We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beautiful peaceful Airlies B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Airlies Gastehuis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Airlies Gastehuis to your Saves list
Airlies Gastehuis
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   36 Bath Street | 36 Badstraat, Montagu 6720, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 24 Montagu B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“The beautiful peaceful Airlies B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed at Airlies B&B for two nights in June. What a pleasant and relaxing stay it was! The owners are so friendly and make you feel like you are at home, away from from. The town is peaceful and the perfect getaway from the hustle of city life. The rooms are very comfortable and warm, especially for winter time. The home cooked breakfast by the owner in the morning was a very nice surprise. Will definitely recommend to anyone who would like a peaceful weekend getaway and I will be back too! Great value for money

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    46
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
127
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely stay at Airlies B & B, in a softly furnished comfortable room surrounded by birdsong in the garden.

Our hosts were professional and friendly with a kind interest in their guests. I would gladly recommend Airlies B& B in Montangu.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

A superb guesthouse in a superb location in one of my favourite small towns. Our friendly hosts offered advice on places to visit and eat and the morning breakfast was one of the best we have had. Well done Corrie and Tillman!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Airlies B&B and really enjoyed everything of our stay: central location, spacious room, tea/coffee and even port in room, bathroom with bath & shower, one of the best breakfast we ever got and the best a wonderful couple hosting you who will do everything to make your stay enjoyable. 5 start at an affordable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great B&B located in pretty much the best spot to explore the finest food and wine this area has to offer. Having extremely friendly and helpful owners is also a massive bonus and the view from the back garden is amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tielman_de_Villiers, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you John, It has been a pleasure to meet you and your brother. We hope to see you back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We checked on Tripadvisor to see where there was in Montagu and chose Airlies because of the reviews and location. We like to dine out in the evening and being in Bath Street it meant we could have a drink and walk. We chose a garden room which was really lovely as we wanted a shower not a bath. It was spacious and quiet and in the evening went to the restaurant right next door which was recommended by our host. The price included a lovely breakfast. We plan to travell through Montagu again next year and will book again at Airlies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TielmanAirlies, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we would love to see you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The friendly owners, serving a great breakfast in a very neat B&B will see us back. The rooms are spacious and it is perfectly situated in middle of town on a huge property, beautiful garden and lots and lots of birds. I can recommend this B&B to anyone and it is good value for money. Did miss a TV but the cleanliness was more important and that we got.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TielmanAirlies, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much, it has been a great pleasure to meet and accommodate you here at Airlies and we look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airlies Gastehuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlies Gastehuis

Address: 36 Bath Street | 36 Badstraat, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Airlies Gastehuis 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the stateliness of a bygone era, when this elegant home welcomes you with charm and style. Your friendly hosts, Tielman and Corrie will spoil you with warm, South African hospitality. Enjoy the comforts of spacious elegant bedrooms where high ceilings and wooden floors offset crisp linen. Sparkling pool for summer, log fires in winter. Within safe walking distance from excellent restaurants and many attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Airlies Gastehuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airlies Gastehuis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.