We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and now great friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Living Room Cafe Bar & Gallery

Living Room Cafe Bar & Gallery
43 C Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
+60174772148
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $14
Cuisines: Bar, Asian, Fusion, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and now great friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Once again, prompted by reviewers on this site we just had to check this place out - and aren't we glad. Our mains were Prawn Kapitan and Sweet & Sour Fish. My wife resisted pud but I had Banana pancake and ice cream. What can I say that hasn't been said already about the wonderful flavours they conjour up with good quality ingredients. And their coffee would teach some Italians a thing or two.The food alone was enough to give this place 5 Stars, but what really made our night were the so very amiable owners Amy, and her good natured husband Ben. You immdeditely get the feeling that they really want you you to enjoy everything, not just the food and your time in their restaurant, but also the time you spend in Penang.

We arrived as new customers, full of anticipation. We left happy, fulfilled and friends - and judging how busy the retausrant is each time we pass it, they have many friends.And, oh yes, the prices are very reasonable too.

James

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    227
    59
    22
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Living Room Cafe - Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We visited this restaurant based on the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not dissapointed. It was so good, we went back more than once during our stay. The salt and pepper squid and curry chicken were especially fantastic. The friendly service made us feel very comfortable and we were never rushed to finish our meals. The owner is a polite and hospitable lady who makes a great host and will recommend dishes to you. The restaurant is clean and the meals are very good value. We really enjoyed eating here and hope you will too.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Go there just for the Salt & Pepper Squid - it's the best in Penang!
Great atmosphere, delicious menu, Amy & Ben are so friendly and welcoming. And they have real bacon!
Make sure you visit and say hi.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amy is very amicable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Just got back from lovely meal - highly recommend Salt & Pepper Squid and chicken curry Kaptain - all on Amy's recommendations. Looking forward to pork ribs on Friday. Thanks Amy!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Laid back family run business. Serving good food at cheap prices.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We ate here twice. Had steamed fish and fried rice the first time and the second time opted for the owner's recommendation: salt and pepper squid and Thai style chicken. Both times we had the chicken satay as a starter. The staff are friendly and down to earth and new to the business. The food is good and great value. Portions are filling but not too big. One of the few places we found with a crowd.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Living Room Cafe Bar & Gallery also viewed

Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 

Been to Living Room Cafe Bar & Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Living Room Cafe Bar & Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.