We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard Rock Relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel Penang to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hard Rock Relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

An excelllent hotel right on the beach with good facilities and excellent live music.Staff very welcoming especially on club level which was worth paying extra for. Our host Johan was extremely efficient, warm and helpful. A good relaxing choice!

Room Tip: Choose the Club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    552
    220
    57
    31
See reviews for
652
406
44
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

First time visit & enjoyed every single moment at there. i had a great sweet memories & unforgettable of my birthday celebration with my lovely hubby. Staff was always very friendly, helpful and efficient. The hotel was clean, room is comfortable, really cool to stay. Excellent!!!
Would defiantly come back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Was there in Feb 2013 for a company's retreat.
Room is comfortable with twin bed, however there is no bathtub. If you opt for double bed, then it comes with a bathtub. Most of the room have a connecting door.
Breakfast selection is quite a spread.
Location was great, relaxing at the beach front and the swimming was fantastic.
There is a shuttle bus to bring you to town too.

Room Tip: Opt for room side by side as there is a connecting door to link both room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Wonderful experience with awesome view of the pool and sea!! Food was acceptable, pool, rooms, spa, lobby are all clean and beautiful with modern decor theme! No regret staying in Hard Rock Penang, a rocking theme hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Booked the Lil' Rock Suite with courtyard that has separate bunk beds for kids.
1. Official check-in 3pm. When we arrived early at 2.30pm we were ok that room not ready so off we went our 2 kids for lunch. But when we returned an hour later, room was still not ready. Rooms were also not ready for many other guests that were checking-in.

2. 15 mins after we got into room, the air-con for suite 146 starting raining water. We called desperately to front desk n housekeeping for assistance. The entire room foyer was wet...
At least the maintenance managed to fix the problem in 20mins or so. Duty Manager Celine was very professional in handling the matter. Thank goodness.

3. The courtyard was miserable. The furniture have not been cleaned for goodness know how long. A pity since we paid for the courtyard n never got to sit out there since the chairs n tables are way to dirty n there's so much birds feather and dirt on the ground.

4. Bedroom was all acceptable n the kids bunk bed is a separate enclosed area was nice. Table n chairs need to b included in the room coz we only have a beanbag for all of us to sit on.

5. Housekeeping team seems stretched. On my second day, my room was cleaned only at 5pm after I called to check. And they didn't replenish the towels which is a challenge given we have 2 adults n 2 kids. On third day, my room was cleaned only at 12-plus after I called them at 11.15am to check why the room is still not cleaned. When I requested for a complete set of towels for all of us, was told that they have run out. Not too sure how that's possible since all the rooms to check out at noon would not have been cleaned yet.

My last stay was in July 2011. Hotel then was relatively new. It was definitely a more pleasant stay then. Other than the wonderful pool n slides for my kids, no reason for me to want to go back n stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hardrockhotelpenang, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Jen,

Thank you for staying with us once again and I regret that we did not deliver the same experience as your previous stay.

I apologise for the slight delay with your Lil Rock Suite on arrival, and then subsequent inconvenience with the air-conditioning issues. We made some garden improvements to the courtyards that day and it appears in the haste to have your room ready was not cleaned thoroughly. In addition we have ordered some replacement courtyard furniture to replace the existing which has stated to discolour with this area being open to all elements. I trust you enjoyed the complimentary access we provided your family to the Kings Club for your entire stay as a gesture of good will.

Regardless of peak season, if you had indicated to us to service your room in the morning then this should have been done so I will look into this. As part of our Room Environmental Policy we do indicate in the bathrooms to leave your towels hanging if you wish to re-use. Our staff though responded with incorrect towelling information so I apologise for this.

I appreciate your suggestions for additional furniture in the room for seating, as you know there is limited space however we will re-look at this feasibility again.

Thank you again and if you do consider returning, please don’t hesitate in contacting me directly and I’ll personally see to your booking ensuring a much better experience.

Rockin’ Regards

Shane Coates
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The checking in process was smooth and within half an hour, we were already in the room exploring the gadgets there.
The deluxe room I got was spacious n clean. The mattress is firm but the pillows can be firmer. Nonetheless, the hotel is an excellent place to park the kids. The spa is excellent too. Spent a bomb though but it is simply relaxing. Makes working hard all year round worthwhile.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We booked directly through the hotel website and got a good deal, including breakfast (buffet, amazing!) with our room. In general we found the staff and facilities to be excellent.

However, we arrived on a Sunday and it was completely swarming with young, noisy children. Fair enough, it's a family hotel, but few parents were doing much to control their kids and the staff didn't do anything either. This including children screaming in the corridors at midnight.

If you're not travelling with young kids avoid the weekends. The hotel could definitely do more to designate 'adult' areas, for example the bar. Trying to relax with a drink is difficult with unsupervised children running around everywhere.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hardrockhotelpenang, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for recently staying with us and comments pertaining to your stay.

I am pleased that you took advantage of the best deals we have on offer via our website and overall enjoyed our facilities, breakfast, and service from the team.

We are family friendly at Hard Rock Penang although we do cater for all age groups. During your stay though you were clearly exposed more to the family aspect with the Singapore School Holidays falling in this week.

We do have a number of quieter areas around the resort for peace and tranquillity such as the southern end of our pool, Rock Spa Gardens, and Kings Club Lounge, amongst other areas. Our Hard Rock Cafe is also a kids free zone after dinner period when our live band kicks off till the early hours.

We are indeed a popular hotel during the Malaysian and Singapore school holiday periods. Hopefully you can make it back again outside school breaks for an experience more to your expectations.

Rockin’ Regards

Shane Coates
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Penang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the famous Batu Ferringhi Beach in Penang, Hard Rock Hotel Penang is a trendy hotel that sets itself apart from the conventional beach resort; blending rich music culture, contemporary design, and family friendly facilities. The 6-storey hotel boasts 250 rockin' rooms and suites, most of which feature beach frontage. The modern structure is completed with tastefully furnished bedrooms such as sensual guest bathrooms, Sleep Like a Rock(R) signature bed and modern in-room amenities. All rooms are fully equipped with DVD/CD players, 32-inch LCD TVs, iPod docking stations, complimentary Wi-Fi and wired connectivity and an interactive IPTV system. At the Hard Rock Hotel Penang, we serve rockin' food that is suitable for everyone; authentic American cuisine at the world famous Hard Rock Cafe, delicious Italian food at the Pizzeria and Asian and International cuisine at The Starz Diner. Hard Rock Hotel Penang features the largest free-form pool in Northern Malaysian. With a large play area, the pool is a hit with children. We provide facilities for everyone and plethora of fun activities and entertainment all day. Modern, non-traditional design and cutting-edge technology permeates Hard Rock's extensive indoor/outdoor meeting and event space. Anything from intimate private meetings in Penang to spectacular banquets that seats up to 300 guests, Hard Rock Hotel Penang provides extreme Rock Star service to ensure you a rockin' event success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Penang Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.