We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing and restfull place, absolutely made us forget abouyt the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Airlies Gastehuis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Airlies Gastehuis to your Saves list
Airlies Gastehuis
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   36 Bath Street | 36 Badstraat, Montagu 6720, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 24 Montagu B&B and Inns
1 review
“Most relaxing and restfull place, absolutely made us forget abouyt the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012 via mobile

From is gardens to its blue swimming pool it was absolutely great. Rooms are clean with linnen and has wooden floors. Brealkfast was fantastic, full english and the host are friendly and very helpful

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    46
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
127
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We were impressed by the hospitality and eye for detail at Arliesm, as well with the unusual room, especially the Victorian-style bath in the bedroom. The poolside breakfast was served with lovely decoration -- little blooms, fruit salad with pieces cut in different shapes etc -- which shows that much thought and effort goes into making the guests feel special.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

me and husband have never been to Montagu before so we were a little skeptical on what to expect. It was a a trip planned on a whim but we are so glad we decided to go. we stayed at Airlies for 2 nights between 31 Dec and 1st Jan and fell in love with the place. Thatched 18 century houses are my weakness so when i saw an old majestic thatched house, i did a happy dance! our room was great and we had views of the town church and mountains. The hosts Tielman and Corrie are so sweet. They make sure they take care of your every need without being over imposing. they also make yummy breakfast. the grape wines in their garden were blooming so i had a lekker time eating tons of (sour) grapes and just doing nothing during our break. we def fell in love with the place and will go back there again in Feb when our family comes to visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

When you arrive at Airlies you can park your car, relax and walk. Montagu has very interesting shops and lovely restaurants. Everything is nearby and you can walk and explore and enjoy. Airlies is an absolute gift. Not very big but the service, breakfast, hosts, everything is just perfect. My 2 daughters and I had a very, very nice stay there. The swimming pool and everything is clean and very nice. We enjoyed the Montagu Muscadel we received in our kitchen. I reccommend Airlies, it has all you could as for.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Stayed here in May 2011 for a night as we travelled back to Cape Town. Very welcoming hosts. The house itself is lovely and very well kept. Our room was very spacious with a very comfortable large double bed. The decor was very tasteful and very clean. We had the novelty of a standalone bathtub in our room - unusual, but it was in keeping with the style of the room. The owners show great attention to detail throughout. The location was great - on the main road through town. Breakfast was very enjoyable. The next morning we had a wander around the garden and met the three resident dogs - all very friendly. Would definitely recommend to others if you're passing through or near Montagu.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Stayed here for one night with my father during a 3-day road trip from Cape Town. Great hospitality, a super large twin room in the wonderfully peaceful garden and a fantastic breakfast the next morning - all you could ask for - and at a great price. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Thank you for your kind words, they are much apreciated.

Best regards.

Tielman and Corrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

A great place to stay - very friendly owners - it could not be better !!

Good located in Montagu - very clean and lovely equipted rooms.

Many greetings from the stargazer :-)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dear Swen and Martina,

Thank you for your kind review of Airlies.
It was great to have met and welcome you here and as we have said: "we will think of you when we look at the Magellanic Clouds".

Best regards.

Tielman and Corrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airlies Gastehuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlies Gastehuis

Address: 36 Bath Street | 36 Badstraat, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Airlies Gastehuis 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the stateliness of a bygone era, when this elegant home welcomes you with charm and style. Your friendly hosts, Tielman and Corrie will spoil you with warm, South African hospitality. Enjoy the comforts of spacious elegant bedrooms where high ceilings and wooden floors offset crisp linen. Sparkling pool for summer, log fires in winter. Within safe walking distance from excellent restaurants and many attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Airlies Gastehuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airlies Gastehuis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.