We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hated the flat in room safes !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Save Saved
You added Hard Rock Hotel Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Orbitz.com
and 11 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Room Only Deal
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hated the flat in room safes !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here for three nights with our 3 kids ( 5,8,10 ). Booked interconnecting rooms and upon check in was upgraded to seaview rooms. Rooms were nice and quite spacious for our kids to run around, Nice bathrooms too.
Hotel was busy and crowded as it was the beginning of school holidays. Buffet breakfast crowd was the regular Malaysian scene. Lots of food choices and not the boring stuff we found when we go overseas.Friendly and helpful staff everywhere.
This hotel is definitely not for those who seek a quiet holiday and it suits our kids perfectly. They loved the swimming pool which has a watery playground with 3 slides and sand bottomed pools.
Overall I am happy with the hotel except for the small flat safes that they have in the rooms. It could not contain my dslr camera so i had to lug my camera around all the time, even when we went down to the swimming pool. We cant leave it unattended and it somewhat spoils our time. It's no wonder that we see so many people taking pictures with their dslrs around the pool. Ha! Ha! Btw, hotel guest just need to flash their room key cards and get free entrance to Hard Rock Cafe to see the live band which starts performing at 10.30pm.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on higher floors well away from Hard Rock Cafe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    494
    427
    189
    48
    28
See reviews for
531
328
37
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

we had been traveling around s.e asia and were looking forward to a nice relaxing break in Penang...
When we turned up at the hotel my heart sank. It was absolutely crowded, mostly with kids running around screaming. The reception area was also very packed, both with hotel guests and visitor coming to see the 'Hard Rock' hotel. The breakfast was very busy and crowded so we upgraded to the Kings club breakfast, which is much better and you have a nice view. It was a struggle to find a sunbed around the pool for a family of four, and there are no sunbeds on the beaches (apparently it is not allowed in Malaysia - something i was unaware of) so you have no option but to sit round the pool. We found the grassy area to be a bit quieter, but again there was a problem that there was so many trees youd struggle to find sun, and then if you closed your eyes for a minute you'd wake up with bits of tree and bird cr*p on you!! Also, they have lunch time entertainment where the staff boom loud music and put on a cringe worthy show..dancing around the pool to cheesy music trying to get everyone involved...not the relaxing holiday i was hoping for!!

other than that the rooms were nice and clean..nice bathroom and nice shower. think this hotel is more made for families with lots of energy to run around screaming...not a family who wants to relax and have peace and quiet...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

It's was my 1st time to this hotel though have heard very much of this Hard Rock Hotel. It's a renovated hotel with new brand name. Some old furnitures still intact in the room eventhough with interesting decoration of rock stars! Have a good beach & a cool pool! Nothing really special but they have friendly staffs. If you stay here, must get into the Hard Rock Cafe with good live band.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed in Oct 12, with my young family (6/9yo boys) on a pay 5 stay 7 deal with breakfast. Also got a free upgrade to a seaview deluxe room. Having heard about the on-going music, we requested two interconnecting rooms as far away from the lobby as possible, which allowed us to cope pretty well with the nightly bands. The interconnecting rooms were large and modern, with a nice view of the pool and the beach. Beds were very comfortable, we had a king size double, and the kids both had king singles.

Breakfast was pretty good, with the usual asian fare, as well as indian! . My kids loved having chicken nuggets/samosas/curry for breakfast. No bacon to speak of, the turkey bacon(?) was not to my liking, and the omletes/eggs weren't the best either, but plenty of fresh fruit etc.

The pools are fantastic for all ages. The water slides were hugely popular with my kids, as well as many adults. The water park is great also. There is plenty of room away from the main section of the pool for people to get away from the noise and children if required. My two boys spent 5-6 hrs each day in the pool. There plenty of other activities on offer as well. Volleyball in the pool was popular. The beach is relatively clean, water quality was OK, but don't expect crystal clear seas. Hardly any surf, which suited our young children.

