We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guests leave in tears..its so good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Penang Gem Package
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
181 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
“Guests leave in tears..its so good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

The other reviews say it all. Once I had clocked the fact that the beach itself was not a place to inhabit, the resort is a quality experience in every respect. It has delightful staff and outstanding facilities - following a post Tsunami refit costing over £16M and re-opened recently. Guests seem to go away crying, for all the right reasons. My experience was focused on conference matters, where the facilities are extensive and excellent. Disappointment is an unlikely event. I recommend the Rasa Wing baths! Go try …but remember Penang is the second largest city in Malaysia so don’t always expect a tranquil island setting. Thanks also to the singing taxi driver, this was first experience of being serenaded all the way from the airport…its obligatory so be prepared. I hope to be returning to savour as a holidaymaker.

  • Liked — Quality of accommodation and the service from excellent staff
  • Disliked — Occasional noise from nearby mosque
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,331
    407
    122
    39
    22
See reviews for
598
909
47
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

Oh my god!! I've just read a review on the Rasa Sayang and i think that person must have been staying somewhere else!!

I have to say it is the most welcoming, friendliest, beautiful place i have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. Five star is exactly what it is! All the staff cannot do enough for you, with a smile to greet you any time of the day or night. Of a day, waiting for you with a smile when you step out of the lift. You'll be pleasantly surprised if you return from and evening out of your room, (not that you would want to with all you need in your room!) your room will be spotless again just like it was the moment you arrived, your bed will be dressed down for you with chilled bottles of water placed by your bedside!! How sweet is that!!

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in the Rasa Wing Deluxe suite on the top floor. I had to pinch myself, it was that amazing. We walked into a hallway, to the right was a walkin double sink bathroom with a walk in shower and a seperate toilet room, all in a beautiful marble finish. Through the hallway, you walked into the lounge area were a sofa and chair sat around a coffee table. To the right a desk were my boyfriend could work from to catch up with his business affairs from with a 40" plasma T.V sat to the left accompanied by a DVD player.

The Spice Market Cafe is to die for if you like to experiment with your food. The range caters for all foods and appitites from around the world. You can eat here for lunch or at evening. The Ferrengui Bar and Grill is for more of a treat. It could be seen to be a bit pricey, but very much worth it!

Boyfriend here. Best part was the balcony bath tub. Offering great views over the sea to the sunset beyond. A really relaxing place to sit with a cool beer on a warm night watching the sun go down.

Food and beverage was spot on. Cocktail bar by the Ferrenghi grill employ's the worlds greatest barman ''Manuel''. Cant remember his real name but he was every inch Tom Cruise but with a better personality. Spice market Cafe might have well been on Mars because it was out of this world. Fresh food prepared right in front of you and more desert's than you could shake a spoon at. Get the fresh Crepes for Breakfast, Smothered in Maple Syrip and Cherrys. Mmmmm!!

Girlfriends back. Dont want to bore you anymore!! You have to check it out for yourself!! You will most definately be pleasantly surprised when you are treated like royalty.

It was worth the wait, i'd definately go back for more!!!

It gets Liverpools vote anyday!!

  • Liked — How well treated we were. No-one can do enough for you.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

Rasa Sayang is simply perfect!!! Paradise on earth: beautiful rooms, incredible kind and friendly service, excellent food. The only no is the beach: is not nice and it is so noisy, so better to stay in the pool.

  • Liked — room and staff
  • Disliked — beach
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

If you ever come to Penang, don't think of staying anywhere else other than here and you must stay in the Rasa Wing. This resort is luxury all the way and the Rasa Wing is the icing on the cake. Fantastic rooms, fantastic Rasa Lounge, Fantastic Ferringhi Grill Restaurant, fantastic service, fantastic gym, fantastic quality, fantastic location! I could go on but you get the picture, it is out of this world.

Pricey to stay but worth every penny, it blows the competition out of the water. The staff are incredibly friendly, yet efficient and Chan in the Rasa Lounge was a star. How he can maintain such a high level of service is beyond me and always with a smile. Mind you, when he was on days off, the service did take a dip and it proved that he is the motivator in the lounge. It was nice to see that no-one abused the all day free alcohol in the lounge even when the Champagne came out at 5 o' clock. Nice

The gym staff were excellent and deserve special mention, as are those in the Ferringhi Grill. The Spa is a bit pricey but you get what you pay for and the massage was first class. The Rasa Wing pool was heaven and so peaceful and clean.

