front desk people greeted us with a big smile and made a clear explanations as to what the resort has to offer. The sea view room we got made up for the dated decor. I was told that the the other tower now is renovated but it doesn't have a sea view. However, no CNN on t.V. made me feel like I was in a ultra remote jungle...an uneasy feeling but yet again relaxing.

The resort itself had plenty of activities for kids. Nice swimming pool, beach although the beach is not part of the Holiday Inn property, Jet ski, kids playroom. Breakfast was excellent with several selections of local and international flavor.

The lobby had a tour desk which was very helpful if you are to tour the area. The staff there was also very helpful. Historical Georgetown is a must see and the hotel has a Free shuttle that goes to Georgetown 10a.m.

The area had a night market that sells everything counterfeit..LOL. The market starts operating at around 7pm. There is a food hawker center that also opens at around the same time. The hawker center was well worth it. Ultra Cheap local food and excellent and only 5 mins by foot.

We also ate at a Pizza/Shawarma cafe which is 2 mins by foot. Their pizza, using Pita bread dough was incredibly delicious. The kids really enjoyed it.

Our stay was incredible and we will certainly think of this resort again when Visiting Penang.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Best location in Batu. Generally a nice hotel. Beach wing rooms has now been refurbed also. Unfortunately we were roadside rather than poolside in the beach wing. Road is rather busy and mopeds are noisy throughout the night. I'd recommend avoiding these rooms or having a high room in the tower wing. But overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the holiday inn resort penang for 2 weeks for a family holiday, we booked for a room in the tower, but upon check-in was informed of an upgrade the beach wing! What a fantastic location this hotel is situated in during the day you can chill by the pool, walk along the beach and by night you have a great choice of places to eat and also theres a fantastic night market at Batu Ferringhi. All the staff are so helpful and went the extra mile to make myne and my familys stay a very memorable. We have stayed in a few hotels in Batu Ferringhi, but by far this hotel is the best. Cant wait to come back!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

we had stayed for 2 nights in the hotel & it was amazing. the rooms were good . the breakfast was excellent & even the staff was friendly. the night market is just 1 step from th hotel & lot of restaurants araound the hotel. its a well family oriented hotel

Room Tip: its has 2 wings.the ferringi & the main wing. choose the rooms in the main wing with sea view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kulim, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

There are 2 wings connected by an overhead bridge. Tower wing is cheaper but further from beach.
Parking : a bit of a nightmare looking for a space on the beach wing. Parked at tower wing (plenty of space) and was pleasantly surprised to get an upgrade to the beach wing. They do treat the PCR members quite well, I must say.
Check in : seemed to be a miscommunication and not sure if the two wings spoke to each other. Checked in at tower room but was told of the upgrade to beach wing, so we walked over to the beach wing. While checking in was told we could check in there but our room was in the tower wing! Not a big issue for me as it was settled with a phone call.
Room : 2 queen sized beds. Enough to sleep 4 comfortably. Shower in bath-tub. Shower only would have been appreciated especially with the sand from the beach. Air-conditioning was not up to mark, still warm at night. Read some comments about beach wing noise but it was acceptable for me. Still heard faint music but was bearable.
Beach : Coarse sand, even spotted a jelly fish in the water. Of course, being a parent, I freaked and got my kids away from the water. Strange, I thought there were preventive nets since the beach was maintained by HI. Activities galore on the beach such as horse-riding, jet-ski, banana boat and para-sailing, which was dangerous IMHO because those guys came in pretty fast and the ropes could easily hit anyone caught unawares.
Other activities : night market outside was great. Trishaws - there's a reason it's called that - you should 'try' it. Dinner at Long Beach with great local food but be prepared to wait for empty
Kids activities : There was a kids' room but not much activities inside - skip. Table tennis and water-volleyball. Clinics nearby close at 9pm but you can get paracetamol for kids from the mini-marts. None from the hotel, it seems.
Breakfast : Standard HI fare, enough to fill you up for a day of activities.
Overall : Great value if you book early enough. Definitely will visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100 , Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy'memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.