We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean n comfortable but beach is a ??” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Subang jaya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“clean n comfortable but beach is a ??”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

For the price we paid, the room is spacious, clean n look great n comfortable. Location is all surrounded by a lot of hotels. At night, the place get busy wit night market to do shopping. But if u r planning a shopping and local food eating trip, then it is not so convenient, about half an hour drive to town, it is more for a relax trip. The only thing we are dissapointed is the beach is not belong to hotel, is public beach, and the beach is rented to a water sport co. So it is not safe for kids to play a the beach, as so manyparachute going up n down. And banana boat, speed boat....etc. make it impossible to use the beach. The pool is big enough though.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    502
    196
    64
    38
See reviews for
423
344
44
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights and from the 50 minute check-in saga to the tour desk staff stalking and harassing us each time we walked to the pool this place is not worth the effort!

The location is good and the public spaces are clean and useable even during a renovation. The buffet breakfast is what one would expect but get there early or you may miss out as the food isn't restocked during the four hour service.

The room we stayed in had a sea view and was clean, crisp and had a good layout and did make the most of the natural light.

The real issue with this place is the staff; either they are under-trained or just hate the place as they do nothing to help you and in fact seemed at times to make an effort to make our holiday less enjoyable. The front desk check-in staff member I encountered refused to speak directly to me as I am female and instead spoke to my husband who was busy tending to our sleeping son. We were accused of not having a booking and then when we requested the room we had paid for as per our paperwork the staff member said we had to pay more money for it. After 50 minutes and the support of other frustrated guests from a myriad of cultures and countries we finally got checked in. Then each day staff never smiled or greeted us even when we spoke to them or smiled.
The pool 'lifeguards' are too busy reading the paper or flirting with the girls who run the kids club to watch the pool but they are great at handing out towels
Avoid the area near the tour desk as these people are vultures and will even follow you after you say no or are clearly not interested!

A great location and Penang is an enchanting place but this hotel is not the place to enjoy a holiday with your family.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear DadingoMelb,

Thank you for taking the time to let us have your feedback via Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Resort Penang. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. I was disappointed to read that you had a poor service experience when you used the hotel & facilities available here and this is not the usual high standard of guest experience that we offer. We have addressed the maters with the respective departments in order to avoid these unnecessary issues in the future. I greatly appreciate you calling out the good quality of our rooms. We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests & this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer. Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Despite the challenges you faced I was pleased to note that you appreciated the location of our hotel, an aspect of our hotel that is preferred by many of our guests.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Two buildings make up this resort hotel, the Tower Wing and Beach Wing. We were 'upgraded' from the Tower to Beach Wing. However, we were placed overlooking the road, not the sea and pool so experienced lots of road noise. Pool area never really got busy, although there does not appear to be many beds there was always availability.
Bustling night market directly outside hotel, with usual selection of cheap, local restaurants and massage places. Hard Rock Cafe a short walk from hotel.
Free wifi only in lobby area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The hotel is actually old enough to show age. But the facilities are maintained well enough. Location is very strategic. Although quite far to the Georgetown. There are two pretty good view. One facing the hill, the other overlooking the beach. On the afternoon of the evening, along the road in front of the hotel many merchants selling at the night market.
Bedroom is roomy enough, but the sound of vehicles from the road noise penetrating into the room.
Breakfast food is quite tasty
Bathroom facilities and toiletries good
Overall this hotel is quite good. Although nothing special.
It's just beware of some tourist trap near the hotel.
A. General taxi stand in front of the hotel by not using the meter. Although at the door of the vehicle body side is written That the taxi using the meter and tidal bargaining allowed. They offer rates are always over priced.
2. Right next to the hotel there is a seafood restaurant with an attractive appearance of the building, the Golden Thai. But when we ordered, was surprised with the total price. For a 500 gram fried crab, a 1kg fish grilled red snapper, and a portion of vegetables, we have to spend money for RM200 (about USD65). Yet when eating at the food court or restaurant, prices of food per serving only about RM3 to RM10. The most expensive is only about RM50

Room Tip: Pick as higher floor level as possible room with beach view. They are quieter and nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Holiday Inn is actually 2 buildings across the street from each other and connected by a walkway. One building is on the beach. It is the one with the pool as well. The newer building with larger rooms is the one across the street from the beach. Check in was great and the room was clean and pleasant.But the only thing that i wants to complaint is a bout a staff who was very rude to another staff member(i must said that the girl is a new staff).She (the senior staff) just shout at the new girl for dont know what reason and the pity girl was just looking down.They could talk to her in a properly manner rather then shout at the unlucky girl or breifed her at other place where guest does not involved.
We should guide n traineed new people and not treat them like a slave.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Penang, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear JlnJlnCariKwn,

Thanks for posting this review. I am glad you enjoyed our hotel. Your comments about how the staff members were talking to each other are taken very seriously and will be passed to Management. I am sorry you witnessed this.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

this is the first ever extended coffee house with glass roof for breakfast comfort - say hello to morning sun, taste the breeze and smell the air. Best to relax near the swimming pool in late evening near to the beach side, the relaxation is so priceless!

Room Tip: Triple bedroom has 3 x queen size beds, its best for a family stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

In Penang Island all hotels are located on the North Side of Island while The Airport is located on the island so most likely any hotel you choose will be facing the sea. Which means no matter which hotel you choose you'll get access to the same beach and be able to meet your friends and/or family who might be staying in another hotel nearby by just walking down the beach. For three people to stay in a double room cost about 500 RM and you might be able to find another cheaper hotel near to this one along the beach. As for quality you get what you paid for I don't remember if you get free internet access or not. This hotel is probably the most popular hotel on Penang Island so you can see why you might be paying 500RM a night for three people. I don't have a lot of complaints about this hotel except the car park is located across the road at the other building of the hotel which does not have a view of the beach but has a walkway can give people who are staying there access to the beach.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the beach/sea walk across the walkway and book a room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100 , Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy'memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.