All in all heaven on earth. You have to have some...

  • Liked — Very high quality of furnishings and superb bathroom
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

This is really long but there is just so much good stuff to write about....

We stayed in a Deluxe Seaview Room - Garden Wing - 8th Floor for 9 nights.

The Rasa Sayang is the best resort we have ever stayed in.

The hotel is divided into two wings - The Garden Wing and the Rasa Wing. The Rasa wing is the more expensive with nicer rooms (Ground floor rooms with garden and all floors up were double the size with a bath tub on balcony), you get free alcohol in the lobby lounge (Moet , beer etc) from 11am and then cocktails for the last 2 hours until 7.30pm, the Rasa Wing also has their own swimming pool which is adults only (so if you have children might want to stay in Garden Wing). The Garden Wing rooms are divided into 2 types - Seafacing on floors 2 - 6 and Seaview on floors 7 & 8. Some of the rooms on the lower floors wouldn't get much light or much of a view as there are huge old trees right in front of them.
Our room was a great size with nice furnishings and a nice marble and wood bathroom with seperate shower and bath (None of that shower over bath space saving rubbish). The room had a balcony over looking the pool and beach (Although was not overly private but cant expect it to be when in a hotel block with balconies all facing the same way).

The staff, the service, the accommodation, the facilities, everything about this hotel was total luxury.

The staff really make this hotel, they go out of their way to make sure everything is perfect for you, from greeting you by name when you pull up in your private car transfer, to the in room check in, to dressing your sun lounger for you as soon as you step foot in the pool area, they are amazing.

The Chi Spa was amazing - You pay 6 star hotel prices but the experience is truely out of this world. Definately recommend.

The pool was large and was a mixture of shallow and deep. There are a lot of sun loungers both in the sun and shade and the pool boys will bring you a buzzer so you can buzz for service (Food, Drinks etc)
(Rasa Wing guests can use either pool however Garden Wing guests have no access to the Rasa Wing pool - No worries as the garden pool is the bigger of the two and very very nice)

The beach was clean and nice and sandy although we didn't swim in the ocean as there are signs up warning about Jelly Fish, didn't bother us though as the pool was so nice we hung by that all day. There are a lot of water sports operating - Parasailing, jetskiing, banana boats, boats, horse riding, beach buggies etc etc. No one really lies on the beach sunbathing there there are all around the pool.

Breakfasts in the Spice Market Restaurant are awesome - Everything you could ever want - Omelettes, eggs, sausages, waffles, pancakes, cerel, fruit, Malaysian, Indian, Arab, + + + + + + much more. (NO PORK)

We ate a buffet dinner at the Spice Market one night and it was the best buffet we have ever eaten, it was a Pursian Night, but had a mix of everything. MYR106++, but worth every penny.
Also ate one night at the sister Golden Sands Resort (Garden Cafe Penang Hawkers Buffet Delight) - No comparison - Was very dissappointed with it. Although didn't try their other restaurants - They may have been better??.

Long Beach is best local hawker centre to eat dinner, we ate there about 1/2 the time - most dishes are under MYR6 and beer is MYR15 - MYR16 for a big bottle (2 glasses). Very cheap.
The markets don't come alive until at least 7pm and you can get very good bargins. Handbags - Guess, LV, Mui Mui, Marc Jacobs, Chloe etc etc (all fakes of course). Watches, DVDs, Music DVDs, PS2 games, Gameboy games, clothes, and so on. Would have liked to see more bars and pubs in Batu Ferrangi but was OK.
Nothing much happens during the day like in Phuket/Koh Samui etc so most people just chill at resort, go to Georgetown for shopping(not as good as KL) or do a tour.

We did the Langkawi Coral snorkelling tour that the hotel tour desk sold (trip was called Palau ...something or rather) It advertised 1 hour by high speed boat each way however was more like over 2 hours by dodgy ferry that went onto Langkawi after it dropped us off and 60 - 70% of people got seasick. Was good when we go there - Fantastic snorkelling and nice beach etc but overall was a very long day (7.45am pick up and back home at 7pm) MYR250 pp.

