We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“School holiday vacation May 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Penang to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“School holiday vacation May 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here for 3d2n with my family its so lovely.We stayed at beach wing as requested by my kids. They loves beach. We have been upgrading to the kids suite room coz our original room 2 dblb bed been realesed to other guest . Upgraded without any additional (We late check in 4 am).the staff very friendly . Breakfast area full of pigeon, flew from table to table to find the balance of foods.The swimming pool its just nice for 4 of my kids to having fun while i am having my foot massage at the corner next to the swimming pool. Then kids having fun at the beach. Most of the water activity its beginning at hotel beach. But berware of the jelly fish.at night the hotel area becomes heaven to shopaholic...coz along there is a night market/ uptown .trishaw estimate rm30 for about an hour town sight seing.disappointed with the hotel sink.thats it my riview

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    585
    225
    70
    40
See reviews for
488
387
51
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
surrey uk
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

this was the second hotel we stayed in on our wedding anniversary trip. Again we were given a free upgrade , we didnt even have to ask for it, we were put in the furenghi tower ocean view. the rooms have recently been refurbished and were lovely, the view was great. the hill view overlooks trees and a school, the staff were extremly friendly , we stayed here for a week and nothing was too much trouble . we went on two trips , the island tour and the temple tour, we had the same driver on both occasions, he was brilliant. but we cant remember his name. Highly recomend the Long Beach restauraunt. a real experience.we also had a free cocktail night whilst we were here, this happens evey 2 weeks.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 1726
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Just returned from yet a nothing great stay. Nearly all the room's are refurbed now and look great.The staff are alway's friendly and really welcome us back. Would alway's recommend this hotel if staying in Penang you will have a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed here a few years ago with my family and it was lovely. I especially liked the two towers/wings that were connected by the little walkway over the road. Staff were friendly and great, and we even had a free cocktail night twice while we were there. The room had a lovely view of the ocean, and had breathtaking views. The pool was great, as was the beach that was only a few steps away. Highly recommend getting a massage on the beach just out the front of the hotel (in a little hut) very relaxing! :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed in the hillside wing of this hotel and it had recently been refurbished to the highest standard. The room was bright and well appointed with a lovely view of the ocean. The bed linen and pillows were also excellent quality and the bed ,although very firm,was comfortable and gave us a good night's sleep Staff at this hotel were very friendly and very efficient. Five minutes after I reported a faulty shaver power point a maintenance man arrived and replaced it. Staff in the breakfast area were exceptional,and could not do enough for us,especially the dining area supervisor,Won Asme a thorough gentleman and gracious host. A minor inconvenience was the need to cross the road to the beach side wing for breakfast and to access the swimming pool. The location of the swimming pool next to the dining area and hotel lobby seemed to be a little too public and possibly had limited use by guests because of its position. The hotel is very well located in Batu Feringhi ,close to restaurants and shops and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. I would also highly recommend this hotel as the service and facilities were superb.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms in the hillside wing have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesbug
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

It was a clean and comfortable hotel for a family. A neat simple bathroom and a spacious room with two double beds. we took the seaview which has a lovely view(which i recommend) as the garden view is on the opposite side of the road. The hotel has a good location as the night comes alive with stalls on the road side. The breakfast menu was average, but service was disappointing. The beach was clean and quiet as we were there midweek. The pool was lovely, my boys had a good time at the poolside.Overall, a neat, clean comfortable place to stay but dont expect extraordinary service.

Room Tip: take the sea facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hotel was great for my wife and two toddlers. The have a good sized pool as well as a small kid's pool. We didn't really swim at the beach because of the Para-sailing business that takes up most of the beach during the day. It seemed to be the same at most beach areas in Batu Ferringhi. Our taxi from the airport was 103.5 RM because our flight arrived after midnight. Exchange money across the road from the hotel, you get a much better rate. The night market is really fun to walk through and there is a little street food vendor directly across the road who sells cheap Deluxe cheeseburgers (4 RM). We took the bus to Georgetown and the National Park, most drivers were considerably more money that we paid for the bus fare and there are stops right beside the hotel. Breakfast was pretty standard and there are many restaurants that offer breakfasts with "Real Bacon" but we were satisfied with the eggs/pancakes bar and buffet. Wifi was readily available but annoying, they change the username and password everyday. The connection was good for the most part.

Room Tip: Don't go for the "Beach View" all you'll see is the pool and trees. If you want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100 , Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy'memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.