Beach activities: HKM water sports seems to have the monopoly at this end of Ferringhi. We hired a jetski for 30 min(150 MYR), no problem with sharing it amongst the entire family. My wife and 2 young boys went parasailing(150MYR ea). I was impressed with the safety measures that HRM took. An "instructor" went with everyone to make sure the beach landing was safe. I would happily recommend HRM, not only for the resonable prices, but they did not hassle us with a hard sell, just explained what they offered, and let us get back to them when we were ready.

The pools bar(s) had lots of happy hour promotions, usually 2 for 1 offers. Service around the pool was good, prices aren't too bad either.

We hired a taxi to do some sight seeing around Penang. George Town, Reclining Budda, Fort Cornwallis, Penang Hill, and across the ferry to Butterworth then back to Batu Feeringhi. 30 MYR per hour, which was very good value. Contact either MR Choo (016 452 5737), or Mr Ho (016 490 4756). They both have very good knowledge of all the sights, and have very clean new taxis.

The night markets down the road offer the usual shirts/watches/DVD etc. The nearby Lone Pine hawker centre has lots of cuisine choices, all pretty cheap. One disadvantage to staying at the far end of Ferringhi Beach is the lack of ATM's. There are 2 located opposite the Shangri-la Hotel, about a 10 MYR taxi ride from the HRH. One is at the bank on the corner, the other is inside the small 7/11 store behind the bank. These are very popular, and if you find yourself short of cash, especially on a weekend, it can be a problem. The ATM's don't get topped up on weekends, and are often closed due lack of funds. We were lucky at the 7/11, but the machine only allows 30 notes the be dispensed at one time, with the largest bill being a 10 ringit note. Cash up Fri morning is my advice.

Monkey Beach: This seems a popular day trip for most visitors. Boat trip, fishing, BBQ lunch, a couple of hours at Monkey Beach: 350 MYR. If you are not too fussed about fishing and the BBQ, a cheaper less time consuming option is the bus. Catch bus 101 from outside the HRH to the national park entrance (1.40 MYR for adults) It takes about 15 min. Got to the rangers office near the bus stop and register, it is free. You can then walk through the park to Monkey beach (takes about 1.5 hrs). Alternatively, directly opposite the rangers office, you can hire a boat to take you to Monkey beach (about 15 min), they wait about an hour for you to have a look around, then back to the rangers office. Costs 80 MYR for the entire boat which would cater for around 10 pax. To be honest, it's not worth it. The beach is nice, but there aren't that many monkeys, and they can be agressive and angry. Don't get too close!

Overall, a great family holiday and the HRH is a fantastic place to take your family, with plenty to keep young kids occupied, while you lounge by the pool with a few drinks.

Room Tip: If travelling with a younger family, interconnecting rooms allow you to have your own space. The del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We bought a groupon deal with 3 days 2 nights seaview room, 30 mins foot massage and breakfast and it's our very first hard rock hotel experience.

Service - people are really friendly there..always ready to assist in anyway...
Room - clean with nice decoration. But no bath tub in the toilet. Bed is comfortable. We expected a bigger room though.
Hard Rock cafe - nice experience
Swimming pool - awesome place for kids...but can be noisy as from the room you can hear their excitement
Food - better to go out and eat as it's really not that nice. Breakfast - variety is there but it's really hotel food - nothing to shout about
Hard Rock shop - we love this...and for those who dont know..check out their website and print the coupons to get some discounts

Have a rocking day !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hardrockhotelpenang, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Rachel,

Thank you for staying with us and for your positive review. Am pleased you managed to take advantage of the super Groupon deal we recently ran.

Just to inform you for future reference, we do have a number of rooms in each category with bathtubs in the bathroom which we can provide on request if available.

Thank you once again and hopefully we see you again soon at the Hard Rock Hotel Penang.

Rockin' Regards,

Shane Coates
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langwarrin, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I so looked forward to staying at this hotel as I had booked a lagoon room. Yes, it was very hand to step out of your room and into the pool without having to walk through a hotel lobby.

However, being next to the pool has its disadvantages. Everyday water seeped through the floor tiles closest to the decking area, not just a little but quite a lot. Consequently the room smelt damp and musty all the time.

The bathroom was tiny, not big enough for 2 people to get into at the same time. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable too. Did I mention the noise? Each day there seemed to be some activity or live band playing in the open air and they only know one volume - too loud. It was so loud the music and singing was distorted and you couldn't even tell what the song was. Someone please tell me when irritating house music became hard rock?

