We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early Breakfast...Yes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helena's Cafe

Helena's Cafe
43B Jalan Batu Ferrenghi | opp Yahong Gallery, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
+60 16-464 5202
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $13
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, English, Nonya
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Mornington, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Early Breakfast...Yes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

It really was hard finding a place that had early breakfast because of Ramadan. Well Helen's Cafe provided the eggs and bacon we enjoyed for breakfast which was a treat. The host were very gracious and provided a nice send off for the day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    104
    36
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have eaten at Helena's for many years now and this last visit in July was one of the best. We had grandchildren with us and they loved the banana milkshakes and iced milo. Some family members enjoyed a hot pot ( an assortment of raw meat and vegetables cooked at the table in a hot soup broth)this time and it did not disappoint. From the traditional meals to western meals all are fresh and delicious and good value.
Thanks Theresa and Helena for your happy smiles and attentive service.
Marilyn and Russell Lloyd

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Hills, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Very nice and friendly service. Had some great curry good sized portions. . Prices reasonable. Recommended.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“We were the only customers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had previously eaten at the Living room café (it shares a "wall) The food was not as good, the service was sweet, the prices were good - however if the Living Room Café hadn't been filled to capacity we would have eaten there.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice curry, decent satay, skip the tandoor set”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and I were trying to decide whether to eat here or go to the Living Room for a second time. We stopped here and it was okay but not as good as their neighbor. We started with the beef satay which was tasty and tender although the peanut sauce was only okay (it could have been a little spicier. We also had a mutton curry that was excellent. It was spicy and with a generous portion for 20MR with rice. For our other main we had the chicken tandoor set. It was not very tasty. The vegetables (mostly onions) were quite spicy but the chicken wasn't too tasteful, kind of bland. The naan was flat and okay but not light and fluffy. We had iced lemon tea and pineapple juice both of which were nice and pretty reasonable at 3.5MR.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helena's Cafe also viewed

Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 

Been to Helena's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helena's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.