We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all round resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Save Saved
You added Hard Rock Hotel Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Albury
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great all round resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed in Oct 12, with my young family (6/9yo boys) on a pay 5 stay 7 deal with breakfast. Also got a free upgrade to a seaview deluxe room. Having heard about the on-going music, we requested two interconnecting rooms as far away from the lobby as possible, which allowed us to cope pretty well with the nightly bands. The interconnecting rooms were large and modern, with a nice view of the pool and the beach. Beds were very comfortable, we had a king size double, and the kids both had king singles.

Breakfast was pretty good, with the usual asian fare, as well as indian! . My kids loved having chicken nuggets/samosas/curry for breakfast. No bacon to speak of, the turkey bacon(?) was not to my liking, and the omletes/eggs weren't the best either, but plenty of fresh fruit etc.

The pools are fantastic for all ages. The water slides were hugely popular with my kids, as well as many adults. The water park is great also. There is plenty of room away from the main section of the pool for people to get away from the noise and children if required. My two boys spent 5-6 hrs each day in the pool. There plenty of other activities on offer as well. Volleyball in the pool was popular. The beach is relatively clean, water quality was OK, but don't expect crystal clear seas. Hardly any surf, which suited our young children.

Beach activities: HKM water sports seems to have the monopoly at this end of Ferringhi. We hired a jetski for 30 min(150 MYR), no problem with sharing it amongst the entire family. My wife and 2 young boys went parasailing(150MYR ea). I was impressed with the safety measures that HRM took. An "instructor" went with everyone to make sure the beach landing was safe. I would happily recommend HRM, not only for the resonable prices, but they did not hassle us with a hard sell, just explained what they offered, and let us get back to them when we were ready.

The pools bar(s) had lots of happy hour promotions, usually 2 for 1 offers. Service around the pool was good, prices aren't too bad either.

We hired a taxi to do some sight seeing around Penang. George Town, Reclining Budda, Fort Cornwallis, Penang Hill, and across the ferry to Butterworth then back to Batu Feeringhi. 30 MYR per hour, which was very good value. Contact either MR Choo (016 452 5737), or Mr Ho (016 490 4756). They both have very good knowledge of all the sights, and have very clean new taxis.

The night markets down the road offer the usual shirts/watches/DVD etc. The nearby Lone Pine hawker centre has lots of cuisine choices, all pretty cheap. One disadvantage to staying at the far end of Ferringhi Beach is the lack of ATM's. There are 2 located opposite the Shangri-la Hotel, about a 10 MYR taxi ride from the HRH. One is at the bank on the corner, the other is inside the small 7/11 store behind the bank. These are very popular, and if you find yourself short of cash, especially on a weekend, it can be a problem. The ATM's don't get topped up on weekends, and are often closed due lack of funds. We were lucky at the 7/11, but the machine only allows 30 notes the be dispensed at one time, with the largest bill being a 10 ringit note. Cash up Fri morning is my advice.

Monkey Beach: This seems a popular day trip for most visitors. Boat trip, fishing, BBQ lunch, a couple of hours at Monkey Beach: 350 MYR. If you are not too fussed about fishing and the BBQ, a cheaper less time consuming option is the bus. Catch bus 101 from outside the HRH to the national park entrance (1.40 MYR for adults) It takes about 15 min. Got to the rangers office near the bus stop and register, it is free. You can then walk through the park to Monkey beach (takes about 1.5 hrs). Alternatively, directly opposite the rangers office, you can hire a boat to take you to Monkey beach (about 15 min), they wait about an hour for you to have a look around, then back to the rangers office. Costs 80 MYR for the entire boat which would cater for around 10 pax. To be honest, it's not worth it. The beach is nice, but there aren't that many monkeys, and they can be agressive and angry. Don't get too close!

Overall, a great family holiday and the HRH is a fantastic place to take your family, with plenty to keep young kids occupied, while you lounge by the pool with a few drinks.

Room Tip: If travelling with a younger family, interconnecting rooms allow you to have your own space. The del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    546
    477
    203
    50
    28
See reviews for
578
358
40
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We bought a groupon deal with 3 days 2 nights seaview room, 30 mins foot massage and breakfast and it's our very first hard rock hotel experience.

Service - people are really friendly there..always ready to assist in anyway...
Room - clean with nice decoration. But no bath tub in the toilet. Bed is comfortable. We expected a bigger room though.
Hard Rock cafe - nice experience
Swimming pool - awesome place for kids...but can be noisy as from the room you can hear their excitement
Food - better to go out and eat as it's really not that nice. Breakfast - variety is there but it's really hotel food - nothing to shout about
Hard Rock shop - we love this...and for those who dont know..check out their website and print the coupons to get some discounts

Have a rocking day !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hardrockhotelpenang, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Rachel,

Thank you for staying with us and for your positive review. Am pleased you managed to take advantage of the super Groupon deal we recently ran.

Just to inform you for future reference, we do have a number of rooms in each category with bathtubs in the bathroom which we can provide on request if available.

Thank you once again and hopefully we see you again soon at the Hard Rock Hotel Penang.

Rockin' Regards,

Shane Coates
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langwarrin, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I so looked forward to staying at this hotel as I had booked a lagoon room. Yes, it was very hand to step out of your room and into the pool without having to walk through a hotel lobby.

However, being next to the pool has its disadvantages. Everyday water seeped through the floor tiles closest to the decking area, not just a little but quite a lot. Consequently the room smelt damp and musty all the time.

The bathroom was tiny, not big enough for 2 people to get into at the same time. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable too. Did I mention the noise? Each day there seemed to be some activity or live band playing in the open air and they only know one volume - too loud. It was so loud the music and singing was distorted and you couldn't even tell what the song was. Someone please tell me when irritating house music became hard rock?

