We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My best vaction 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hard Rock Hotel Penang to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Retune Package
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My best vaction 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Really love this hotel.!!. Love the smell of the place, staffs are so friendly and helpful.
The poolside rooms were best thing of ths hotel.
Kids enjoyed the stay as well as adults. Will always recommend this hotel to anyone..
My special hearfelt thanx to the bar manager Mr. Nathan and kenny, for their hospitality.
You guys really rocked our stay in HR hotel! Will definately come back here..

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    531
    215
    54
    31
See reviews for
630
391
40
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Very nice stay in the hotel, from the reception to the spa... All the places we were treated very professionally by all... Only one disappointment thar when i sent my kids to the kids club called lil'rock, i was not much satisfied with their staff appearance because even their job is to look at kids, i feel they should be wearing more decent clothes. The moment i noticed that they were with their hanky panky shorts which makes some of them not professional, my impression towards their professionalism changed. All over the hotel, were very decent n rocking but in the name of rock, those lil'rock staffs are being very unpleasant with that attire. Overall, hotel was good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had booked to stay at this hotel for a week but stayed only 3 nights, transferring with the help of both the Hard Rock's reception team and our booking agents Hotels.com to the simply lovely, no perfect for the relaxing we desire Westin Hotel & Resort, LangKawi. Let me explain, if you like music blasting out all day whilst huddled around a relatively small set of pools then this hotel will be good for you! Internally the hotel and rooms are clean, trendy and of a good quality, staff are young and energetic and food is simple but tasty. In summary, we would say this is a good weekend away, let your hair down hotel (for couples under 35). One last point, there's not a lot to do in Penang, I would even go so far as to say it's a bit grubby!

Room Tip: To not hear the loud both daytime and until late night music 3rd or 4th floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Had a pleasant stay at Lagoon Deluxe room. Room is cleaned, no problem with any cleanliness issue in the room. The direct access to 1.4m pool is superb. Staffs are friendly with smiley face. Easy access to the beach. Breakfast is ok. My brother paid half I paid for hill view room with same size of room, if u do not need direct access to the pool, save money by choosing other room types.
Overall, everyone is happy with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there with hubby and my two sons in the lil rock suite. Room is very clean and spacious, though I find the bathroom a bit small. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast selection was good. The first morning we were being ushered to the pizzeria to have our breakfast. The second morning we had it at the restaurant. Both location were good. Definitely going to return if we were to visit Penang again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Is a fun place to stay, we paid the extra for lagoon room away from main entrance and glad we did for a little peace and quiet. There is a lot of families which adds a nice buzz but nice to get a quiet part of the pool.

First Hard Rock experience rooms are large and clean. Shower is awesome bed is super comfy. In room dining was tasty for lazy lunches and 15 minute walk from centre of restaurants and night markets.

Stayed 4 nights and felt plenty to explore the area. If you can get a good deal and skip school holidays think the winner along this strip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our family of four stayed in a Lil Rock Suite for three nights. Early June was a hectic period and it got a while before we were able to get into the room. Having said that, we were early and they managed to have it ready before the stipulated 3pm. Still we appreciated the effort by the reception to arrange for us to have refreshment at Starz Diner while waiting.

Room : Room was nice and clean. My two kids loved the part of "their" room which housed their beds where they could also find Playstation, books and stuff toys. Our minibar fridge was not working, and they quickly got it replaced with another.

Breakfast : I read from earlier reviews about the breakfast, Though it did not have a heavy spread and there were few changes everyday, I would say that it was good and it has a good mix of local and western choices.

Accessibility : The only drawback I would say of the hotel is that it is less accessible to the main buzz of Batu Ferringhi which is the stretch between Golden Sand and Holiday Inn hotels, where you would find the night market and various F&B choices. To get there, one could either walk, take a bus (101 or 102 - which bus-stop is in front of HRH) or take the Hard Rock Cafe shuttle van which runs every half hour from 6.30pm.

Travelling to/fro the airport : We boarded a "white taxi" which we paid RM74 at a counter at the airport. The taxi fare from the hotel to the airport was agreed at RM70.

Taxi : Drivers do not use the meter. All were agreed before the trip. Examples - Gurney to HRH @ RM30; Komtar to HRH @ RM35; Penang Hill to HRH @ RM50.
If you do not use taxis, you could take bus 101 to Georgetown. Adult fare would be RM2,70 and there is concession for children.

Overall, it is a good stay and we hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Penang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the famous Batu Ferringhi Beach in Penang, Hard Rock Hotel Penang is a trendy hotel that sets itself apart from the conventional beach resort; blending rich music culture, contemporary design, and family friendly facilities. The 6-storey hotel boasts 250 rockin' rooms and suites, most of which feature beach frontage. The modern structure is completed with tastefully furnished bedrooms such as sensual guest bathrooms, Sleep Like a Rock(R) signature bed and modern in-room amenities. All rooms are fully equipped with DVD/CD players, 32-inch LCD TVs, iPod docking stations, complimentary Wi-Fi and wired connectivity and an interactive IPTV system. At the Hard Rock Hotel Penang, we serve rockin' food that is suitable for everyone; authentic American cuisine at the world famous Hard Rock Cafe, delicious Italian food at the Pizzeria and Asian and International cuisine at The Starz Diner. Hard Rock Hotel Penang features the largest free-form pool in Northern Malaysian. With a large play area, the pool is a hit with children. We provide facilities for everyone and plethora of fun activities and entertainment all day. Modern, non-traditional design and cutting-edge technology permeates Hard Rock's extensive indoor/outdoor meeting and event space. Anything from intimate private meetings in Penang to spectacular banquets that seats up to 300 guests, Hard Rock Hotel Penang provides extreme Rock Star service to ensure you a rockin' event success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Tingo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Penang Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.