We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent beachside hotel with the facilities to enjoy... Just doesn't feel like a hard rock hotel enough.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hard Rock Hotel Penang to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Singapore
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A decent beachside hotel with the facilities to enjoy... Just doesn't feel like a hard rock hotel enough.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Came to this hotel for a 2-night resort stay. The service is generally very good with their staff going out their way to make the stay comfortable. Service as they may provide, it did seem at times that they are a bit exhausted for their effort. Didn't have that "Hard Rock" service feel, more of a typical unexceptional service feel.

The rooms were of a decent-size with comfortable beds and tea-and-coffee facilities. Despite earlier reviews that it can get a bit boisterous at night when the band get going, the double-glazed (I think) balcony doors did a good job insulating the music outside. I suspect the previous reviewer had left the balcony doors opened to hear the waves, thus the music became an issue.

I have a minor gripe over the shower facilities. It can get quite irritating when it is difficult to fix the shower at a certain temperature. It came to a point where it was either too hot or too cold. Clearly the plumbing's a bit aged to have this issue.

The swimming pools have three water slides and a water playground. It kept my girl engaged for a few hours.

Security-wise, the hotel had enough alert staff around and a restricted lift access system to give the guests a peace-of-mind during their stay there.

Another gripe about the hotel is that it is a bit far from the night markets, despite the hotel guide stating that its a 5-min walk. Realistically it was about 10-12 min walk, more hazardous when done at night. Not recommended for families. Didn't try to take the public bus as I wasn't sure how regular it would be.

Overall, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    521
    213
    54
    31
See reviews for
625
383
40
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Helpful check-in staff who went out of his way to find us a room that we wanted (sea-facing with bath-tub, king bed, non smoking) Haha sorry we were going to be spending lots of time in the room so we wanted a room that we reallyreally like. Most staff were helpful and friendly, it felt like they were all friends!

We arrived around 12pm, and were immediately given a room, even though check-in was supposed to be around 3 i think.

The room was great, quite big which was a surprise because I really expected their rooms to be smaller, lol. Room was clean and the toiletries were all yummy smelling.

Lil Rock was quite fun (although I have to add, I think their staff here should wear more proper clothes... as in maybe longer shorts?? I could see the buttcheeks of one of the staff ... major eeeew! I took my kids out once I saw that!)

We ordered room service on our last day .... the ribs were SO good!

Pool was fun, my kids loved it. The sand made our legs feel really itchy though, I don't know why ... but overall it was fun.

My only complaint is that it's a bit far from the airport and city centre.

I will so return to HRH if we visit Penang again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Really love this hotel.!!. Love the smell of the place, staffs are so friendly and helpful.
The poolside rooms were best thing of ths hotel.
Kids enjoyed the stay as well as adults. Will always recommend this hotel to anyone..
My special hearfelt thanx to the bar manager Mr. Nathan and kenny, for their hospitality.
You guys really rocked our stay in HR hotel! Will definately come back here..

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Very nice stay in the hotel, from the reception to the spa... All the places we were treated very professionally by all... Only one disappointment thar when i sent my kids to the kids club called lil'rock, i was not much satisfied with their staff appearance because even their job is to look at kids, i feel they should be wearing more decent clothes. The moment i noticed that they were with their hanky panky shorts which makes some of them not professional, my impression towards their professionalism changed. All over the hotel, were very decent n rocking but in the name of rock, those lil'rock staffs are being very unpleasant with that attire. Overall, hotel was good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had booked to stay at this hotel for a week but stayed only 3 nights, transferring with the help of both the Hard Rock's reception team and our booking agents Hotels.com to the simply lovely, no perfect for the relaxing we desire Westin Hotel & Resort, LangKawi. Let me explain, if you like music blasting out all day whilst huddled around a relatively small set of pools then this hotel will be good for you! Internally the hotel and rooms are clean, trendy and of a good quality, staff are young and energetic and food is simple but tasty. In summary, we would say this is a good weekend away, let your hair down hotel (for couples under 35). One last point, there's not a lot to do in Penang, I would even go so far as to say it's a bit grubby!

Room Tip: To not hear the loud both daytime and until late night music 3rd or 4th floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Had a pleasant stay at Lagoon Deluxe room. Room is cleaned, no problem with any cleanliness issue in the room. The direct access to 1.4m pool is superb. Staffs are friendly with smiley face. Easy access to the beach. Breakfast is ok. My brother paid half I paid for hill view room with same size of room, if u do not need direct access to the pool, save money by choosing other room types.
Overall, everyone is happy with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there with hubby and my two sons in the lil rock suite. Room is very clean and spacious, though I find the bathroom a bit small. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast selection was good. The first morning we were being ushered to the pizzeria to have our breakfast. The second morning we had it at the restaurant. Both location were good. Definitely going to return if we were to visit Penang again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Penang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the famous Batu Ferringhi Beach in Penang, Hard Rock Hotel Penang is a trendy hotel that sets itself apart from the conventional beach resort; blending rich music culture, contemporary design, and family friendly facilities. The 6-storey hotel boasts 250 rockin' rooms and suites, most of which feature beach frontage. The modern structure is completed with tastefully furnished bedrooms such as sensual guest bathrooms, Sleep Like a Rock(R) signature bed and modern in-room amenities. All rooms are fully equipped with DVD/CD players, 32-inch LCD TVs, iPod docking stations, complimentary Wi-Fi and wired connectivity and an interactive IPTV system. At the Hard Rock Hotel Penang, we serve rockin' food that is suitable for everyone; authentic American cuisine at the world famous Hard Rock Cafe, delicious Italian food at the Pizzeria and Asian and International cuisine at The Starz Diner. Hard Rock Hotel Penang features the largest free-form pool in Northern Malaysian. With a large play area, the pool is a hit with children. We provide facilities for everyone and plethora of fun activities and entertainment all day. Modern, non-traditional design and cutting-edge technology permeates Hard Rock's extensive indoor/outdoor meeting and event space. Anything from intimate private meetings in Penang to spectacular banquets that seats up to 300 guests, Hard Rock Hotel Penang provides extreme Rock Star service to ensure you a rockin' event success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Penang Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.