We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a worthwhile stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Oude Kombuis

De Oude Kombuis
60 Long Street, Montagu, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 23 Restaurants in Montagu
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Montagu, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Always a worthwhile stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Good wholesome food and excellent coffee with friendly service and unpretentious Christian owners to spend a moment chatting while they run around looking after the many satisfied customers.

Good breakfasts and light lunches are certainly the trademark while there are always lovely sweet treats for tea.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swellendam, South Africa
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Best coffee in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We usually sit in the garden and enjoy a light meal and great coffee. The prices are not too bad either. the kids can have a look at the farm animals close by and there is a small play area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome pies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a lunch stop over and we struck gold. The pies are definitely worth the wait. Homemade and were wonderful. My daughters' toasted sandwiches were also good. Homemade bread with lots of filling. The service was good in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. At about 150km from Cape Town I would even consider a day trip to taste their pies once again.But as the restaurant is well know for their pies, they did tell us they do struggle to keep up with the demand especially during the December period, so perhaps a call to the restaurant would be a good idea to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Awesome, fresh tasty food great value, friendly staff all in all a fantastic experience. home made pies were superb we had the lamb and the venison. my wife had pasta that was freshly made and she says it was fantastic

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Delightful Rustic Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We enjoyed Fathers Day Brunch at this quaint restaurant in a lovely setting. The outside section was under large trees but as it was a little cool, we sat inside where a lovely log fire was burning. The breakfast that we ordered was very tasty and nicely presented and the ambience was delightful spoiled only by 3 somewhat noisy parrots. I guess on a nice day their cages would have been outside but they werent particularly clean and very close to the tables. A wee bit offputting. All in all though, we enjoyed our visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Oude Kombuis also viewed

Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 

Been to De Oude Kombuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Oude Kombuis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.