We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Tavern

Ye Olde Tavern
22 Church street, Montagu, South Africa
0236142398
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 23 Restaurants in Montagu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza & Pasta, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Ye Olde Tavern, My team and I focus on the very basics of customer service. We reward our customers with a genuine smile, a generous helping of delicious food and a heartfelt thank you when you leave. In a small town like Montagu, the restaurant trade is a very competitive business and I truly believe that part of our success has been due to the support of our local community as well as the consistent recommendations from the B&B’s and Guest Houses. We offer good old fashioned cooking which include tradition South African dishes like Bobotie, Cape Malay Chicken Curry, slow cooked Lamb Shank and Good Olde Fish & Chips. We also have an extensive pizza and children's menu, all at very reasonable prices. We are open 7 nights a week from 6:00pm for dinner and open only for group bookings during lunch time. Reservations strongly recommended.
Dorset
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a cracking little place which gets very busy so you need to book. Varied menu and enjoyable food and wine.Very good value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Glad that we were able to offer you a nice selection and provide good value whilst on your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    100
    33
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Painswick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

There was a smashing atmosphere and welcome. Food was first class. This place is highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. My staff and I appreciate it very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth a return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Excellent food & lovely atmosphere. Great traditional treats and deserts to die for. Second time we've eaten there and will definitely go again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
So glad you returned to try us again and hope that Montagu will be a favourite stop for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
“Comfort Food So. Africa Style!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

6 friends dined at this restaurant one cold and windy night in August 2013. The crackling fire welcomed us to what would be a lively and fun evening with good food and lovely wines and spirits. The atmosphere is warm and friendly, the service attentive without being obtrusive and the menu diverse enough to please most any diner. We each chose different items and all were well satisfied with both the quality and portion size. The lamb shanks were outstanding and the curry prepared to the heat level requested. A trip to Montagu would not be complete without experiencing Ye Olde Tavern!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your positive feedback. Trust that should you ever visit Montagu again, you will allow us to "treat" you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Wow!!! Wow!!! Wow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a great restaurant!!!!! We had a great evening of great food and fantastic wine. The hostess was extremely attentive to our needs. Can't wait to return.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
All we can say is Thank You, Thank You, Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Tavern also viewed

Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 

Been to Ye Olde Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.