We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“T for Tipi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Healing Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montagu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Healing Holidays
R62 Montagu, R318 Touws Rivier, Montagu, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 26 Specialty lodging in Montagu
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“T for Tipi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

healing holidays's tipi's is a must for a relaxing breakaway, your visit starts of with a warm welcome, your bags are carried to your tipi, the tipi has been raised and sits on a wooden deck, inside you will find a double bed with electric blanket, an electric lamp, bar fridge, parafin heater and a gasbottel with a cooker hood, a poof chear and a wooden crate with all your necessary cutlery and crockery, outside a gas shower, so you will always have hot water, wooden bench to sit and relax, have a glass of montagu muskadel, enjoy your fire burning and making coals for the braai, watch the sun go down or come up, the toilets are a bit far for those who need to get up at night. you can drive to montagu, 12km, to buy more supplies or treat yourself with a beakfast or go for a swim at the baths

Room Tip: i found that duvet/comforter was very light and not warm enough for august weather(snow on the mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

With amazing views of the hills surrounding Montagu, the experience of sleeping in a tipi with no electricity was surprisingly comfortable. It really helps that the shower (outdoor - awesome!) has hot water. Relax and recharge in the beautiful landscape - also offering a springboard from where to explore the Robertson wine region. Felicity is a friend so of course we were welcomed and felt right at home, but it is obvious that she puts her guests first as we had little opportunity to spend time together - she is so busy taking care of her guests' needs! Plan to self-cater, easiest is to braai, or make use of the many restaurant options available in the area. There is a restaurant on site offering light snacks and excellent breakfast at incredible value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraaifontein, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Felicity was very friendly from the start. When we got to Healing Holidays, she assigned people to take our luggage up to the teepee. She gave us ice cold water and the aircon was already running when we arrived.

Everything inside and outside of the teepee is very comfortable and everything you need is there. There was no cellphone reception, but we enjoyed it as it was our honeymoon.

We did not order breakfast, but Felicity send some coffee and fruit up to the teepee each morning (much appreciated). Felicity has the felicities to make you a nice breakfast. She also has a small shop (gifts, cooldrink and something to nibble on).

If you want to get away for a weekend (one day is not enough to walk around), go to the teepee's. Felicity and her workers are very friendly and always willing to help.

The farm is neat. There are some walking routs and a swimming pool.

Felicity also planted a veggie garden which is nice if you are planning a potjie under the stars

We also enjoyed the shower under the stars.

I would highly recommend Healing Holidays for anyone who need time out from a busy life style.
Thank you again Felicity for everything that you have done for us.

Mr & Mrs Smit
(25 - 27 Feb 2013)

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Healing Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Healing Holidays

Address: R62 Montagu, R318 Touws Rivier, Montagu, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Specialty lodging in Montagu
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT 2013. As a recent guest explained (from Adele and Sean, date 28th December - 3 January 2013) "Thank you for a wonderful stay in your luxury teepee tent! On arrival, we were met by the warm, friendly faces of Samantha, Alex and Richard who wasted no time carrying our luggage into our tent! We were amazed by the amount of space in the teepee which is elevated onto a deck so that one is not in the dirt and dust. A large blue gum tree offered lots of morning shade and so we could sleep in if we wanted to! There's no electricity (unless you bring your own like we did) but an outdoor shower with hot water is within a little wooden enclosure and a toilet is 30 meters from the teepee. The luxury teepee is actually very secluded and surrounded by nature. We could spend time just quietly sitting outside, birdwatching and listening to the sounds of nature. We met Felicity, the owner of the property, who is an exceptionally hospitable woman. She showed us around the rest of the place and I have to say I was very happy when I saw a swimming pool which we could all use - we were in that pool everyday! Montagu is the gateway to the Karoo after all! There's also a vegetable garden and we were spoilt with some lovely fresh spinach which went into our omelettes one day. There are zen chickens that hang out in the shade of the vegetable plants. An outside massage room offers some healing and there's a lovely little restaurant where you can select whatever music you fancy while enjoying your breakfast. Felicity clearly has a love for dogs (big and small) and cats and some of them are rather adventurous and ran into the hills for almost an entire day! After 6 days of relaxing in this tranquil environment, we left well rested and ready for another year! Thank you, it was hard saying good-bye to it all! We'll simply have to return!" ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Healing Holidays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Healing Holidays to your Saves list