We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing stay, in nice garden !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Glen Self-Catering Guest Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rainbow Glen Self-Catering Guest Cottages to your Saves list
Rainbow Glen Self-Catering Guest Cottages
10 Tanner Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Muncih
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very relaxing stay, in nice garden !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We did our 1 night stay very much in these guest cottages. Nice location outside town, which was very quiet. The bed was a little hard, but all the rest was perfect.
Every cottage was having a private table for having, breakfast, a bbq or just to relax. Nice size swimming pool and mountain view.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My stay at Rainbow Glen was the lowest point in my three week holiday. During the 2011 festive season my family and I embarked on a three week holiday which started In Goudini and ended at the beautiful Avalon Springs resort. Our convoy consisted of eight adults and eight children. We had the misfortune of staying at Rainbow Glen for 3 days. I have been to many resorts and not once have I ever received such bad service. Upon arrival the owner of the place explained to me how the gas geyser needed to be nursed as the geyser was not working properly, I was fine with that. In total we booked 4 chalets for the three days. From the moment we arrived the owner was buzzing around us as if we were going to break something. During our stay at Rainbow Glen my family was approached more then ten time to remind us of the resorts do’s and don’ts. The owner made it a point of popping into all our chalets every day with some or other lame excuse. On one occasion the children was preparing to go swim in the pool and the owners first reaction was to pull out his bucket of chlorine and start treating the pool. I was advised that it’s not a good idea to swim in the pool for quite a while. Thirty minutes later the owner had his friends and family members in the pool having a party and boozing whilst my family and I had to sit and watch. Whilst packing up to hit the road, the owner, his wife and the dog who had been pooping all over the lawn came to visit us to check if the there had been any breakages. I mentioned to the owner that my stay was rather unpleasant as a result of his constant interruptions. His response in as few words as possible was “Your opinion does not count” and that our presence was unpleasant. This is the worst place I have ever been to and I would not recommend it to anyone who likes their own privacy. The owner is a sly and obnoxious individual and had it not been for him, my stay would have been blissful

Room Tip: attached is a pic of the owner entertaining his friends whilst we had to sit and watch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveWebster, Owner at Rainbow Glen Self-Catering Guest Cottages, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Unfortunately we had to ask these guests never to come back as they were rude to our staff and to our other guests and left a disgusting mess.
This is the first and only time we have ever tolerated such disrespect from people staying with us as we find our guests are as respectful and appreciative of us and our beautiful place as we are of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed in Almond chalet at Rainbow Glen just prior to Christmas and were really impressed by the tranquillity and beauty there as well as the owner's friendliness and hospitality towards us . The facilities were perfect for our small family and our children loved the pool, the play area and being involved with feeding the animals and stalking the tortoises around the garden. We were also lucky enough to be there on a day they were having an open-air concert in their garden which was festive and fun, but in no way intrusive.
The owners were really helpful in suggesting activities for us to enjoy in the area, and made our stay really pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praslin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

we stayed in the Muscadel cottage at rainbow glen for a week. It was perfect. The location is great, for children there is a safe play area with pet farm animals and children intrests activities. The hosts go out of their way to make you feel at home. The price is reasonable and we would stay there again without hesitation. It is also on the doorstep to a great hike and rock climbing location.

Room Tip: all the rooms seemed great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Very enjoyable stay, lovely setting and extremely friendly owners. A bit taken-aback by the dark brown painted walls in the cottage.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Arrived here late one evening without booking ahead, the owners were very welcoming and friendly, fortunately they had an apartment empty that night, which was very well priced in relation to traditional hotels in the area.

The self contained chalet was very clean and tidy and had all the facilities one would want, aswell as being only a 2 min drive from the various restaurants and bars in the town. The location and setting is great, right next to a little rive, wonderful views of the surrounding mountains a lovely big lawned area with a swimming pool.

The owners had a wealth of local knowledge and couldnt do enough to help us, and with the price you really couldnt go wrong ! Would not hesitate to recommend this real gem to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

My wife and I have fond memories of Montagu and Rainbow Glen. The chalets are clean, they have their own en-suite hot showers and kitchenettes and they are located in pleasant, quiet, leafy surroundings with views of the nearby mountains, but with plenty of shade on a hot day. It was particularly nice to enjoy an early morning breakfast in the outdoor dining area in front of our chalet with ibises calling out from nearby trees. We also spotted an owl for which a nest box had just been installed in the garden. The owners, David and Tara, are very helpful in providing tips and information. They also have three charming and well-behaved dogs (Brutus, Rusty and Tuckshop) who seem to make a point of visiting every guest in turn to say "hello". Several nice hiking trails are within close walking distance, as is a remarkable place called the "Leidam". This is small reservoir constructed for the irrigation of local gardens on an ordinary residential street where hundreds of birds (mainly ibis, but also egrets, herons and others) have spontaneously taken up residence and can be observed at very close quarters from an observation deck.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow Glen Self-Catering Guest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Glen Self-Catering Guest Cottages

Address: 10 Tanner Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Glen guest farm is located conveniently close to the Cogmanskloof hiking trails and has a splendid view of Kanonkop from all of the cottages. There is an enchanted fairy garden to wander through and the kids can get involved during feeding times when we feed the tortoise, rabbits and chickens. The six self-catering cottages accommodate between 2 to 4 people each and every cottage has a private veranda and built in braai facilities. Additionally, each cottage has a fully equipped kitchenette and all linen is provided, including towels. There is also a luxury guest suite with its own lounge (including satellite TV), dining area and separate kitchen. Perfect for a large family or group of friends (sleeps up to 10). Guests can enjoy the pool on hot summer days as well as a spacious lawn where families can play games or simply relax and enjoy the mountain view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rainbow Glen Self-Catering Guest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Glen Self-Catering Guest Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.