We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and entertaining evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mystic Tin

The Mystic Tin
38 Bath Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
+27 23 614 2461
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 23 Restaurants in Montagu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: African, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: As the evening draws near The Mystic Tin lights up in candle light and our chef prepares a local, International and African cuisine with venison, curries, oxtail and beautiful vegetables.The restaurant is rustic, yet stylish with a warm ambience, local artwork, soft background instrumental music and a fireplace for the cooler evenings.The bar offers coffee, local wines, beers as well as other drinks. Opening hours:5 pm till late, Sundays closed.Fully licensed. Credit Card facilities available.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
“Good food and entertaining evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We visited on a Sunday evening as many restaurants were closed, but the menu looked good and the added micro brewery was a plus. The interior is very quaint and rustic with the walls covered in lots of celebrity photos...but nothing compares to Terence what a character. Can only think the negative report did not 'get' his dry quirky humour. The choice and quality of food was excellent and the home beers and local wines were all good. This is a must if visiting the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    46
    15
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
leicester, england
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a wonderful meal at the Mystic Tin after choosing it from seeing excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and a recommendation from our Guest House owner. We were offered a seat in the back garden area and could watch the sun setting. We were warned that portions were large and so avoided the starters. I had pork moutarde and my wife chose chicken shnitzel. Both came with vegetables cooked to perfection and the meat was amazing - tender, delicious and in sauces to die for. We were recommended an excellent sauvignon. The service by Terence was fabulous - fun and attentive. Portion size was indeed huge and sadly we had no room for desert! The cost was extraordinary - I do not know how any profit can be made by the owners. Overall this was one of those experiences you always remember - going to Mystic Tin would be a reason to go to Montagu alone.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was our equivalent of a hearty, farmer's dinner. Tremendously tasty and well done, not fancy at all, but just quality food. The portion were very generous, many vegetables, good sized main course.. Very basic location in a guest house. about 23 usd for the whole experience for 2 people. Probably the most memorable food (and least expensive) for the whole trip. I doubt this place is unique for its heartiness, but it hit the spot..

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stopped for a look, had a beer (their own honey brew - outstanding), stayed for dinner (pork is a sensation) then stayed the night, none of which would have happened if Terence had not entertained and helped us the minute we stuck our heads in the door. Totally unplanned but a great evening in a faultless Fawlty Towers kinda way. The food - a serious hit - speaks for itself. A real gem.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great Food with Exccellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I had dinner there last night. He had the pork schnitzel and I had the ostrich fillet. Both dishes were wonderful with lots of veggies, potatoes, sweet potatoes, pumpkin, and beets. (see pics) The ingredients were fresh and delicious. I would highly recommend this place and just ask what's in season.

Our server Terrance, was a wonderful host. He was friendly and funny. I don't think everyone gets his humor though, obviously the previous reviewer did not appreciate his sense of humor.
To us, he was great fun to have as our server. We had a great time chatting with him.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mystic Tin also viewed

Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
 

Been to The Mystic Tin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mystic Tin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.