We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Resort with Great Facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La to your Saves list
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Spacious Resort with Great Facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Beautiful hotel with spacious rooms and excellent facilities. Good for family as well as business travellers. I especially enjoyed the bay window doors that opened to the balcony. Service is good and staff polite + helpful. Rooms are of high standard like any other Shangri-La hotel. If you are adventurous, there are plenty to do on the beach. The breakfast that comes with the room package has a good variety of food choices too. Definitely a better choice compared to G-hotel, where the room windows cannot be opened. Nice and breezy in the late evenings. Certainly my preferred hotel in Penang.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    620
    228
    81
    46
See reviews for
756
488
19
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Not one fault regarding this hotel. The rooms are great, grounds are really nice and the restaurants serve tasty food. Service was always of a high standard, nothing is ever too much for the staff.

Penang is a great place to go on holiday just for the night life and food. The wooden bar across the road is a good laugh and there is restaurant adjoining that serves really good food.

Beach is really nice to take a stroll on and you can see a great sunset.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

our travel agent, Platinum Escape in Adelaide, recommended this resort for our honeymoon in Penang, and it was wonderful. Although some time has passed now since we stayed there, it left a lasting impression. The rooms were tastefully decorated, and added to the luxury feel we were looking for. We had a balcony to laze on, a king bed and a bath - perfect. The breakfasts were terrific, so much food to choose from, and we gorged ourselves every 8 mornings that we were there. We must've put on 5 kgs in that time! Relaxing on the banana lounges every afternoon around the pool sipping cocktails was brilliant. We loved it and didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I was with my family on trip to Penang.
We booked 4 Hill View Deluxe Room at Golden Sands.
When arrival, I have been informed that they upgrade 2 of my room to Sea View Deluxe Room.

The interior design of the room was great, the sea view from room was excellent!
The staff was helpful and the breakfast provided was great as well.

I went swimming early in the morning, the thing that I feel warm is they heat up the swimming pool in order to make the water more suitable for swimming in the morning. It was a great thing.

Anyway, the Batu Ferringi beach was not pleased me. The sand was rocky although it is not dirty.

As conclusion, the resort was pleased.

Room Tip: Take the Sea View Deluxe Room, you won't regret when you can saw the sea from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Spent 2 nights at this resort in january. This is an abs stunning resort from the facilities to the staff. Upon arrival we were delighted to find out we were given a complimentry upgrade to a deluxe sea facing room. The room was very clean & tidy & the service was excellent, staff extremely friendly. The resort also offers alot of activities which makes it a fun place to be at.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

First time staying in GS resort. This is a family friendly resort. If you are without kid and prefer quiet or romantic gateaway, then you will enjoy Rasa Sayang next door instead of GS. There are lots of activities for children here, kids club, adventure zone, the pools....

The location is great, shops & eateries within walking distance. There is complimentary shuttle bus to town, few trips a day.

We stayed in hillview room, spacious & comfortable. Can hear the prayer from the nearby mosque few times a day, but that didn't bother us.

The only problem we faced was... when we checked into the room, the bathroom has a nasty smell which made me nausea and I wasn't the only one complaining about it. We couldn't pinpoint where the smell came from, so we asked the housekeeper to change the shower curtain. It helped but the bathroom still stink. Luckily the smell disappeared eventually...

The breakfast is until 11am, which is good. We went there around 10am to avoid the crowd.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay there and will go back again...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Stayed here for our first wedding anniversary. Worth every cent. The service was top-notch! Kudos to the staff & management! Every single staff was very very helpful, kind, and accommodating! The best service i've experienced so far! The room was very very beautiful... however, could use a little extra cleaning in the corners though. Just the corners were a little dirty. BUT overall, the room was very beautiful. Stayed in the hillview room. The pools were excellent. The security was brilliant!

The food, though a little expensive, was truly a 5-star experience. The jazz band at Sigi's bar on weekends was very good & set the right atmosphere for a romantic beach-dining experience! Happy hour price is very reasonable (RM9.50++ for Draught Beer, RM14.50++ for Cocktails). Beer was perfect. Guinness Stout was a little watered down. Cocktails were amazing... used premium products, and tasted rich!

Loved the garden overlooking the beach. The beach however, is not private... Its a public beach, unfortunately. Therefore its a little filthy. We saw dogs running around, and a few spots of dog's droppings by the sand. That was totally gross! But i understand that the resort doesn't have control over this, as it falls on the hands of the government authorities in Penang, Malaysia.

Overall, i would definitely be back, and would recommend to EVERYONE... for family outings, or romantic getaways. Just brilliant!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La

Address: Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La 4*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La in Malaysia, Penang is the epitome of premier resort getaway for families, groups and individual travellers. Situated in the midst of a laid-back seaside village and the popular Batu Feringgi beach, its locale provides ample opportunity for exploration and leisure. Embraced by sun, surf and fun, the resort's diversity and accessibility is the perfect antidote for jet lag and boredom. Among its 387 rooms include the biggest family suites, with some equipped with Murphy beds (a retractable bed that fits neatly into walls). Dining options include Sigi's Bar & Grill on the beach, a Garden Cafe with 360 degree view of the gardens and pools, a Lobby Lounge overlooking the landscaped garden, state-of-art meeting rooms, banquet hall and Cool Lounge, an innovative transit lounge for early check-in and late check-out stand ready to serve guests. George Town, a UNESCO world heritage site is a short drive away. So are the island's nature trails and myriad cultural centres. Recreational facilities include a water sports center, three tennis courts, Health Club , a Par 3 Executive Golf Courts, two swimming pools with an outdoor Jacuzzi and Adventure Zone, an in house Family Entertainment Centre. An evolving recreational calendar includes activities organized for in-house guests of all ages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.