We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Dacula, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I spent 2 nights at Rasa Sayang Resort. Lovely place I had ever stayed. The staff were exceptional - so friendly and efficient and attentive. Although I came without reservation, I received a very welcome and warm from receptionists. They took care of and arranged a suit with ocean view. The room itself was well-appointed though there were minor defects. Bed was very comfortable. big balcony with soaking tub. My room included the buffet breakfast. It was really busy in the morning cos many tourist stayed here I thought. It was a nice touch that the waiting staff to serve some snacks and juice to those waiting in the queue. I felt safty because there were security guards stationed around the grounds day and night. This is certainly the best hotel in the area, if you stay here you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,111
    333
    96
    33
    21
See reviews for
497
747
37
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lee, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

After taking a 45-minute cab ride from the Airport (69 MR), we arrived at this hotel which is at the beach. Very relaxing resting on the couch and we took a good nap with the breeze and the sound of the wave, preceded by a late lunch which was not very impressive. However, The breakfast has great selection, Chinese, Malaysian, Western, and much more. Dinner at the Rasa Wing (The Grill) was not bad, but relatively expensive. Apparently very popular in this restaurant as we could not get the first sitting which had been fully booked. Ambience was better than the food. My order of fish came lukewarm.

We walked to the nearby Night Market (the Long Beach Market) for a most hearty dinner with incredible great values and choices: the Shrimp noodles, the Satay, and the fried oyster are very delicious. A variety of local fruit drinks that must be tried.

The gym is good, and the pool is small but at the beach. Also a popular hotel for wedding and corporate functions. In short, you pay for what you get for this hotel.


Free shuttle to the Old Town on a comfortable bus. Lunch

Room Tip: Choose higher floors at the Garden Wing, so that you can have the views of the sea and beaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for 3 days. The hotel staff knew it was our second honey moon and gave us lovely flowers and a bottle of complimentary wine! What impressed us the most was the friendly hotel staff and their attentiveness. Every hotel staff we came by greeted us day and night and when we asked for directions, they made it a point to bring us to the furthest point possible. On the day we have checked out and waiting at the lobby for our taxi, a staff came by and offered us two drinks.

The buffet breakfast was an excellent spread. The room is nice and bed is not too soft; one of the best hotel bed I came by and I slept well :)

A minor drawback is the fruits in the room don't taste nice; we tried the banana and rambutants. However, we are not too bothered with that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The standard of Rasa Sayang, including the special client wing is far beyond the international expectation. First Rasa Sayang lost the reservation. When arriving the suits had been allocated to other clients, even we had reservation codes. They have put us into a small room instead. No excuses. The manager on duty did not apologize, and only said: "I will try to do my best", and we never heard from him again during our 10 days staying there. Second, we made a cash deposit for extras and got a receipt for it. When we checked-out, they "forgot" to credit the cash deposit; i.e. their receipt was not in the accounting. Luckily we had the receipt copy, but it took us 40 minutes to get our cash deposit back, because the duty manager was not around. Food at the pool restaurant was not fresh. Salad leaves brown, instead of green. We can not recommend Rasa Sayang at all. The entertainment is very poor and for international traveler and clubber not convenient at all. Midnight everything closed.

Room Tip: Old fashioned rooms, like in Europe and USA in the 70th. Absolutely not to recommend any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and I went spent 8 nights at the Shangri-La Rasa Sayang resort as part of our honey moon and had an absolutely wonderful time. We stayed in a premier room in the Rasa Wing overlooking the resort gardens and the sea, it was lovely. The level of service in the Rasa Wing was immense, we felt really looked after and welcomed by all the staff. Little things such as staff remembering our names so we were always greeted by name was a nice touch. The staff were also very accommodating to our needs and just ensured we had a great time.

My wife and I will definitely be visiting Rasa Sayang again, this resort was absolutely brilliant. Below is a breakdown of the best bits from our stay, there was only one thing we didn’t like about the resort and that was the nutmeg juice at check in!

