We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La

Save Saved
You added Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A nice holiday which is great for families. I would say that it is not of the same luxe standard of the other Shangri-La hotels, but I think that is intended, as it is meant to be more casual and relaxed, more for kids. The hotel had given away our rooms as we were a bit late, but they then offered to upgrade us to a suite for the same price as our original rooms. I cannot fault the reception service, the staff were excellent. Our suite was nice, clean and well appointed.

You will love the pools, the outside areas, the lush scenery, it is all lovely. My kids adored it, there was a water slide and a baby pool with awning providing shade.

The children loved the food at the hotel, it wasn't fussy and there was plenty of choice. Mostly Western fare. I personally thought that the food was okay, but not outstanding. Go to the sister hotel, Rasa Sayang, next door for more special food. But you will find plenty of local places, just a stone throw from the hotel, selling excellent food at really good prices, especially the seafood.

The beach was okay, clean white sand and plenty of watersports. The children adored it. The water was rather smelly and dirty but plenty of people were paddling so I guess it was just me being fussy.

My kids also adored the Adventure Zone and the activities. I wish that the management had included more kids' stuff for free - they tell you that you can do all the activities for free, but you have to pay an entry fee. So it is not really free at all! Nearly all the other hotels we've been to do include at least a portion of activities inclusive in the hotel price.

I wish the management would make the lobby bar and cool lounge a bit more inviting. We tried to get early evening drinks and there didn't seem to be anyone serving, no menus, no obvious bar area. So. I went to the cafe and asked for drinks.

But these are minor quibbles, we really enjoyed ourselves exploring Penang and would go there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    580
    550
    211
    74
    43
See reviews for
685
436
17
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at the golden sands from the 19th of October for two weeks. We found the management Ahmed Hamzah and the resturant manager Desmond Dass could not do enough to make our stay exceptional. The hotel is a great family hotel. The buffet breakfast and evening buffets were great, there was something for everyone the choice was so great. We enjoyed our stay that much we are Booking up straight away to go back again next year. Thanks again to all the staff we also would like to thank Natasha on reception. Thank you Barrie & joy

Room Tip: Have a sea view not a hill view the extra is worth it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Pros:
-Great pool with slide
-The most fun indoor playground I've ever been to!
-Overall class & luxury
- Good location.

Cons:
-Rooms are rather cramped, add in a baby cot and there's hardly walking space left

Generally this is a good luxury hotel that will be a big hit with the kids for the pool and even more so for the indoor playground - AdventureZone that's located within hotel premises but open to public. The night market is at its doorstep & McDonald's is just across the road.

Choose this if location & keeping the kids entertained is important to you!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

For three years, we have always stayed in Shangri La hotels in Malaysia and assumed that they were all of the same standard; this was not to be the case with this hotel.

The hotel had been booked by our travel agent as we travelled independently around the Far East, always spending the last 4/5 days in Shangri l Hotels simply doing nothing.

When we were shown our room, I could nor believe it-it was shabby throughout and not cleaned properly-dirty stains on walls, on shower curtain, black mould on some of the tiles, stains on sofa chairs and torn desk topping. The list goes on and this was an upgraded room overlooking the garden and sea. I refused to unpack, called the Duty Manager to the room and showed him what we found. I informed that unless were were given a better room, we would leave and stay elsewhere

We were taken to the lobby, given complimentary drinks and after an hour, another room which had obviouly been cleaned just for us was available. It was OK.

Next morning, we went down to breakfast which was also disappointing-no fish as my wife does not eat meat. In all other 4 & 5 star hotels, there were at least 2 fish dishes. We had to ask three times before she was given some. Reasonable range of items but the restaurant was packed. Not a quality breakfast but a mass market one and, of all the hotels in which we stayed, the most disappointing.

We ate out two nights in the street market which was great and on the Saturday, we ate in as it had a seafood buffet with free wine and beer. It was Ok but had much better.

