We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocking good time at Hard Rock” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel Penang to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Rocking good time at Hard Rock”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Loved the Lagoon Deluxe room with just steps from the swimming pool. The adjacent Hard Rock Cafe was a great place to wind down and just chill. The staffs were among the friendliest and most efficient I have encountered. I could not fault anyone. Everyone served me and my 2 friends like doting friends. Checking in and out were a breeze.
My only gripe is with the extra bed for the 3rd person in my group. It was miles uncomfortable compared with the beds in the room. I would have preferred an actual triple room with stationary 3rd bed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    552
    220
    57
    31
See reviews for
652
406
44
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Went for 4 days short getaway to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. Environment was awesome and very friendly, check-in was a breeze and we were served with welcome drinks. They also gave a small birthday cake to us. I booked a Seaview Deluxe room, room was nice too. From deco to amenities, everything was as expected to be. I love the fact that it is a themed hotel. They always have activities going on which makes it fun for the guests. It suits every needs from couples to families. Very hard for you to get bored as there are always something to do. What blew us away was the service provided by the staff, it was exceptional. We went to Hard Rock Cafe for birthday dinner. I told one of the staff that it is my boyfriend's birthday and the only thing he asked me was his name. The next thing I know after we had dinner, they came with a slice of cheesecake and birthday dedication from the band. They even took our picture together, print with HRC frame and have it to us as souvenir. That's really thoughtful of them. Coming from service industry myself, I could really say hands down to the service team. Your people really makes the difference. Will definitely come again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipoh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Everything looked fine in this hotel but the hotel room not yet ready during our check in time.It was really terrible for a 5 stars hotel to have this mistake, not only me, i saw a lot traveller also waiting at the lobby side just for the room. I'm very dissappointed with this point.
Besides, there are not much choice for breakfast buffet.
I think they can improve more on this since we pay so much for a night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hardrockhotelpenang, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Jess,

Thank you for staying with us in December of last year and for your generally positive review, with exception to the wait on arrival or course.

December is our busiest month of the year which brings a swell of tourist numbers into Penang over this holiday period. As such hotels run at full occupancies, particularly ours as the most popular hotel on the island. Unfortunately this can delay check-in times should guests arrive early in the day, and I apologise for the hour wait on your arrival. Based on your reviewer name I am unable to find your booking to determine what time you arrived.

I am surpised that we did not meet your expectations in relation to our breakfast buffet options, possibly as a result of your assumption that we are 5 star. This is a common assumption from our guests based on our service, product, and overall experience when in fact we are a 4 star property.

Would be great if you could contact me at shane.coates@hardrockhotels.net with more information regarding your booking.

Thank you once again for choosing Hard Rock Penang and we hope to welcome you back to the show sometime in the near future.

Rockin' Regards

Shane Coates
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

It was an awesome experience to stay in this hotel. Great environment theoughtout the hotel. Room was excellent, we could just leap into the pool from our room! Staff are really friendly. Enjoy every minute at this hotel, we will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel 3 years ago within my honeymoon trip to malaysia, within our trip all hotels we stayed in were 5-star hotels except this one. but I have to stay it was better than 5-stars hotels with services, relaxation and location.
The hotel has a very big well designed pool. The location was great for shopping and close to many restaurants and spa centers.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
If I go back to malaysia again, this hotel will be the only one that I will think to stay in penang.

Room Tip: Rooms in sea side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Nice junior suite room. Although not as huge as expected, but it is perfect. The view is breathtakingly beautiful. Two thumbs up for the food!! Staffs are friendly and nice. Awesome swimming pool. Can enjoy the sunrise and sunset at the beach. Good place to be for a holiday.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We booked 2 rooms for 6 days in May 2014. I have read many negative comments about the staff, children and the noise at this resort after booking and found none of it to be true. We found the resort to be full of life with awesome staff who want to help you and make your stay rockin'. Darwin at the pool bar, Mel at the Rock Spa and Dzar (don't think I spelt that right) at concierge were exceptional and made our stay amazing. If you are looking for a private couple resort don't bother, but if you are looking for a fun resort where the staff care about your rockin' experience this is the place to be. Breakfast was great with lots of choices, kinda glad Starz was being refurbished as sitting by the pool was very relaxing and a great view. Thanks Hard Rock for an excellent experience.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the pool room it is worth it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Penang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the famous Batu Ferringhi Beach in Penang, Hard Rock Hotel Penang is a trendy hotel that sets itself apart from the conventional beach resort; blending rich music culture, contemporary design, and family friendly facilities. The 6-storey hotel boasts 250 rockin' rooms and suites, most of which feature beach frontage. The modern structure is completed with tastefully furnished bedrooms such as sensual guest bathrooms, Sleep Like a Rock(R) signature bed and modern in-room amenities. All rooms are fully equipped with DVD/CD players, 32-inch LCD TVs, iPod docking stations, complimentary Wi-Fi and wired connectivity and an interactive IPTV system. At the Hard Rock Hotel Penang, we serve rockin' food that is suitable for everyone; authentic American cuisine at the world famous Hard Rock Cafe, delicious Italian food at the Pizzeria and Asian and International cuisine at The Starz Diner. Hard Rock Hotel Penang features the largest free-form pool in Northern Malaysian. With a large play area, the pool is a hit with children. We provide facilities for everyone and plethora of fun activities and entertainment all day. Modern, non-traditional design and cutting-edge technology permeates Hard Rock's extensive indoor/outdoor meeting and event space. Anything from intimate private meetings in Penang to spectacular banquets that seats up to 300 guests, Hard Rock Hotel Penang provides extreme Rock Star service to ensure you a rockin' event success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Penang Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.