We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all kind of herbs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montagu Museum

Montagu Museum
41 Long Street, Montagu, South Africa
023 614 1950
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 18 things to do in Montagu
Attraction details
Uniondale, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“all kind of herbs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

....whatever we need a medicine tea for - we buy it here. We find all kind of information about herbal medication, in the little garden we find most of the herbs and we can chat with the friendly stuff as they weigh and pack the mixtures.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A valuable resource”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We enjoyed visitng both museums, but were particularly impressed by the smaller of the two, consisting in a town house wi th furnishings dating back from the early years of the Dutch India Company. The commentary by a local volunteer was very informative and made it all come alive. A real plus for this charming small town.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montagu, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“History well preserved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

With museums going down the drain due to poor support from Government, this proud establishment (see both sections) still manages to flourish. Their Arthritis Herb Tea has cured me and many other sufferers of this dreaded disease. I know the history of this herbal mix. Eleven years ago I had stopped playing the piano due to crumpled hand - today I have already made THREE CDs and at 70 I play better than ever before!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swellendam, South Africa
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Lovely Country Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We visited this museum and learnt a lot about the history of the local people and especially the herbal medicines that have been used for centuries. lovely herb garden behind museum

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montagu, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

When visiting Montagu, you must pop in to the Montagu Museum and see the fascinating history of this charming town. I especially loved the collection of medicinal plants which is knowledge passed on down the ages.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montagu Museum also viewed

Montagu, Western Cape
 
 

Been to Montagu Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montagu Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.