We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make no mistake, this is world class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Hauts de Montagu

Save Saved
You added Les Hauts de Montagu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Les Hauts de Montagu
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   3 km ater Montaqu On Route 62 to Barrydale, Montagu 6720, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
South Wales
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Make no mistake, this is world class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

Set in the hillside overlooking the village, this is a lodgings of the very highest quality. The owner is a former Paris-based Michelin chef and i would not be overstating it to say the meal we enjoyed was quite possibly the finest we have ever had. Fellow guests who were frequent visitors are seriously worried that more and more people are finding out about this faultless hotel. I would return to this area just to stay here. It's that good.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
62
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

We had been recommended to stay here by local friends in CT, and it exceeded our expectations. Idyllic views, lots of beautiful walks & local wineries to visit, comfortable rooms with bath/outside shower and fireplace for winter. Eric cooks fantastic evening meals - we had shrimps, and local quails which astounded our South African friends. And the area is so much less touristy than Franschoek. Wished we'd been able to stay much longer and explore the area further.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

Reccomended by a friend we found this wonderful tranquil superbly run haven and stayed.... marvellous food, very comfortable rooms, meticulous service and remarkable value for money. Great walks and very friendly atmosphere... we will return !

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

Normally don't write many of these reviews but feel compelled to for this place. As peaceful and serene as anywhere you could find. We literally passed it in a car, decided to have a look and felt we'd found a treasure by staying.

We probably had our best meal in South Africa here - and that is saying something. My wife is vegetarion and they changed the set menu for her - she said it was the imaginative veggie food she'd had in SA !!

You feel removed from the world with the mountains all around, rows of lavender and olive trees make you think of Provence and there could be nowhere better for just chilling out.

highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

This was one of the best places we stayed on our 2 week trip to South Africa. We absolutely loved it from the French chic rooms, the outdoor shower, the stunning views and amazing food.
The views over the valley are absolutely beautiful and there are many walking trails on the property, as well as a gorgeous swimming pool.
A particular highlight was the food - especially the 4 course a la carte dinner which was delicious and of an exceptionally high standard - combined of course with the Montagu region wines.
This is a quiet and peaceful place to stay, which we loved. It is also perfectly situated for exploring the Montagu wine region.
We couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Liked — French colonial decor, outside shower, claw foot bath, stunning views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

A cute and lovely 5 star lodge in a 5 star landscape with fantastic views and probably the best cuisine in South-Africa. The friendly French/Belgian owners know exactly how to run their business.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

I found this beautifully situated guest lodge on the internet.
Their web address is: www.leshautsdemontagu.co.za
My husband and I travelled along the R62 from Outshoorn to this gem of a place.
The owners Myriam and Eric Brillant were fantastic hosts and we spent some time talking to them as to how this guest house came to be and the stories were fascinating!
The cottages are luxurious and extremely comfortable and there is a fireplace in the room for the cold winter nights.
There is also a fully stocked mini bar in the rooms with some lovely wines from the area.
I loved the personal touch in the evenings when we retired to our rooms. There on our bedside tables was a glass of port with a chocolate and a 'sleep well" note.
The breakfasts were served on the veranda with a view of Montague town in the distance and the surrounding mountains. I loved the individual presentation of the food on the table.
We had dinner at the guest lodge every night. After experiencing such delightful cuisine we could not match this anywhere else. Both the presentation and the taste was exceptional!
You can also soak in the pool and saviour the view of the surrounding mountains.
We shall definately be back there!

  • Liked — The view, the hospitality, the cottages and the Food!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Les Hauts de Montagu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Hauts de Montagu

Address: 3 km ater Montaqu On Route 62 to Barrydale, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Hauts de Montagu 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A guest lodge offering 450 hectares of abundant, indigenous flora and situated on the beautiful slopes of the Langeberg Mountains. This is a space of natural tranquility, beauty and comfort; perfect for nature lovers, relaxing getaway or a romantic weekend. Rooms are separated into six spacious en-suites. Each have their own fireplace, a bathroom with heated floors, a Victorian bathtub as well as an outside shower. From the veranda, guests have a spectacular view of the Karro Koppies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Les Hauts de Montagu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Hauts de Montagu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.