We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough Hotel.Excellent Staff.Could do with less Kid Rock and more Hard Rock please!.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel Penang to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Upgrade
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
646 helpful votes 646 helpful votes
“Nice enough Hotel.Excellent Staff.Could do with less Kid Rock and more Hard Rock please!.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed at Hard Rock Hotel Penang for one night on the occasion of my Girlfriend's birthday.

Popped into the Hard Rock Cafe for our lunch while we waited for our room to be ready. Although the Cafe is much smaller than others we have visited, the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Food was excellent -The twisted mac & cheese was much better than in KL.

Upon check-in,We were pleasantly surprised that the hotel had noted that this was a special occasion; Especially as the booking was made some time ago and not directly with them..
They kindly gave us an upgrade to a sea-view room, and they had even left a small birthday cake in the room for my partner. This was very much appreciated !

The room was spacious and clean. The bed was big and comfortable and the air-con worked perfectly. The bathroom had a big tub and also a great rain shower.Basic toiletries provided. Room had a balcony with a good view. Small refrigerator in the room stocked with drinks.
A DVD player was provided, and a Hifi with an iphone dock (sadly only for the older iphone 4).
The TV on the wall was playing up a bit. The remote was controlling some kind of IPTV box underneath and the volume function wasn't working.

The pool areas were nice, and we managed to have an enjoyable swim and a beer at the swim-up bar in the 'calm-before-the-storm-period' between one set of noisy kids checking out and another checking in... followed by a stroll along the beach - superb.

Hard Rock Hotel Penang definitely has some of the most friendly and attentive staff that I have experienced at any hotel. Top marks to all of them.Excellent job!......However, a friendly note to the outside Rock Shop staff: You do not need to describe in such detail every single item that we touch or merely glance at ... Let people browse,we can see what it is and if we like it then we will buy it. :)

Sad to say that the breakfast buffet was sub-standard. Err...Dry minced beef with garden peas in it (??!!) and no decent pastries. Room service food was excellent.

The Hard Rock franchise has suffered an identity crisis over the past few years, trying to cater for both families and the party crowd at the same time.... (HRC KL ceased being the best place to drink & party when they decked it out in red plastic like a McDonalds , started handing out balloon animals and letting noisy kids run around unsupervised).

This Hard Rock Hotel is no different. There were so many noisy & uncontrolled kids running around everywhere that it often seemed more like Fraggle Rock than Hard Rock.
Although I can understand that the family theme-park-crowd bring the money in, there really should be areas where adults and couples can get away from this racket, listen to some good music and enjoy a drink (eg: bar areas, chill-out areas)....
Consideration should also be given to allocating rooms to families with small kids next to other families with small kids ...I can assure you that nothing kills the Rock 'n' Rolling more than having a room with a connecting door to a room occupied by a family with screaming kids, or an apparent herd of elephants stampeding in the room above!!

We liked it here for a short stay. We loved the attentiveness off the staff and the thoughtfulness of the birthday gesture. We would definitely consider coming here again one day, especially if a few kid-free zones were introduced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    622
    236
    65
    33
See reviews for
738
446
46
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Location - Batu Feringghi, Penang. It's located on the opposite side of the island from the Airport. About 45-60 minutes away by car. Located on a stretch of coastal road tenanted by other international hotels, it is served by international chains like KFC, McDonalds etc nearby for less adventurous tourists, but has a large bustling nightlife in terms of middle eastern, western and local restaurants nearby.

Beach: The sand is not as fine as other beach destinations but is adequate with a lot of waterspouts available to try including parasailing etc. The sea had jellyfish so may not be suitable for swimming in, plus the sea is not crystal clear enough for snorkelling or scuba. That would easily be achieved by taking an island hopping boat available.

Pool - Has 3 slides and an activity area for kids, unusual for a Malaysian hotel, more akin to a dedicated theme waterpark. Has deeper areas for experienced swimmers.

Service - fantastic, it's obvious that the staff have been trained to cater for the most fussy client. Ask and you will get.

Room - also set up to a great standard. Large rooms. One side of the hotel will face the sea and the other side will face the beautiful mountain. Generally clean but I still found pockets of dust on cabinets etc. Had problems with a leak and non drainage of the bathtub but this was addressed by maintenance quickly.

Transport - the hotel staff can arrange this or you. No problem. Some tourists may be faced with cheeky taxi drivers not using their meters but if you earn in pounds or dollars it should only hurt your ego, not your wallet.

Overall - great experience. You will definitely not get anything close to this in Europe for the price you pay. Although it is a bit out of the way if you want to get to the city, it's a small price to pay considering the facilities you have at or near the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We took two pool-side rooms which meant the kids could flop out of bed into the full-length pool adjoining the building. They swam so much that the ' baby ' got muscle cramps from treading water so much. There's plenty of entertainment in the hotel and on the strip. I had a quiet room on the top floor away from the noise, or so I thought..so asked the Manager and the midnight party quietened down within a tick and received a nice apology letter from Management. Yes, We'd go again.

Room Tip: Rooms at East end further from the Lobby and kids pools are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Fantastic Hotel, stayed in a King Club Room, staff in the lounge are fantastic, had the best room cleaner ever, room was immuclate during our 10 day stay. Loved the atmosphere throughout the hotel's facilities, far enough from the madness of the Batu Ferringhi street market to not be bothered by it but close enough to walk to when you wanted to. Dissapointed with the food quality in the actual Hard Rock Cafe, not up to the standard we're used to at other HRC's.

