We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I got slaughtered for such a bad service!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Cafe Penang

Hard Rock Cafe Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang | Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
+604 8811 711
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located at the Ground Floor of the hotel, the Hard Rock Cafe is the place to party from day till night. This world famous cafe serves authentic American cuisine made famous by Hard Rock Cafe’s across the globe. Not forgetting the essence of Hard Rock Cafe – the music, memorabilia, merchandize and the heart and soul of Hard Rock. Turn it up a notch by night with live band performances in the cafe nightly. The 138 pax cafe serves authentic American food with specialty dishes such as Nachos, Fajita’s, Legendary 10oz Burgers, Honey Citrus Chicken Salad and Hard Rock Cafe Hot Fudge Brownie to name a few and special Cocktails such as Hard Rock Hurricanes, Tropical Rock, Triple Platinum Margarita, Fruitapalooza & Berry Blush Martini comes with a Special Collectable Souvenir Glass (Special Prices with Glass).
Penang
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“I got slaughtered for such a bad service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I wouldn't go back to the Hardrock in Penang. The service was a disappointment that it was not at par with the one at Concord KL.
Service was slow, waiter/waitress was being seen idling around. Not attentive. Food was not too bad except a very pricey Margarita drink. So if you are there, avoid the cocktails. They are no. 1 Killer!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Penang, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment and review your experience with us in January 2012. Our apologies for not being attentive to your needs whilst we have repeatedly reminded our crew during sound checks. As for prices, our cocktail prices are in line with HRC K.L. using the the exact same glass and concoction. We appreciate your comments and will definitely elevate our service standards. Do let us know if you are around as we love to welcome you back to experience our fun and enjoyful affair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    110
    42
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Avoid over priced and food not up to scratch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012


Ordered a steak well done came out medium rare drinks over priced and band not to good not worth waiting till 10:15 supposed to be hard rock cafe more like cruise ship entertaiment

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Penang, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience with us. We are very concern with our guest request and sincerely apologize for not having the steak doneness according to your request. This is clearly a mistake on our food production Chef and he has been counselled with the neccessary action taken. Our pricing are in line with all HRC prices in Asia and if not, slightly lower. It is very unfortunate that you did not enjoy the Filipino band that is very well received amongst our regulars. Anyhow, we will take note during our new band selection. I hope this will not mar your expectations of Hard Rock Cafe and would love to welcome you back to experience our usual awesome service and fantastic food and beverage products. Please let me know your next trip to Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Thumbs up to the food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Thumbs up for the service. Very personal in a nice way.

Asked for a medium rare New York Strip and it was cooked to perfection!

Tip: Do plan for a late dinner at this place and you get to enjoy the 1030pm live band performance.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon C, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Penang, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment your dining experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed the evening with us and experience our live band performance from Philippines. We will pass your positive comment to our Chef. We are certain it'll make his day!. YOU ROCK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Limb performance”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Penang is famous for its sumptuous food. But I reckon someone might not have relayed that message to the Hard Rock Cafe Penang. For starters the service was nothing to lark about. Attention was remarkably poor. Unless you happen to be a diner with a fair complexion and speak with a distinctive accent, be prepared to be just another number in the restaurant. The food didn't help either. I ordered one of the Legendary burgers and to say it didn't live up to its name is a gross understatement. All I can say is that at least the beef patty was thicker than the ones they serve in MacDonald's. If that helps.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon C, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Penang, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for your comment. We apologize if you did not experience our usual awesome and fun experience. We will definitely discuss with our team to be more attentive and not only with our regular fans. There are many occasions where new guests misconstrue the message that we treat fans with "fair complexion and speak with a distinctive accent" differently. We have always and will continue to apply our "Love All Serve All" motto despite some regulars who dine so regularly that they have become more than friends with our band members. Let us know the next time when you visit Penang, we'll be glad to serve you again and ensure you experience our usual "fun" service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batu Ferringghi, Penang
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dissappointing HRC Dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We were there on the 30th of April 2012 for a light dinner. We had a Grilled Mediterranean Seafood Linguine and a Hard Rock Cafe Classic Burger (Medium-Well).

The pasta came with a to much capers and black olives which actually spoil the overall taste of the pasta. The tartness overwhelmed the otherwise lightly sweet taste. The accompanying baguettes were not properly toasted and was chewy. Consistency was also a problem as the neighboring table ordered the same dish but what was served was distinctively different from what he had. The prawns still had their tails, the pasta looks more of aglio olio (ours look looked more like a carbonara) and there were no baguettes.

The burger I ordered was the HRC Classic Burger medium-well, but the patty was served well done without the beefy taste and minus the juiciness. The buns used didn't taste and feel like the burgers buns that we once had almost 2 years ago, in fact it reminds me of the burger buns used by local road side vendors.

Would I return, I guess it would take some convincing before I am going pay the price of disappointment again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon C, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Penang, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to comment your dining experience. It is very unfortunate that you did not enjoy our Grilled Mediterranean Shrimp Linguine. We have advised Hard Rock International that the standardized worldwide recipe may not be suitable in this part of the world. Our local fans have different taste buds than European/American diners. We have also done a test on our buns made to order by local suppliers and have received positive results. Nevertheless, we will inform them of your comments. In addition, our imported patties from Australia have also received numerous compliments from regular Hard Rock Cafe diners. We believe that the patty served during dinner was not our typical approved standard. I hope this does not mar your expectation of Hard Rock Cafe's awesome and fun experience. Lastly, we also serve other pastas (depending weekly specials on rotation) that does not come with garlic toast a.k.a. HRC Hoagie Rolls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Rock Cafe Penang also viewed

Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 

Been to Hard Rock Cafe Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Cafe Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.