We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 7 Church Street Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 7 Church Street Guest House to your Saves list
7 Church Street Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7 Church Street, Montagu 6720 S.A., South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kloof, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An absolute delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

One of the best we have stayed at. May and Mike have created an idyllic paradise. We had a garden cottage tastefully furnished and a complimentary bottle of wine! Stepping out of the cottage we were confronted by a maze of paths, duck pond and bird life and the rest of the garden is beautiful, one could almost sit right there without moving about town! Nothing was too much trouble and the suggested restaurants were not to disappoint either. Mike and May laid on a breakfast spread that was top class, once again never too much trouble.
Monatgu is an absolute delight to visit made easier by May and Mike.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    28
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
115
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
addis ababa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Absolutely loved this place. Had two kids with us so got a garden cottage with mezzanine. Beautiful. Duck pond , swimming pool, breakfasts, friendly hosts... An outstanding place to stay for a night or two. Convenient to walk to dinner spots, lots of useful advice from owners about where to go to wine taste or to eat. Impeccable service. It is reasonably pricey, but you get what you pay for. Would recommend highly to those traveling with or without kids.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

From the moment we arrived and were welcomed by May and Mike, we felt very much at home.
We had one of the Garden Rooms, the one with the upstairs balcony and twin beds.
The room was furnished to the highest standard with very comfortable beds. The bathroom had just been refurbished and was one of the best we had during this trip to SA.
This is the second time we have stayed at 7 Church street and as before we did not want to leave.
The breakfast was wonderful and the large choice of beautifully prepared and presented food set one up for the day.
This is without doubt, one of the best Guest Houses in this part of South Africa and I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending it to anyone. We can't wait to go back and next time we shall stay for more than one or two nights.

Room Tip: Any of the Garden rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

From the moment we were met at the door by May we felt that we had arrived somewhere special. While we sipped a glass of Muscadel May gave us a run down of things to do in Montagu
and chatted away answering questions and giving advice - she was a delight.
The main house fronts onto Church Street but this is deceptive. In the extensive and absolutely delightful garden are three large purpose built rooms. There is a secret garden with a maze of pathways hidden in a glorious tangle of vegetation and even a duck pond.
We had a king room - there were others including a honeymoon suite and a family suite in another part of the garden.
Our room was very big and beautifully furnished and spotless. Large comfortable bed, expensive settee and wing chair, writing desk, with a separate table for coffee and tea making. Coffee table with fresh flowers and lovely carpets scattered over a tiled floor. High thatched ceiling and stable doors into an enormous bathroom with a his and hers washbasins.
First rate breakfast, we didn't even select from the cooked choice as the selection before us was ample.
One of the best and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in a quiet garden and just beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Having travelled S. Africa for four weeks, we experienced many wonderful places and stayed in many lovely guest houses but I have got to say that 7 Church Street was the best of all! May was very welcoming and highly entertaining! The rooms were beautifully furnished and no expense had been spared in the finer details. The bathroom was large, the bedroom huge and the gardens exquisite. The breakfast was delicious and presented in an unique fashion! I cannot recommend this guest house more highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We booked 7 Church Street at the last minute having decided to travel on the R62 from Knysna to Cape Town. We wanted to break the journey and decided Montagu looked a good place to stop and after reading the reviews decided this one looked a good bet. We were right! May and Mike were marvellous hosts and full of information about the area and many other things (don't get Mike started on trains).
Rooms are spacious and comfortable and in August the electric blanket is very welcome. A thoroughly recommended establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Upon arrival we received a warm welcome and a much needed sherry by the lovely owners Mike and May. The rooms are very spacious and beautifully decorated. Mike and May are wonderful hosts that go the extra mile to meet any requirements you might have and were also very helpful and knowledgeable about recommending great restaurants and "must-go" places in and around Motagu. What a pleasant stay! Breakfast here is also outstanding. As a tour guide I will be sure to bring my guests here again whenever we head through this way.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 7 Church Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7 Church Street Guest House

Address: 7 Church Street, Montagu 6720 S.A., South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 7 Church Street Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 Church Street offers luxury accommodation superbly situated in stunning gardens in the heart of Montagu on the immensely popular Route 62 between Cape Town and The Garden Route / Port Elizabeth, this lovingly restored Victorian home dates back to the 1850’s and once boasted a thatched roof The front elevation understates the jewels set at the end of the bougainvillea edged driveway, including the elevated garden suite with its spacious lounge and sun deck complemented by Dial Cottage a Cape-Dutch thatched property which contains three more magnificent suites with panoramic views. Our suites are a welcome retreat to either just enjoy or to be a base for exploring the treasures of our area for 3 or 4 enchanting and memorable days. We look forward to welcoming you to a slice of our idyllic lives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your 7 Church Street Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 7 Church Street Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.