We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, private rooms and excellent location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mimosa Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mimosa Lodge to your Saves list
Mimosa Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   P.O. Box 323 | Church Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sandton, South Africa
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Unique, private rooms and excellent location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

OVERALL: As we stayed in the one of the most luxurious and private rooms on the property, it was difficult to fault. We stayed in Room 204 with a private courtyard and private champagne dipping pool; it was glorious and very romantic. The location is in the heart of Montagu within walking distance to all restaurants.

ROOM: The room had ample space with crisp clean linen and towels. The beautiful wrought iron bed was huge and comfy. Great sleep quality. The room was fully equipped with a heater, air con, tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was generous in size and had a shower with great water pressure. The room was very quiet and removed from any other guests.

BREAKFAST: The breakfast spread was generous. Fruit, sweet pastries, and yogurt made up the sweets while an array of cheeses and cold meats were also available. The coffee was freshly brewed. The only point where I can fault them is with the hot breakfast. The elderly gentleman (later introduced as the owner) was a bit abrupt and indifferent. He asked us would fried eggs and bacon be OK and we responded, sure. We later saw other guests being treated to poached eggs, scrambled, fried mushrooms etc which he didn’t explain to us. A bit disappointing considering the price we paid for the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    77
    28
    17
    5
See reviews for
32
156
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Bernie in front office is fantastic, his welcome and general attitude is genuine. The rooms are comfortable and the lodge is perfectly located in the town, easy to explore the sights.
The breakfast was also great and generally it is an all round pleasant stay. We will certainly go back!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Family run hotel by folks from Swiss origin. Nice spacious rooms, garden and a great bar with very friendly and informative bartender Bernie. Kitchen is top class and also nice restaurant in the vicinity.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was by a good deal the most expensive lodge we came across in our accommodation search. We booked a garden room - a misleading name, as the room was on the first floor. The room was appropriately furnished, and enormous, as was the bathroom. Unfortunately it is south facing, and no attempt had been made to heat it before our arrival and the room was like a freezer. The oil heater provided was hopelessly inadequate, and never succeeded in taking the chill off. It was, after all, mid-winter. No sign of an electric blanket or, at least, a hot water bottle. We would have expected the former at the price. The door catch was broken and was not properly fixed while we were there and the cheap flimsy toilet seat broke the first time we used the toilet. No sign of the promised flowers and fruit. When we arrived back at our room after dark, nobody had bothered to put on the lights over the stairs leading to our room, and we had to feel our way in the pitch dark. An illuminated switch would have helped. A very very poor show indeed and definitely not to be repeated.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I recently stayed at the Mimosa Lodge in Montagu - and one night was just far to short! What a lovely place - the rooms are delightful - warmed up before our arrival - complimentary muscadel - and everything one needs for a comfortable nights stay! The staff were really welcoming and went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. Breakfast was great - fresh and plentiful. The town of Montagu and surrounding area has much to offer so one needs to make sure that one has enough time to explore!
A great time-out - will definitely go back again!!

Room Tip: The garden suites are all delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

A very nice hotel, in a not so interesting town, really only useful as a stopping off point. We were upgraded to one of the lodges, not sure about the stone like floor but it was very comfortable. The owners were extremely welcoming, inviting us for pre dinner drinks in the garden before an excellent dinner. Breakfast also was very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

As many people staying here, we stayed one night on our way through the Garden Route. We had previously visited the Rambling Rose on the Main Street in Montagu for a beautiful platter and wine lunch (recommended), and loved the ambiance of Montagu.

Mimosa Lodge's web site gives a clear indication of what the rooms are like with no surprises. There was no air con in our room and humidity was quite high while we were there, so it's worth checking. The chef/owner is very friendly and anxious to please. The goumet menu with a glass of his own wine with each course was very good, although prices are at european levels. A nice touch is the pre-dinner drink in the garden where guests having dinner mingle and exchange experiences.

Breakfast was a highlight, served by a great character.

Room Tip: Check for air conditioning in the summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mimosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mimosa Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 323 | Church Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mimosa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Mimosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimosa Hotel Montagu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mimosa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.