We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Restaurant with amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Feringgi Grill

Feringgi Grill
Batu Feringgi Beach | Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
(60 4) 888 8888
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant with amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in the Rasa wing in the hotel and ate here both nights, the food was truly amazing and we loved the table side service. The staff are beyond amazing and give such a personal service, the special touches like our leaving song and cake make this above and beyond most restaurants .

We will be back and can't wait to come to the restaurant.

We would like to give a special mention to the restaurant manager and Izahan.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    109
    23
    10
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We went here for my birthday on the last night of our holiday and it really made my day special. The service was outstanding and the food was delicious. We had the tomato soup (sounds boring but was delicious and completely unlike any tomato soup I have every imagined) & lobster bisque to start followed by chateaubriand for main - all cooked to perfection. We were given complimentary champagne and a special desert to mark the occasion.
We have eaten at plenty of michelin star places and I would rate this experience as completely on a par with these - the whole experience has convinced us to try and stay at the Rasa Sayang when we come back

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Food is certainly quite good but not that good that you would rave about it, but the prices are on a par with the up market restaurants of Paris and London, bit of a rip off in my opinion and you can certainly get better food at other places not too far away.tripadvisor is a great guide.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great service, food was above average but not considered excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

After having read all but the last review this was the first restaurant we visited after we landed. Service was excellent. Like the last reviewer I also had the grilled scallops which was alright - funny mushy texture and I certainly had a lot better scallops before. They said the scallops were from Hokkaido .

We had the sirloin with rice and baked beans which was an odd combination but tasted ok

We also had palate cleanser in between meals etc

The service was impeccable which made it a great dining experience. Food could be better but I won't complain

There was a dress code of smart casual which typically applies to men - no shorts or flip flops and they even have spare pants to lend to guests !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Have been dining here at least twice a year the last 4-5 yrs. Enjoyed the quality of the steak and of course the service. However the last 2 visits have been disappointing. On one visit 6 months back the scallops served for a starter was not fresh and tasteless and on pointing out we were not billed for it. On our last visit this July 2013, one tenderloin was extremely salty and the meat for all the 6 of us dining were 'rough and tough' in quality(not what we used to enjoy)
The lobster bisque was tasteless and dilute (in comparison to the one I had at 1885 in E and O in May 2013).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Feringgi Grill also viewed

Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 

Been to Feringgi Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Feringgi Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.