Rasa Wing – Definitely worth the extra money, when we next go back it is Rasa wing all the way! There is a private pool for Rasa Wing guests with complimentary soft drinks, and guests are looked after by 3-4 pool attendants. There is also a separate restaurant and bar for Rasa Wing guests although we tended to go out for meals and drinks in the evening. The level of service in the Rasa Wing was excellent; all the staff knew us by name and made our stay very relaxing and enjoyable.

Premier Room – absolutely fantastic room, spacious and full of luxury. The bathroom was massive, his and her sinks and stocked with L’Occitane toiletries every day. We really loved the room and thought it was great.

Resort Grounds – The beach at Batu Feringhi is ok, but not the same standard as the beaches in Thailand. The resort grounds and pools made up for this though, the Rasa Wing pool was more relaxed and quiet while the main resort pool was a bit livelier. There are also plenty of deck chairs and seating areas around the grounds for guests to relax, and also a couple bars to have a drink and socialise in.

Breakfast - Rasa Wing guests have a separate restaurant for breakfast which serves a hybrid ala carte/buffet breakfast. It was good but my wife and I thought the breakfast in the main resort restaurant was better. Basically we just loved the choice of food at the main resort restaurant and it was a bit more fun. There was a huge choice of food available including full English, continental, American, curries, noodle station and the usual cereals and bread. Needless to say it all tasted great (yep I tried everything!).

Afternoon Tea – complimentary in the Rasa Wing and what a great spread the hotel put on every day we were there. My wife and I always looked forward to afternoon tea during our stay and the chef’s were always inventive in coming up with new flavours for the scones, sandwiches and cakes. In our 8 days there we never had the same sandwich or cake for afternoon tea. Everyday there was a new variety of scone and also a plain scone for the less adventurous at afternoon tea.

Cocktail Hour – also complementary in the Rasa Wing, the sparkling wine was flowing and complimentary canopies yummy. The bar staff were very accommodating and mixed whatever cocktail we asked for. It was a really nice way to start the evening before we headed out.

Chi Spa – My wife and I had a great treatment in the spa. It is definitely worth a visit if you are staying at the resort... although there was more of that horrible nutmeg juice here as well!

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to the Rasa Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I nearly didn’t book this hotel after reading some of the mixed reviews. However I did and was so pleased with our stay. The Hotel is an old building which other reviews mention, but the standard of cleanliness, facilities and the service from the excellent attentive staff make up for any very minor issues. If you are looking for a 5 star Hotel in Penang this is the one for you. One thing to note the hotel has two wings, Garden and Raasa Wing. The Garden wing is more focused for families and the Rassa wing for adults. This isn’t overly clear on many of the Hotel booking sites but luckily we booked the Rassa wing which was perfect for the two of us.. The Buffet Breakfast is excellent, but if you can, try the Buffett Dinner (buy one get one free Mondays and Tuesdays) its truly excellent. This Hotel is everything you would expect from a Shangri La Hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the Raasa wing the additional cost is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Visited this hotel in 2011 with 3 y.o child on the memories about the same hotel 15 years ago(which was great)
This time everything went wrong.On my birthday the cake and the complimentory wine was delivered in to the room the day after??!!
Only one pool for children and becouse it is shaded by huge trees water not getting chance to warm up and one can not stay there more than 30 min max.
Indoor place for kids to play airconditioned with huge force to the point of freezing.it is O.K. for kids while they playing ,but for waiting parents it is certain way to catch a cold.
Strange policy on sweaping the hotel ground-apparently they not cleaning below the steps that lead to the beach??!! i have noticed 4 empty beer bottles laying on the sand next to the steps for 3 days-no one was there to remove them. I could go on...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Address: Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa is a luxury resort at Batu Feringgi, one of the most inviting beaches in Malaysia. George Town, the oldest colonial city in the country, is less than an hour away by complimentary shuttle, and offers a fascinating mix of Chinese, Malay and Indian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Hotel
Rasa Sayang Penang
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.