Room Tip: Be aware the King's Club room are smoking room's, not sure why when you py a premium for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have nothing but praise for this hotel. Great service, great location, large pool and amazing facilities. We stayed during a very busy period with full occupancy yet the staff still provided first class service with a smile. It never felt like the hotel was crowded. The pool is huge so there's plenty of space for everyone.

Really like the relaxed atmosphere. It can be noisy for those looking for a relaxing getaway but if you're looking for a good time with loads of things to do at the hotel, this is the place.

Rooms are on the expensive side for hotels on the Ferringhi stretch but its worth it. Definitely staying here again. It's our go to hotel when visiting Penang.

Downsides?
The beach is nothing to shout about and room service food is sub-par for a hotel that got everything else right

Room Tip: If you're taking the pool villas, take the ones closer to the Rock Spa. It's more secluded t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My Husband and I spent 8 fantastic nights at Hard Rock Penang in a pool access room. The single goal of our holiday was to relax and not do too much. The room certainly enabled that! I would recommend the pool access rooms to anyone considering Hard Rock Penang - they are definitely worth the extra money. Only half of the rooms have access to the swim up pool bar - we had a room that was in the other pool, which initially I was disappointed about but soon came to discover how busy the swim up pool bar was and was happy to be in the different pool.

Hard Rock Penang is a little out of the main area (5 minute walk) but certainly not far till you approach the many restaurants and markets on the main road. There is some very cheap places to eat with very good food (3 different dishes, rice, 4 drinks approx. $25AUD), definitely try Helenas - one of my favourites.

We did very little exploring in Penang, but spent most of the time in the hotel. Was nice to spend the day laying around the pool, then heading into the town in the evening for dinner and a few drinks and then coming back to HR to watch the bands play with a couple of cocktails.

Apart from breakfast and room service, we did not eat in the hotel. Breakfast was very crowded every morning and there didn't seem to be enough room. My only criticism would be that there was no real "egg station" - the chefs behind the counter would cook something if you requested it and there didn't seem to be any order to this. Apart from that which is so minor - we had a fabulous stay. Hard Rock is one of the newer hotels in Penang and appears they are already revamping. Several of the pool access rooms had workers ripping them apart while we were there. Hard Rock are synonymous with fun, and they certainly didn't disappoint.

Room Tip: If your budget permits, go for a pool access room. If you want swim up pool access, request this wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Reception
A busy and noisy reception area, modern and with a band playing every night

Room
Booked the King Club Room and stated non-smoking a few months ago, not until I booked the car a week before I checked in, I was told that the King Club Floor is a smoking floor (how come!). But luckily Magdeline, the manager of the booking center has sorted it out for us and we were on a non-smoking floor but still with club access! The room is bright with a nice pool view and ocean view . Spacious and new!

Pool
The worst part of the hotel. The "sands" pool and sands floor by the pool is not very good! The sands are quite coarse and you feel very uncomfortable to walk on it. Same for the sands pool. We understand that kids like sands but that could be more well designed, perhaps a designated sands area and those who doesn't like to walk on the sand can have some other path to walk on. Their current design is you must walk on the sands!! Event though if you want to go the spa, you did not swim but you still need to walk on the sand to get to the spa.

Breakfast area
We have King Club access and had breakfast there on the first day and found that not much choices there and not too many people have breakfast there. The milk and juice are not chilled and the congee has turned cold. We then had breakfast at the dining area on G/F, it was a bit hassle there but with more choice on food. The chef there made much better omelette!! However not a pleasant place to dine at

Housekeeping guys did a great job in cleaning up our room everyday!

If you are looking for a quiet place, don't choose this hotel as on the weekend we can still hear the band playing at midnight from our room. I personally is fine with the band as it gives a lively atmosphere!
And the songs and singers are all very good!

King Club Lounge
The canapés at the evening cocktail are fine but the taste of the cocktail are not very good !

Generally a good hotel to stay at!


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Penang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the famous Batu Ferringhi Beach in Penang, Hard Rock Hotel Penang is a trendy hotel that sets itself apart from the conventional beach resort; blending rich music culture, contemporary design, and family friendly facilities. The 6-storey hotel boasts 250 rockin' rooms and suites, most of which feature beach frontage. The modern structure is completed with tastefully furnished bedrooms such as sensual guest bathrooms, Sleep Like a Rock(R) signature bed and modern in-room amenities. All rooms are fully equipped with DVD/CD players, 32-inch LCD TVs, iPod docking stations, complimentary Wi-Fi and wired connectivity and an interactive IPTV system. At the Hard Rock Hotel Penang, we serve rockin' food that is suitable for everyone; authentic American cuisine at the world famous Hard Rock Cafe, delicious Italian food at the Pizzeria and Asian and International cuisine at The Starz Diner. Hard Rock Hotel Penang features the largest free-form pool in Northern Malaysian. With a large play area, the pool is a hit with children. We provide facilities for everyone and plethora of fun activities and entertainment all day. Modern, non-traditional design and cutting-edge technology permeates Hard Rock's extensive indoor/outdoor meeting and event space. Anything from intimate private meetings in Penang to spectacular banquets that seats up to 300 guests, Hard Rock Hotel Penang provides extreme Rock Star service to ensure you a rockin' event success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Penang Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.