We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great 10 nights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La

Save Saved
You added Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A great 10 nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and i stayed here from March 5th, The staff we found were all very helpful from the time we checked in till checking out, nothing was a problem. The room had a seaview (which is recommened), a large double bed and a nice bathroom and was cleaned every day.
Plenty of choice at breakfast time.
The pool area and beachside garden had plenty sunbeds chairs and tables,cold water drinking dispensers and ice available if needed were by the icecream counter.
Theres plenty to do everyday if you want to get involved, water volley ball, tai chi etc. I did the jungle trek one morning, there was only 3 of us on it.
The food we ate there was from sigi's was good and they have dining specials most nights.
The hawker stalls are just outside and are great fun with very tasty food and lots of choices, good value for money, we ate there 8 out of 10 nights.
Theres a good chinese (ok cafe) just at the side of the hotel,turn left up the side road off the beach, its run by Liang & Loon (lovely couple) and cold tiger t off Patrick, its closed on tues and shuts at 5.
The hotel runs a courtesy bus into Georgetown,took about an hour to get there the traffic is very busy,we got off at traders near the Komtar centre,it also stops at Gurney shopping mall.
All in all a fantastic time was had at a fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: We booked a seaview room when we booked the holiday,its cheaper than when you get there, the power...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    576
    546
    209
    74
    43
See reviews for
678
434
17
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We arrived tea-time on valentine's day, after the journey from hell----mainly due to a 7hr wait for transfer at Abu Dhabi airport. We both slept until 2pm on Friday, feeling as if we'd been punched, bored & countersunk.
We had a private transfer to the hotel from the airport--bliss.Mr Geoffrey (our driver) was charming & entertaining,& we were both planning to use him for our trips.( Hollow laughter).
On Saturday we wandered down through the pleasant gardens to the beach--intending to swim, but soon found out that that was not advisable due to a jellyfish invasion. No-one was swimming, so I opted for a head neck & back massage to get the travel kinks out. it cost the equivalent of £6 & was wonderful. We ambled out at dinner time to the Magic1 restaurant across the street--& that was when the 'flu kicked in!! on Sunday, Jim called the hotel doctor,who arrived promptly & gave me medication to deal with every single symptom. i stayed in the room (hillside view) I stayed in the room until Thurs, when my guilty conscience kicked in. Poor Jim had been dining alone, was worried about me & then he acquired a milder version of the bug. The young men who "did" the rooms were so patient with me because they couldn't do their job. We had a request from the head housekeeper to meet with him & expected a rollicking for non-compliance, but all he wanted was reassurance that i was getting better & was there anything he could do. The Manager & reception staff sent me a lovely "get well" card & a pot of my favourite Earl Grey tea. Without exception all the staff were charming,friendly, smiling in that completely unforced way that makes you want to smile in return.
Out of 14 day holiday I spent 12 days ill, but what little I experienced I loved

Room Tip: Hillside rooms overlook jungle clad hills & the main road. Ours was on the second floor & ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We arrived at this hotel early and was told we had been given a "special room" 163.
The room was on the bottom floor...smack bang next to the lifts!!
It was very large, with a fab view of the car park.
We had booked a superior hillview room (without doing our research first!!) Our travel agent recommended the hotel.
But we thought.. well, we wont be in the room too much as we had some sightseeing to do.
We dined at Long Beach Cafe and had some lovely freshly cooked food.
The night market outside the hotel is also good fun.
We decided on an early night due to traveling, and around 10.30 pm there was an almighty racket (generator???) The "ping ping" from the lifts and the banging doors were also proving to be very irritating.
At 11.30 my husband went to reception and explained that there was no way we could sleep with the noise. No problem...we were told to leave all our things and move to room 111.
This proved to be just as noisy, we could still hear the generator?? and also the noise from the reception area.
We decided to move back to our original room and stick it out until morning. The noise continued until around 2.30 am. We just had to put up with the pinging lifts then.
Next morning my husband asked to see the manager and explained the situation. All the staff we encountered claimed not to know what the noise was.
We were then given another room on the 6th floor, with a view of the very busy main road and traffic noise to match.
We admitted defeat and carried on with our holiday.
One day i had to seek out a housekeeper and ask for drink supplies to be replenished as we had run out.
Buffet breakfast was noisy and very busy, there was a large choice of fresh food.
The hotel itself was lovely and clean with friendly staff. Facilities were plentiful with a well equipped gym. Wi-fi was efficient. Whilst we were there the hotel was very busy with several conferences being held there. On the days there was no conferences the hotel was quiet.
We did not use the beach.
We did consider upgrading to a sea view room but as we were only there for 5 nights we decided to wait until we arrived at our next destination the Rasa Ria in Borneo as we were there longer.
We felt dissapointed with this hotel and with hindsight it is not one we would have chosen ourselves, and its a shame as the hotel and staff are lovely, and kept very clean.
Maybe we were just unlucky on this occasion.
If i had to go again i would definitely need a balcony, which all the sea view rooms have. I have a suspicion that all the hillview rooms could be noisy.

