We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Tavern

Ye Olde Tavern
22 Church street, Montagu, South Africa
0236142398
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Montagu
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza & Pasta, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Ye Olde Tavern, My team and I focus on the very basics of customer service. We reward our customers with a genuine smile, a generous helping of delicious food and a heartfelt thank you when you leave. In a small town like Montagu, the restaurant trade is a very competitive business and I truly believe that part of our success has been due to the support of our local community as well as the consistent recommendations from the B&B’s and Guest Houses. We offer good old fashioned cooking which include tradition South African dishes like Bobotie, Cape Malay Chicken Curry, slow cooked Lamb Shank and Good Olde Fish & Chips. We also have an extensive pizza and children's menu, all at very reasonable prices. We are open 7 nights a week from 6:00pm for dinner and open only for group bookings during lunch time. Reservations strongly recommended.
In transit
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The menu looks as if you're going to get pub food and, in a sense, you do. However, it's pub food that's been seen through a 21st century lens, with the food and the way it is presented both influenced by much finer dining than you might expect. We had a great Cape Malay chicken curry, delicate spicing working around a strong spine of cardamon, and an equally delicious bobotie. With some (delicious, and extremely reasonably-proced) red left in the bottle, we followed up with a starter portion of deep-fried Camembert, a South African pub classic from two decades ago but, once again, re-imagined for today. The environment was delightful, the staff friendly and attentive, and the bill, when it came, was tiny. We liked it so much we went back the next night for some (superb) fish and chips.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you so much for the review and detailed positive comments. It's always a pleasure to have our customers return the next night which is a compliment in itself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    85
    20
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Could do better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Having read reviews on this Restaurant, which were very good, we were very surprised that it did not live up to them. We booked in advance for early evening, and already there were no 'ribs' left ( our friend was not amused, as he was looking forward to this dish ). The Restaurant was vcery busy, everyone seemed under pressure. Service was slow and poor. The Sirloin steak was overcooked and dry, vegetables were missed from one meal. We loved the actual decor and ambiance. Perhaps we chose a bad night so would therefore give it another try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for the review and our sincere apologies that we were not on top form the night you dined with us. I am also equally sorry that the ribs were sold out which does happen occasionally when we do get very busy. We simply do not have the space of fridge space to keep to much stock on hand and so because we only receive our major supplies once a week we do try to estimate the amount needed but sometime we get a run on a particular dish and it sells very quickly. If you do give us another chance and visit again, please call me personally to make your booking so I can ensure that your next dining experience will be a positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Diverse menu and great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Outdoor dining in the courtyard amongst lovely flowers. Wait staff was so attentive and friendly. Food was superb. Enjoyed South African meal of bobotie and a pizza! Dessert of local apples in a delicious apple crumble was fabulous. A must if you are in Montagu!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Good food lovely service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The food here is rustic but very good. Everything was hot and nicely presented. The staff were a delight especially the owner who was hands on. Would recommend it

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you. Appreciate the review very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montagu, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely food and people.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The food was excellent and the service even better. If we are in Montagu again we go to this restaurant again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Manager at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
My staff and I sincerely appreciate the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Tavern also viewed

Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 

Been to Ye Olde Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.