We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Leaf International Hotel

Golden Leaf International Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Golden Leaf International Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Leaf International Hotel
No.30 Binfang Avenue, Meijiang District, Meizhou 514021, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Meizhou
4.0 of 5 stars 49 Reviews
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I visited Meizhou for the first recently, a 5-6 hrs coach trip from Hong Kong. This hotel now called Jinye International Hotel is very good by Meizhou standard with large rooms that easily accommodate 4 persons. Some previous reviews on this hotel were not very positive but l found it fine, comfortable and safe. The price was very reasonable. WiFi slow at peak times. At the corner of 2 main roads there are lots of local restaurants nearby serving local specialities. Good city to base for visits to the north of Quandong and south of Fujian with the Hakka Tulou round houses.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    29
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

This is my 2nd stay at the hotel. It's not a repeat stay by choice as my father was insistent that we stay here.

First stay back in 2011 was terrible. Part of the reason was due to the fact that my son was extremely sick then. Furthermore, the towels there absolutely did not absorb any water whatsoever. It was a cold March then, and being wet and cold after the shower was really not pleasant. We were also staying in the smallest and darkest room category.

Fast forward to March 2014. I'd rate our stay now as pretty much trouble free. Certainly my expectations had been lowered. I even brought our own towels. The cigarette smell still permeated the hotel, but hey lights, hot water, air conditioning, free wifi all worked! We were also in a much bigger room... And it makes such a difference because we had more lights. Brighter rooms felt a lot less depressing.

Not my favorite hotel by a long mile. But I know we will be returning again in the future when my father takes us back to Meizhou (we are overseas Chinese whose ancestors were originally from Meizhou). As long as we get the bigger room and bring our own towels, I know it will be a tolerable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Hotel smelled of cigarette smoke throughout all public areas and inside the room. It seemed like a new hotel but the maintenance and overall cleanliness was not good. Towels were completely useless as they were non-absorbent. Someone in our group wryly mentioned we might as well shake ourselves to dry, since that seemed to be more effective than using the towels. We had a lot of trouble at check out because supposedly they counted the clothes hangers in the rooms and 1 was missing and they wanted to search our bags.

In short, avoid this place, and try some other hotel in Meizhou.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Cold (no heating) so when its 9 degrees outsde - its 9 degrees inside!, rising damp in room,cheaply fitted out. Shows no signs of maintenance since new (2003/2004). Carpets in hall badly tattered. The usual rock-hard Chinese bed.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Leaf International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Leaf International Hotel

Address: No.30 Binfang Avenue, Meijiang District, Meizhou 514021, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Meizhou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Meizhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Golden Leaf International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Leaf International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.