We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time with great music” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Cafe Penang

Hard Rock Cafe Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang | Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
+604 8811 711
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located at the Ground Floor of the hotel, the Hard Rock Cafe is the place to party from day till night. This world famous cafe serves authentic American cuisine made famous by Hard Rock Cafe’s across the globe. Not forgetting the essence of Hard Rock Cafe – the music, memorabilia, merchandize and the heart and soul of Hard Rock. Turn it up a notch by night with live band performances in the cafe nightly. The 138 pax cafe serves authentic American food with specialty dishes such as Nachos, Fajita’s, Legendary 10oz Burgers, Honey Citrus Chicken Salad and Hard Rock Cafe Hot Fudge Brownie to name a few and special Cocktails such as Hard Rock Hurricanes, Tropical Rock, Triple Platinum Margarita, Fruitapalooza & Berry Blush Martini comes with a Special Collectable Souvenir Glass (Special Prices with Glass).
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great time with great music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Great band that plays here every night. Great ambiance for friends and family to bind over some drinks while listening to good music.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan S, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Penang, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you Ganesh for visiting the Hard Rock Cafe Penang and giving us a 4 star review on your visit. I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your visit at the cafe and also the band that was performing on the evening. The band is called Deviate and arguably they are the best Rock Band in the island. They perform at the Hard Rock Cafe everyday except on Tuesday. Well hope to welcome back you soon. Until then, Rock ON and See the SHOW.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    111
    42
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Book ahead at busy times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a very small Hard Rock Cafe attached to the Hard Rock Hotel.
The focus certainly seems to be on the family hotel, hence the small size of the shop & cafe.
Be flexible with your time or book ahead.
Food is pretty good, atmosphere is good too - some comedy evenings interspersed with music nights.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan S, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Penang, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for visiting Hard Rock Cafe Penang and sharing your moments in the Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you have experienced great food and service from our team and hopefully you will be back for more wonderful moments with us. In the mean time, Keep ROCKING and See the SHOW.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Food was good but venue smelt like a giant ashtray.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

As we were staying at the hard rock, we chose to eat there as we could not be bothered venturing out. When entering the cafe you are immediately hit with the smell of stale cigarette smoke or ashtray smells which is very strong and off putting. We stayed and ordered our meals including burgers and ribs as a change to the street food we had been eating. A burger was a good choice and the ribs were extremely tender and the meat fell away from the bone. All up a good meal but they need to address the bad odours, it does spoil the experience.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan S, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Penang, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on your dining experience with Hard Rock Cafe Penang. In fact, it was our pleasure to have you at our cafe and feels excited to hear such a great review on our food. However please accept our sincere apology for the unpleasant smell and certainly we will review the functional efficiency of our ionizers. We look forward to welcome you back at the Hard Rock Cafe Penang the next time you are in the island. Until then, Keep on ROCKING.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Large meals but a little pricey, great atmosphere and would go again. Its well lit, comfortable seating and a pretty good array of foods to choose from

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan S, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Penang, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you Steve for your gracious review at Tripadvisor on your recent moment with Hard Rock Cafe Penang. I am glad that you have enjoyed the food and service that you experienced during your visit. I will make sure that I pass your comments to my team in the Cafe and I am very much sure they will be very pleased to hear about your comments. I look forward welcoming you back to Hard Rock Cafe on your next trip to Penang. Until then, See the SHOW and Rock ON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great vibe and even better food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The place was pumping with a great menu at reasonable prices , live entertainment to top it all...bit of a wait for a seat but obviously cause its popular

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan S, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Penang, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for visiting the Hard Rock Cafe Penang and giving us a 4 star review on your visit. I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your visit at the cafe and also the band that was performing that night. The band is called Deviate and arguably they are the best Rock Band in the island. Well hope to welcome back you soon. Until then, See the SHOW and Rock ON.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Rock Cafe Penang also viewed

Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 

Been to Hard Rock Cafe Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Cafe Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.