I wasn't impressed with breakfast either. Nothing special just average food. They put coffee pots on the tables when they open up for brekkie, so that when you pour it is already stone cold, then they only provide teaspoons to the inside eating area and not the outside - why is that?

Never again will I visit a Hard Rock Hotel, next year I will be returning to the Parkroyal Hotel half a klick up the road.

Room Tip: If you want one of the lagoon rooms with the bigger decking then ask for room 110, but like I said b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hardrockhotelpenang, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Neil,

Thank you for recently staying with us and regret to hear of your unsatisfactory stay for the first time via Tripadvisor. We continue to encourage guests to bring to our attention any concerns whilst in-house so we have the opportunity to address them with you personally and hopefully turn things around.

After reading your review we immediately investigated the issue relating to the water seeping through near the deck area of you Lagoon room as this is certainly not common. We found the problem to be isolated to this room and have since rectified.

I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations regarding the comfortability of our beds. They happen to be new and the same as what Starwood Hotels & Resorts use in all their Sheraton's, Westin's, and W Hotels worldwide. We also supply 2 types of pillows per room, micro gel and duck down along with 300 thread count linen.

Have also looked into your comments with Breakfast and have addressed with our Director of Food & Beverage.

As for the music, we have daily vibe dances at 2pm poolside where we encourage guests and kids to join our team in some fun dances along to a few songs that tend to go for about 15 minutes. Apart from this there we had no other live band performances open air during your stay. We do have our regular live band performances in our lobby from 7.45pm to 10.30pm Friday, Saturday, and Sunday nights and quality of sound is always controlled.

Again I apologise we weren't able to deliver the memorable experience on this occasion that we are re-known for. Should you be willing to give us another try again in the future, please don't hesitate in contacting me directly and I will personally see to your booking.

Warm regards

Shane Coates
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

All staffs is welcoming me while I stepped into the lobby when I was preparing for checking in. Although my wife & me was wearing a casual attire, jeans with t-shirt & Kelly was wearing a short pants with old t-shirt. A Indian bell boy who I forgotten to ask his name, he still greeting me & said that 'how can I help you sir?'..... It really warm our heart.

At night, we both stayed in the room enjoying a bottle of white wine 'Terra Antina' that ordered through room service. The time is already 9pm, we both sat at the pool side outside our room, drink wine & chit chatting, talked heart to heart. It has been long time we don't have a great time like this after marriage since 2010. Our son, Justice Chee age 19 months, we planned to bring him along next trip on 2013. Let him has a great holiday before he begin his studying in Tenby International School.

Rock On! All the best!

Room Tip: Lagoon Deluxe is the best enough for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed at the Hard Rock Hotel with a group of adults visiting Penang. The rooms were clean, large, and had free wifi. However, what really made it worth the price for us was having lagoon rooms so we could swim right from our room. The pool is huge and comes right up to the balcony on the first floor, so you can simply open the door and climb in the pool. The pool is great, especially the areas with sand at the bottom. The kids play area is somewhat away from the rooms, so you don't have a ton of kids swimming right by your room. We stayed during a quieter time, but I would imagine there would be a lot more noise from the pool during holiday times. The pool hours are 7 am-9 pm, so evenings are quiet.
We also really enjoyed the breakfast... tons of choices and lots of people, so the food seemed to be pretty fresh.

Room Tip: First floor lagoon rooms let you swim from your balcony, but may be noisier during busy seasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. It's really hip and trendy and is situated on the beach. However, we were told not to venture into the sea, due to sewage, so stick to the pools!

We found the food very basic, and I was rather disappointed, especially for the price.

The rooms were clean though and the staff really friendly. There didn't seem to be lots happening in Batu, but their are lots of local restaurants to walk to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My family and I stayed at Hard Rock Hotel, Penang, Malaysia from Nov 3 to 5. The experience we had was beyond our expectations and it is so suitable for the whole family - from the 3 years old to the 60 years old, for romantic young couples, to groups of single people and so on . They had slides, a huge swimming pool partly filled with sand so you do not have to go to the beach but they have a nice beach too, Hard Rock cafe of course and not to forget the Hard Rock shop with good high quality attire and stuff. Highly recommended for familes.

Room Tip: Rooms from 101 to 108 are recommended if you want privacy and direct entry to the swimming pool with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Penang 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock Hotel Penang is a luxury resort situated along the famous beaches of Batu Ferringhi. Located in the Pearl of Orient, Hard Rock Hotel Penang is iconic, bringing the multicultural Penang to new heights with its authentic Hard Rock experience. This hip and trendy resort in Penang is suitable for families, couples and singles for their relaxing accommodation in Penang. With a total of 250 guestrooms, there is nowhere more luxurious than Hard Rock Hotel Penang to spend your holiday. With a contemporary feel, all rooms are well-designed with guests in mind. With Wi-Fi connections, iPod docking stations and 32-inch LCD screen TVs, you can stay connected with your loved ones and be entertained 24 hours. For dining in Penang, Hard Rock is synonymous with music, good fun and entertainment …… and Hard Rock Hotel Penang offers a plethora of options to entertain all and to have fun! Anything from intimate private meetings in Penang to spectacular banquets for up to 300 guests, meeting planners will receive extreme Rock Star service and an event everyone will be talking about. The walls in the Hard Rock Hotel Penang are adorned with images, and over 550 pieces of authentic memorabilia and icons reflecting the revolution that changed the face of music, fashion and arts. It's a celebration of popular culture from the 50's through the new millennium. Its fun atmosphere and clean, modern lines make this the ultimate rock retreat for all! Come to Hard Rock Hotel Penang and feel like a star! It is all about the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and Otel so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Penang Batu Ferringhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.