OVERALL WE WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO EVERYONE. IT WAS FANTASTIC. BOOK IT. IF YOU ARE UMMMMMING AND ARRRRRRING BETWEEN THIS AND THE GOLDEN SANDS - BOOK THE RASA, THE GOLDEN SANDS IS MUCH OLDER, A LITTLE RUN DOWN, CHEAP PLASTIC SUNLOUNGERS AND OUTDOOR FURNITURE, ROOMS ARE DATED AND OVERALL WOULD ONLY RATE IT 3 STAR. (I'M A TRAVEL AGENT SO ASKED FOR A SIGHT INSPECTION OF BOTH PROPERTIES WHILST WE WERE STAYING AT THE RASA).
Can't say enough about it...

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

Don't think too long about going to the Rasa Sayang. If you want the highest standards and VERY attentive, courteous and friendly staff, then just go. My wife and I stayed here just before its refurbishment and have just returned from a second visit of 13 nights. Most of our holidays are spent at large 4/5 star hotels where we can remain anonymous, but we’ll definitely go back to the Rasa again when we feel the need for that level of attentiveness.

The Rasa Wing is well worth the extra money (about £50 a week per room). We had a ground floor room with its own private garden facing the sea. You can arrange to have a massage here, or foot torture (sorry, reflexology), away from the public gaze. Breakfast is included, and you can choose a la carte at the Ferringhi Grill (a good selection but perhaps not to most Britons' taste) or a vast buffet at the Spice Market. Don't be put off by the name of this restaurant - it's not just spicy stuff. There's something for everyone here, but don't expect pork. There are staff flitting around all the time, clearing your table of anything that looks even remotely finished with. This can make it seem a bit frenetic. Having said this, we didn't see a single fly or insect of any kind in the restaurant at any time during our stay. Not even a fly could outpace these hardworking people!

Rasa Wing guests also have access to an exclusive lounge where alcoholic and soft drinks are served until 7.30pm, with canapés, champagne and cocktails included for the last two hours. Afternoon tea is served from 3.00pm. A couple of laptops are available for guests to use in the lounge. We used one every day and never had a problem with the wireless connectivity. All of the above are complimentary.

You'll never have a problem finding a sun bed in the shade, either at one of the pools or in the large garden, and within seconds of choosing one a member of staff will appear to 'dress' it for you and provide towels. There is a pool and Jacuzzi reserved for Rasa Wing guests. We never saw any kids at this pool so, if you want to see some family action, use the larger one in the Garden Wing.

It's impossible to single out a member of staff for special mention, but Leong Ping in the Rasa Wing lounge seems to strike exactly the right balance: friendly and attentive, but not intrusive. The lobby and reception staff are really helpful. We missed the free shuttle to Georgetown once and they arranged a taxi free of charge. The driver (a former employee of the hotel) said that he was told at least twice that he mustn't charge us. He even resolutely refused the tip I tried to press on him.

Although my comments have been about the Rasa Wing, please don't think you'll receive lesser service in the Garden Wing - you won't. All guests at the Rasa are made to feel special.

The hotel is situated at one of the best spots on the Batu Ferringhi. Just outside are the night markets, where you can buy some good, and not so good, quality things at very low prices. My wife bought six hand-embroidered silk nighties for less than £18. Don't be afraid to haggle. There are good, inexpensive restaurants here, too. The Ship is always worth a visit, especially if you like steak. Try the hawker food courts as well. The most popular one is a ten-minute walk from the hotel, on the same side. Indian and Chinese are really good. Pizza, too, but avoid anything else Italian is my advice! Also try the sea bass and snapper. Two of you will eat well for £10, and that includes a Tiger or two.

If you go to Penang you really must stay at this remarkable hotel. Your only complaint will be about finding a future hotel stay to match it.

  • Liked — Grounds - plenty of shady spots
  • Disliked — Occasional fumes from jet skis
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

....and I've stayed in many. Everytime my friend and I travel now we find we are always comparing the hotel to the Rasa Sayang, then we laugh, because, nowhere compares! The rooms, the grounds and the spa area are all immaculate. The staff were helpful above and beyond the call of duty. Many Japanese tourists stay there, which should indicate the quality. Fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Address: Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa is a luxury resort at Batu Feringgi, one of the most inviting beaches in Malaysia. George Town, the oldest colonial city in the country, is less than an hour away by complimentary shuttle, and offers a fascinating mix of Chinese, Malay and Indian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Hotel
Rasa Sayang Penang
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.