We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leisure Cove Resort

Leisure Cove Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Batu Ferringhi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Leisure Cove Resort
Save
You added Leisure Cove Resort to your Saves list
Number 563 Jalan Wee Hein Tze, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Recently stayed here for 3 days. Got a Suit to stay which was excellent. Staff are helpful. Negatives are- there is only a seafood restaurant, reception working hours is 8am to 11pm and it is difficult to find just by the name because it is not on the main road.

Room Tip: Look for 3rd Floor Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    5
    7
    3
See reviews for
7
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We recently stayed for a week at Leisure Cove Resort, Penang, Malaysia. The accommodation was excellent. The service from all staff was friendly and they assisted us with all we needed. The sea view was fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view preferably on the 6th floor or higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Was here for 7 nights. Its was cool n cosy. Bed was comfortable. Because i like to spend time at the beach, its great i got the room facing the beach. Where at 3pm the fisherman will sell fresh fish. The room will be cleaned only when you were in the room. There is a roof top pool with jaccuzi. Its cold n refershing with scenery with mountians n hills. Its a great sight to relax! Food was easy to get cause there is bus 101 which goes to all the great places i.e Batu Feringghi and Telok Bahang

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Where do I start?

I checked into this property and within 5 minutes...I was OUT. From the outside, it looks like a decent place to stay but DON'T BE FOOLED. This is probably the worst maintained property I've ever had the misfortune of checking into. From the reception area, to the elevator (which omitted a terrible stench of carcinogenic, toxic paint lacquer), to the poorly arranged/maintained "suite"...I just don't know why anyone who is anyone would find this place acceptable at any price range. The only reason why I ended up here was because my timeshare company recommended and booked it (they will be hearing from me!)

I quickly booked myself into another hotel - which is pretty amazing so far.

Seriously, Leisure Cove reminds me of "The Shining"...I was literally looking over my shoulder walking in the hallway..it's like a ghost town.

Poor receptionist. She is so friendly...she didn't even look surprised when I told her I wouldn't be staying!

Room Tip: RUN! Run as fast as you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. It needs maintenance and major upgrade. The room although is quite clean but the furnitures and fixtures in the room are outdated, they need to be replaced. The property is poorly maintained. It is very obvious that the room needs to be painted. It is almost spooky at night. The roof top pool is nice but again, the area around the pool needs to be upgraded. No front desk attendants at night after 8PM, you are out of luck if you need assistance. Public access to the beach is next to the hotel but the beach isn't too pleasant. A cleaner beach is about 5-10min walk near the Infinity residence. You need a car to get around as it is not near any attractions. It locates in Tanjung Bungah area. Much nicer hotels are at Batu Ferringhi area where you will find most of the tourist attractions and water sports.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Or should I say no maintenance at all? The place was quite famous in the previous years. Nowadays it's quite run down and looks dirty and run down. It's a waste that it was let be. Value for money but really a waste now.... Good location though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with my family and rate is as average, if not poor. It is a basic hotel, well located along the Batu Feringgi stretch. There are 2 major drawbacks:
1) The maintenance of the rooms are very poor, bathroom doors are rotten, the main door lock is faulty and appeared to be broken into and repaired. The furniture appeared old. I believe the hotel management should seriously look into refurbishments to bring it up to the expected standards.
2) Insufficient car parks, hence I had to park along the road side. I learned later that parking along the road side is not legal and I could have been issued a parking ticket.
3) Security is not seen to be good as anyone could just walk in and out of the hotel, there are no security personnel at the main entrance and I am not sure if the CCTV is operational.

Room Tip: You may want to demand to see the room first before agreeing to accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leisure Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Cove Resort

Address: Number 563 Jalan Wee Hein Tze, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Number of rooms: 49
Also Known As:
Leisure Cove Resort Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leisure Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.