I wasn't impressed with breakfast either. Nothing special just average food. They put coffee pots on the tables when they open up for brekkie, so that when you pour it is already stone cold, then they only provide teaspoons to the inside eating area and not the outside - why is that?

Never again will I visit a Hard Rock Hotel, next year I will be returning to the Parkroyal Hotel half a klick up the road.

Room Tip: If you want one of the lagoon rooms with the bigger decking then ask for room 110, but like I said b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hardrockhotelpenang, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Neil,

Thank you for recently staying with us and regret to hear of your unsatisfactory stay for the first time via Tripadvisor. We continue to encourage guests to bring to our attention any concerns whilst in-house so we have the opportunity to address them with you personally and hopefully turn things around.

After reading your review we immediately investigated the issue relating to the water seeping through near the deck area of you Lagoon room as this is certainly not common. We found the problem to be isolated to this room and have since rectified.

I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations regarding the comfortability of our beds. They happen to be new and the same as what Starwood Hotels & Resorts use in all their Sheraton's, Westin's, and W Hotels worldwide. We also supply 2 types of pillows per room, micro gel and duck down along with 300 thread count linen.

Have also looked into your comments with Breakfast and have addressed with our Director of Food & Beverage.

As for the music, we have daily vibe dances at 2pm poolside where we encourage guests and kids to join our team in some fun dances along to a few songs that tend to go for about 15 minutes. Apart from this there we had no other live band performances open air during your stay. We do have our regular live band performances in our lobby from 7.45pm to 10.30pm Friday, Saturday, and Sunday nights and quality of sound is always controlled.

Again I apologise we weren't able to deliver the memorable experience on this occasion that we are re-known for. Should you be willing to give us another try again in the future, please don't hesitate in contacting me directly and I will personally see to your booking.

Warm regards

Shane Coates
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

All staffs is welcoming me while I stepped into the lobby when I was preparing for checking in. Although my wife & me was wearing a casual attire, jeans with t-shirt & Kelly was wearing a short pants with old t-shirt. A Indian bell boy who I forgotten to ask his name, he still greeting me & said that 'how can I help you sir?'..... It really warm our heart.

At night, we both stayed in the room enjoying a bottle of white wine 'Terra Antina' that ordered through room service. The time is already 9pm, we both sat at the pool side outside our room, drink wine & chit chatting, talked heart to heart. It has been long time we don't have a great time like this after marriage since 2010. Our son, Justice Chee age 19 months, we planned to bring him along next trip on 2013. Let him has a great holiday before he begin his studying in Tenby International School.

Rock On! All the best!

Room Tip: Lagoon Deluxe is the best enough for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Penang Batu Ferringhi
Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Penang 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock Hotel Penang is a luxury resort situated along the famous beaches of Batu Ferringhi. Located in the Pearl of Orient, Hard Rock Hotel Penang is iconic, bringing the multicultural Penang to new heights with its authentic Hard Rock experience. This hip and trendy resort in Penang is suitable for families, couples and singles for their relaxing accommodation in Penang. With a total of 250 guestrooms, there is nowhere more luxurious than Hard Rock Hotel Penang to spend your holiday. With a contemporary feel, all rooms are well-designed with guests in mind. With Wi-Fi connections, iPod docking stations and 32-inch LCD screen TVs, you can stay connected with your loved ones and be entertained 24 hours. For dining in Penang, Hard Rock is synonymous with music, good fun and entertainment …… and Hard Rock Hotel Penang offers a plethora of options to entertain all and to have fun! Anything from intimate private meetings in Penang to spectacular banquets for up to 300 guests, meeting planners will receive extreme Rock Star service and an event everyone will be talking about. The walls in the Hard Rock Hotel Penang are adorned with images, and over 550 pieces of authentic memorabilia and icons reflecting the revolution that changed the face of music, fashion and arts. It's a celebration of popular culture from the 50's through the new millennium. Its fun atmosphere and clean, modern lines make this the ultimate rock retreat for all! Come to Hard Rock Hotel Penang and feel like a star! It is all about the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.