We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious curry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helena's Cafe

Helena's Cafe
43B Jalan Batu Ferrenghi | opp Yahong Gallery, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
0164645202
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese, English, Indian, Nonya
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Loved the curry. I was most impressed as they had made their curry from scratch. Not hot in flavour, but very flavoursome.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    97
    35
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
351 helpful votes 351 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We enjoyed a great evening meal here while spending a few hours in BF. The service was friendly and the menu was varied with excellent homemade meals. We enjoyed our soup, satay, captain fish and curry pawns, followed by a serving of banana fritters. All were very reasonably priced. The meals were carefully prepared in the back of the restaurant. Service was prompt and friendly and we were provided with wonderful recommendations. Throughout our meal, we were constantly attended to. In our opinion, this restaurant passed all the "look fors" to indicate a great place....promptly seated, order taken, drinks delivered quickly, amazing food, staff concern throughout the meal and thanking us as we walked out so very satisfied. This restaurant is by no means fancy. But who needs fancy when you can get great food at reasonable prices in a clean environment staffed by people who are truly concerned that you are enjoying yourself.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“For The best tasty food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just returned from Penang and we tried this restaurant as a result of their excellence awards and were not disappointed . The food was very fresh and tasty , the service very friendly and the meals there were faultless . We sampled both their Indian and Chinese dishes and loved them .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventnor, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very tasty curries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Visited Helenas 6 years ago, and the curries were great then, just revisited last week, and she did not let us down, chicken curries mutton curries Naan breads, and the best fresh pineapple drink I had on the holiday

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Indian owned cafe, so you get real bacon for breakfast. Had a two course evening meal for 3 which included Indian and Malay dishes for £25 that was good

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helena's Cafe also viewed

Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 

Been to Helena's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helena's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.