Room Tip: After changing rooms (hillview) three times i would recommend sea facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after a busy three days in KL. What a great place to relax and unwind! We had a second floor sea facing room which you have to pay extra for , as the non seafacing rooms do not have balconies. We could not fault the place, the room we had was bright and comfortable, with a powerful shower and huge comfy bed, with towels and linen changed regularly.
There was an abundance of sunbeds and although some people put towels on their preferred ones, early morning, there really was no need to do this as there were plenty to choose from. The water coolers placed near the pool was a nice touch too.
We stayed bed and breakfast,and for lunch on most days, we walked out of the hotel to the beach and turned left to the end of the path then left again to a place called OK Cafe. It dosnt look much of a place but the young couple who cook the food are lovely people, very welcoming and the food is delicious and very cheap, much cheaper than the hotel.
I did not use the spa facility or gym so cannot comment.
There are plenty of places to eat in the evening and do give the Hawker centres especially long beach Cafe a go. All types of food are available and again very delicious, we had no stomach problems at all.
We visited Malaysia 10 years ago and like everywhere the prices have incresed, Alcohol is no longer cheap , but the food is still good value for money, and of course you have the night market for bargain fake goods.
All in all the hotel was perfect for us, we have no children and although it is a family hotel it was not over run with children, they have their own pool area and we found sunbathing in the garden area very peaceful indeed. A bit disapponted we could not swim in the sea as there were jellyfish, but the pool made up for it. Hope you find this helpful. Enjoy!

Room Tip: if you like sitting on the balcony ensure you upgrade to a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here in December with my family of 7 adults and 2 kids. Great service from the staff upon arrival. We arrived earlier than the check in time, but we got our rooms ready- all clean and polish. We were even upgraded to the rooms facing the sea, right smack at the centre. Wonderful view! Breakfast was good with variety of choices.
The beach was lovely and there are people that can arrange for water sport if you are interested. One thing to note though, the beach has jellyfish so you cannot swim in it. They had a small area where it was possible to swim but we deicded instead to book a boat to monkey island directly from the hotel beach and went there in the morning. Took about 20 minutes to get there and we swam there. You could arrange for a barbeque at the monkey island beach as well.
If you need to book a tour, the hotel can help you with it. Or you could go out on the streets, there are plenty of tour agency that can arrange for you. Restaurant, local food stalls and spas are just abundant outside the hotel. There are even night markets. What more do you need??

Room Tip: get the seaview room! It is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Golden Sands for a week in March. The resort itself is quite nice and has good facilities, particularly for families. The rooms are very dated and quite small. We payed for a Sea facing room and upon our arrival we were put on the first floor with a view of only the pool and not the beach at all. We were then told we could upgrade to another room on a higher level but we were charged even more for it. Quite disappointing when you have already payed for something and have to pay for it again because it is not what they described. The bathrooms are very old looking and mould has formed on the bathtub. When we arrived to our room (that we had to pay extra for) was dirty and looked like it was not ready for guests. Stains everywhere, dust and dirt. Very disappointing. The service is good and the staff are lovely but somebody really needs to put some effort into fixing the rooms. The location is good as the night market is set up right outside the resort. However it is quite far from the main town and its not a short ride to get there either. Overall the pictures are very deceiving and if you decide to stay here make sure you get what you have payed for.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Penang is a flight from Kuala Lumpa and after a long flight I began to think this was a stop over too far! A 45 minute flight and then a 40 minute taxi drive with a driver who from his driving thought we were trying to qualify for the Malaysian Grand Prix ! However once at the hotel We were pleased we had made the effort .The bedrooms were well equipped and comfortable .The breakfasts were excellent and the little cafe near the beach delightful especially the band that sang for the guests. The communal areas including pool areas ,lounges, spa and gardens were beautiful .The night market is just beyond the hotels gates which is another plus point.This hotel benefits from close proximity to a sandy beach with a wide array of watersports on offer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La

Address: Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La in Malaysia, Penang is the epitome of premier resort getaway for families, groups and individual travellers. Situated in the midst of a laid-back seaside village and the popular Batu Feringgi beach, its locale provides ample opportunity for exploration and leisure. Embraced by sun, surf and fun, the resort's diversity and accessibility is the perfect antidote for jet lag and boredom. Among its 387 rooms include the biggest family suites, with some equipped with Murphy beds (a retractable bed that fits neatly into walls). Dining options include Sigi's Bar & Grill on the beach, a Garden Cafe with 360 degree view of the gardens and pools, a Lobby Lounge overlooking the landscaped garden, state-of-art meeting rooms, banquet hall and Cool Lounge, an innovative transit lounge for early check-in and late check-out stand ready to serve guests. George Town, a UNESCO world heritage site is a short drive away. So are the island's nature trails and myriad cultural centres. Recreational facilities include a water sports center, three tennis courts, Health Club , a Par 3 Executive Golf Courts, two swimming pools with an outdoor Jacuzzi and Adventure Zone, an in house Family Entertainment Centre. An evolving recreational calendar includes activities organized for in-house guests of all ages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.