After the first day, we discovered that there is another Shangri la hotel 5 minutes walk away and is a 5* hotel. I met the local agent and asked to be moved but she informed us that there was no difference between the two; I should have checked there and then for the next day, I did and it was a beautiful hotel with fabulous rooms and a buffet breakfast as we had initially expcted. We were misled

Overall, the staff were great and very helpful and the second room adequate but still not what we expected.They did do their best and as it was our anniversary, a cake was brought to our room. However, my agent in the Uk has alot to answer for as it was not up to the standard we required as others on nthis trip. Golden Sands is like a package holiday hotel and felt that throughout. We will not be returning to this hotel but go elsewhere where we know the standards of Shangri La hotels.

Room Tip: Check to see what type of room you have booked; do not be fooled by names-for example, de luxe might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We found the resort very noisey at night with other guests, the rooms not being sound proof enough. Cooking class was dissapointing as we did not cook we just watched the chef cook. So not much to do at the resort besides massages and water sports. Massages were very dissapointing! Not a good place if you want to relax and unwind, much too noisey.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Me and my friends just got back from a 10 day stay in a sea view room at Golden Sands with mixed feelings.

Location is perfect with the night market right at your doorstep. Resort ticked all the boxes on food, pool, rooms, views and service.

We had an issue with our room and management happily moved us to another room.

With regards to the resort we really enjoyed our stay and thank all the amazing staff. Really A+...!!

BUT...fellow middle eastern guests ruined our whole experience.
Me and my friends experienced extremely rude treatment by these guests.
We were pushed, abused and disrespected by not one but 10 seperate individuals on separate days.
Also let it be known we were not the only guests who were treated like this. We noted at least 8 incidents with other guests and these middle eastern guests.

Finally being at a resort you want to relax and enjoy the many pools the resort has to offer.
On every day we spent at the pool, we experienced wild children unsupervised by their parents running, splashing and disturbing the peace. The life guards did a fantastic job at trying to control these kids, but when asked where the parents are, there were no where to be seen. The parents used the pools as a child care drop off.
I strongly suggest management enforce a supervision policy to control these wild kids. This experienced did not allow us to relax.

To summarize, golden sands A+ BUT due to one class of people I unfortunately will not go back.
Never in my traveling experience have I been confronted by this sort of treatment by fellow guests.

Sorry Golden Sands but management need to be more strict on rude disrespectful guests and enforce their rules and regulations to ensure all guests have an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Shangri La Golden Sands for four days on our way home from Thailand, It is a big resort with a lovely pool and garden area, lots of sunbeds, a small pathway leads to the large beach.
Breakfast was very busy but the staff seated people very quickly and there was a huge choice of food catering for every taste.
Our room was at the front of the hotel, although we were next to the elivator we never heard any noise. The room its self was lovely with a great comfy bed and a seating area with viws accross to the hills.
This is a large family resort with everything close by, If we ever visit Penang again I would consider staying here again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La

Address: Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La in Malaysia, Penang is the epitome of premier resort getaway for families, groups and individual travellers. Situated in the midst of a laid-back seaside village and the popular Batu Feringgi beach, its locale provides ample opportunity for exploration and leisure. Embraced by sun, surf and fun, the resort's diversity and accessibility is the perfect antidote for jet lag and boredom. Among its 387 rooms include the biggest family suites, with some equipped with Murphy beds (a retractable bed that fits neatly into walls). Dining options include Sigi's Bar & Grill on the beach, a Garden Cafe with 360 degree view of the gardens and pools, a Lobby Lounge overlooking the landscaped garden, state-of-art meeting rooms, banquet hall and Cool Lounge, an innovative transit lounge for early check-in and late check-out stand ready to serve guests. George Town, a UNESCO world heritage site is a short drive away. So are the island's nature trails and myriad cultural centres. Recreational facilities include a water sports center, three tennis courts, Health Club , a Par 3 Executive Golf Courts, two swimming pools with an outdoor Jacuzzi and Adventure Zone, an in house Family Entertainment Centre. An evolving recreational calendar includes activities organized for in-house guests of all ages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.