We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Garden Wing Offer
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolute delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Impeccable facilities and immaculate service in a lovely beach-side setting. We stayed in the Rasa Wing and loved the cocktail hour and high tea. Our room was simply sumptuous. Also a great location for walking to the market and wandering on a warm evening to local little restaurants. The gardens are excellent and there is even a little golf course.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the more expensive Rasa Wing; but they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,207
    356
    103
    35
    21
See reviews for
536
810
43
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We spent a week in a garden room in the Rasa Wing. The room was spacious and well equipped, with a comfortable bed.
All the staff were welcoming and helpful.
Breakfast could be taken in the Spice Garden, buffet style or in the Ferrangi grill which was part buffet and part a la carte. We used both, there was more choice in the Spice Garden but far more peaceful with an adequate choice in the Ferrangi Grill.
Afternoon tea was served each day, the choice varied from day to day as did the canapés each evening during the cocktail hour. Both were pleasant and relaxing experiences with the opportunity to socialise if you wanted to.
The pool was lovely plenty of comfortable loungers and a selection of soft drinks available all day. The pool staff brought fruit skewers round each day.
It was a very enjoyable week you could do as little,or as much as you chose. There is a shuttle bus into Georgetown each day. The night market is just outside the hotel.
I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

There was not one element of our stay that was not outstanding! The hotel itself is beautifully maintained. It is immaculate, peaceful and spacious so you feel immediately relaxed on arrival and throughout your stay. The food choice and service was faultless throughout breakfast, lunch and dinner. All the little things have been thought of and the staff are all exceptionally friendly and helpful! Veronika was particularly helpful throughout the stay with such a personable approach to her 5* service. The staff at Rasa Sayang, Penang, truly went above and beyond when I left my handbag, including my i-phone and camera, in a taxi at the airport. The hotel staff tracked the taxi agency and driver, seized the bag and then Syellyza Hasan and her team liased with both customs and DHL in order to return the bag complete with contents to me back in England! I doubt that this could be achieved within my own town! Their calm, professional and extensive service continued through to a follow up E-mail to ensure that my bag had arrived safely. All in all, Exceptional!!

Room Tip: The Superior Garden View room we had was still a partial Sea/Pool view and was very spacious with al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I planned a whole family getaway from the hustle and bustle of city life.
We had a great restful weekend. I must say the hotel has a heritage look. The landscape was truly beautiful amidst all the other hotels in Feringghi. I was reluctant to book at first due to the high in value for the whole family and wanted to book Hard Rock instead, but I can definitely say I had no regrets. The hotel is well kept, clean, friendly staffs, etc compared to Hard Rock. The beauty is still kept despite the dated building. Its much more peaceful here. Some renovations can be made to improvise. Car park area can be improved for a better access. The huge amazing looking trees covering the pool is truly magnificent. You can just relax in the pool order a refreshing drink by the pool bar and watch the trees, the landscape and its surrounding will give you a sense of calmness and peace. There are massage services offered to my parents whom decided not to enter the pool while the kids were enjoying in them. Overall stay was great, thankful and yet improvements can be made for this hotel out be more outstanding. Food was good, we had few days of breakfast buffet. In terms of value, I think it was slightly expensive but affordable.

Without a doubt for another stay whenever Penang is in my holiday plans.

Room Tip: The seaview rooms should be much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Personally I feel this is the best hotel in Penang....I stayed in the Rasa Wing in a Rasa Premier room which feels like a mini suite and is just in front of the beach....
Perfectly located to the beach as well as the daily Night market which is great for buying little gifts for home!

Room Tip: Rasa Premier room....has a huge bath and feels like a mini suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I've travelled all around the world. This is the best resort I have stayed in. Stay in the Rasa Wing if you can afford it rather than the garden wing ( which is still really good) because you get free coffee service all day , free high tea in the afternoon, free cocktails in the evening which includes wine and champagne( which is otherwise massively expensive in South Asia) and are treated to your own exclusive check in, lounges and swimming pool reserved for Rasa Wing guests who are what I unapolegetically describe as a 'nice style of person'. No riff raff. The resort attracts the best, just walk down the beach and look at the hotels along the beach from it and you will see what i mean. The gym has fantastic equipment if you are interested in keeping in good shape with free weights and machines that really isolate the muscle groups. After the big breakfasts, you don't need lunch, but after filling up on the free drinks in the evening, head out and try the local restaurants which are both much cheaper than the hotel restaurants, but give you variety and local interest. This place has the best and most sincere service from all the staff, it is a credit to their business culture which has got this right and should train other businesses in the industry. Its not for students on a budget, but if you can run to the price, you will love it. Even if you cant afford it, stay here anyway so you can say you have been here. You will be back someday, as I have been.

Room Tip: Stay in Rasa Wing if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We checked into a GardenWing Seaview room. It was sufficient for a two night stay. If we were staying longer may opt for a larger room.
Found the service to be fantastic from check in to check out. The lobby was spacious, air conditioned and inviting. We only tried the Spice Market restaurant and Pinang poolside cafe. Both were nice and reasonably priced (the seafood buffet on Friday and Saturday nights is worth a try even though a bit pricey). Breakfast is impressive with the usual egg station, pancake/waffle station, noodle bar etc. I'm a big fan of the Asian hotel/resort buffet breakfasts!
We spent some time on the beach as my two-year old likes to play with sand, but found it quite hot. But it was lovely by the pool because of the tree shades. The hotel has a fantastic pool!
The hotel is also next to the Adventurezone which is great for little ones. Recommend you bring your own socks and long sleeve shirts.
Overall we had a fantastic trip and two nights were not long enough!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Address: Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa is a luxury resort at Batu Feringgi, one of the most inviting beaches in Malaysia. George Town, the oldest colonial city in the country, is less than an hour away by complimentary shuttle, and offers a fascinating mix of Chinese, Malay and Indian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Hotel
Rasa Sayang Penang
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.