We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour of Africa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Victorian 1906 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Victorian 1906 Hotel to your Saves list
The Victorian 1906 Hotel
35 Bath Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 24 Montagu B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Tour of Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The evening meal was excellent, the atmosphere of the place is beyond belief. My wife was extremely pleased with the vegetarian item on the menu. Two three course meals and a bottle of fine wine for under 500r
We will stay longer next time.

Room Tip: If you do not have reservations get there early, soon fills up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoniqueDT7, Manager at The Victorian 1906 Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly I would like to thank you personally for placing your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and that you were satisfied, You are absolutely right this hotel fills up very quickly and our restaurant as well.

We always try to cater for everyone and in this industry it's not always that easy, but we are very flexible when it comes to Vegetarian and Vegan options. I'm glad your wife enjoyed her meal and that you found it value for your money.

We look forward to seeing you and spoiling you again.


Kind Regards

Monique du Toit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    12
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
46
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boutersem, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

An incredible welcome, very friendly owners, efficient and friendly staff, what more can you want from a hotel?!?
Rainer and his wife are the perfect hosts not only for the hotel but also for any event you may want to organize with them!
Well worth recommending!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoniqueDT7, Manager at The Victorian 1906 Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly I would like to say thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for your review, we take all our reviews seriously as this is the only way we will know that what we are doing is correct or incorrect,

I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay and that you are satisfied and thank you again for recommending our establishment.

We look forward to treating and spoiling you again,


Kind Regards

Monique du Toit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for one night and weren't disappointed - the rooms have just been redone and are large and airy with a working aircon (very important at nearly 40degrees). The location is perfect for a little stroll through town. The hotel is one of the oldest in town and the receptionist seems to have been there since its opening - she just seems a little batty but this all just adds to the small town flair.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were driving to Oudtshoorn and planned to stop over en route and spend the night in Montagu. We booked directly with the hotel after reading about it on trip advisor. We dealt with Bonnie and she was extremely helpful and professional
We arrived at the hotel late afternoon and were met and greeted by Bonnie and staff were on hand to take our bags to our rooms. Check in was quick and efficient
Our rooms were at the front of the hotel and were spacious, clean and comfortable – huge bathroom. Coffee making facilities in the room and homemade rusks were a nice touch.
We met our friends in the bar – the bar man was the same guy who helped with our bags and he was also the waiter at dinner that night – he has been with the hotel for years and was very helpful – real old school manners – very nice
We decided to eat at the hotel that evening and I must say the food was excellent! We had the Karoo lamb which was excellent. I had the fillet steak - superb. The wine list was extensive and well priced.
The décor of the hotel is country Victorian – lots of nice touches and not over fussy. The hotel is well renovated. There was a pool and an outdoor courtyard.

The only drawback was the lack of WIFI. You can ask for a code but it didn't seem to materialise. WIFI is getting cheaper and cheaper in South Africa and most establishments can and should offer uncapped WIFI at no charge. However, a lot does depend on the lines that Telkom have put in so out in the country side it may be more difficult. I think the admin is a bit on the weak side
Breakfast the next morning was very good. I had the fruit and home made bread and coffee and the rest of our group had the cooked breakfast that they declared excellent
There is not really a lot to do in Montague but if we were heading back this way in the future then we would stay at The Victorian 1906 again. Well priced. Hospitable staff, clean and central.
For more photos of Montagu go to: http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.433578503392374.1073741828.250427861707440&type=1

Room Tip: I think the rooms we had in the main hotel upstairs at the front are probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is sadly to say, the worst holiday experience we have had in in extensive trip to South Africa. We were greeted by Rosa who asked for our discount voucher - didn't have one, and sadly had paid the full price in advance. We were shuffled out to a room in the Annexe by the pool, which still had the detritis of the previous guest in the bathroom and the empty sugar wraps on the coffee tray and a tin with one half eaten biscotti. Undeterred, we then asked reception for the WiFi code, to be made to stand in reception for 10 miniutes while they tried to find out, with intermittent stories of people hacking it and downloading movies!?
The real let down was having to wait 45 mintutes over breakfast for a single slice of toast each! This only came after some load enquiry. To put this in context, there were at the peak of business, two other small tables - hardly over-run! The delay was explained by the same Manageress as the result of "the normal cook going home early as they were going to be very busy with other guests for the weekend" - not the kind of poor cousin customer service the owners would hope for? The final straw was being asked to pay for the room again when checking out, despite it having been paid in advance.

As mentioned above - Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Don't bother, stay somewhere else, but be warned they Montagu Hotel is owned by the same group
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great rooms, excellent food. Hosts anxious to please. Secure parking. Great value for money.
Came across by chance while touring around Cape Town. Montagu is a lovely town the Saturday markets are excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterton, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a boutique hotel centrally located in Monatgu. Refurbished some 5 years ago, the decor has been well maintained with only odd signs of crumbling plaster and damp. The furnishings and fittings are modern and comfortable. Rooms are spacious and fitted with telephone, hairdryer and an air conditioner which worked quietly and efficiently. TVs receive limited DStv bouquet. Breakfast and evening meals are served in a compact dining area although we found service in the morning to be slow. There is an attractive, surprisingly large bar area and the street verandah is complimented by an outdoor sun terrace and plunge pool in an enclosed courtyard off the public lounge. Off street parking for guests is a welcome benefit in this busy little town. The owner (Ernest) and his partner are personally involved in many of the hospitality functions and were frequently seen around the property; Ernest even taking the trouble to heave our cases from the car park to our rooms followed by a detailed overview of room facilities. Details were however lacking such as only rooibos tea and ground coffee available in the rooms and our soap was missing on the first night. Overall, however, we found the Vic a professional, comfortable and caring venue and we would not hesitate to revisit.

Room Tip: Room prices are negotiable, so do not simply accept rack rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victorian 1906 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian 1906 Hotel

Address: 35 Bath Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian 1906 boutique hotel is an exquisitely designed and decorated 9-suite boutique hotel in picturesque Montagu, 2.5 hours from Cape Town. Enjoy a sundowner from the cafe style verandah overlooking the magnificent Langeberge before a meal in their delightfully informal Victorian dining room. Guests are encouraged to explore the local vineyards and many natural features as well as Montagu's famous spas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Victorian 1906 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victorian 1906 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.