We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the crab cake's” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ferringhi Food Garden

Ferringhi Food Garden
415 Jalan Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
U,k
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Try the crab cake's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Restaurant set in lovely surrounding and very clean modern washrooms .
The food was a hit and missed, bit more pricey then most restaurant within the area ,
We visited a couple of times , really good house wine. The crab cakes are a must , really beautifully decorated and tastes even better . Service first time was great, second time not so good. Worth giving a try for a slight modern twist to local and western cuisine .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    66
    20
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Penang
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The food needs to improve !! The atmosphere is excellent !!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Excellent atmosphere, covered with beautiful greenery in this restaurant. Good for day time as after sunset too much co2 !! Good service & some food were yummy, a bit pricey. The staffs were good as 14 of us went and wanted to dine in the garden and they arranged for us happily and willingly. Some of us ordered the Grilled Chicken RM 34.80++, it was delicious, the Grilled Chicken and steak RM 68.80++ served with a Baked potato and some boiled veggie, the meat were yummy BUT the baked potato baked as it is with nothing added, the boiled veggie in all dishes don’t even have a drop of seasoning or sauce. The Briyani Rice RM 25.80++ served with curry chicken was yummy and they wrapped the Briyani Rice in a bowl with puff pastry and baked to golden, a very unusual look !! The Mongolian beef was tasteless and no sauce. The Black pepper beef was soft – not tender, may be the chef added to much baking soda to tenderize it, served with steamed rice which was too dry !! The Black pepper beef had no sauce too !! I wonder why the chef hates sauce so much !! Now I know what to order when I bring my friends there the next time !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Divine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We love the Ferringhi garden and had the most amazing meals there and in the cafe next door, OMG yum

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food with a varied menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

During a ten-day stay in Batu Ferringi we visited the bar here three times and ate here twice. The food was excellent on both occasions and the service on all occasions. The menu offers a mixture of Western and Malay food. It's not going to provide you with all the traditional Malay dishes, but the variety means that it suits everyone. We had a mixed Malay starter, which was excellent, followed by Char Kaoy Teow and cod, which we both agreed was the best cod we had ever had - and we are fish-a-holics! We would highly recommend the restaurant. We also had an "all-day" breakfast at their coffee garden, and that was excellent: doorstep toast and really good coffee. We would recommend that too, without hesitation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very good food with good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you want to try out all Malaysian unique foods, this is the place you must go. It is just like a food court with varies kind of foods selling by different people.This is also another way feel to be like local Malaysian. Foods are good with many choices and the prices are unbeatable.
All of them very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferringhi Food Garden also viewed

Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 

Been to Ferringhi Food Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferringhi Food Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.