We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really loved it and are busy planning our next visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Airlies Gastehuis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Airlies Gastehuis to your Saves list
Airlies Gastehuis
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   36 Bath Street | 36 Badstraat, Montagu 6720, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 24 Montagu B&B and Inns
Stellenbosch
1 review
“We really loved it and are busy planning our next visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The service was excellent , friendly, helpful and caring. The rooms were very comfortable, neat, homely and tastefully decorated. The property's central location near nice restaurants, but not on the R62 through Montagu is a bonus. The scenery and the garden is beautiful. We had a lovely breakfast in the tasteful decorated breakfast room.
We loved the tranquility and felt very safe. We enjoyed the hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    46
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
128
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Our second stay and although our last one was in 2002, it was as good as last time. Thielman and his wife offer a warm reception and are only to keen to help with advice to visitors. In the centre of town it has some good restaurants around - try the Old Tavern.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melsungen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

We were very kind received. In the spacious Room of the gardenhouse we wants for nothing, we found more than we need. We found an ambience of privateness. The excellent breakfast completed this wunderfull accomodation

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

In March 2010 I stayed at Airlies with Tielman and Corrie and had a wonderful time. I said at the time that old cliche' "I will stay here again". My review for that visit is on the SafariNow website. Well I have just spent 10 days on a return visit to Airlies in March 2011 and... I can only describe my stay as "Perfection Repeated". Tielman & Corrie thank you for yet another wonderful time at your beautiful home and, I am sure you will believe me when I say 'I WILL' return yet again. Your attention to detail is without doubt the best I have ever seen and, the breakfast is fantastic.
Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Philip Unsworth

P.S.
I am also happy to note that an earlier concern by another visitor about mosquitoes HAS BEEN COMPLETELY SOLVED. There was not the slightest evidence of even a single mosquito during the ten days I stayed in your garden rooms.

Room Tip: Every room is special at Airlies
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

We had a lovely, spacious garden room and the guest house is in easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. The friendly owners made us very welcome and cooked delicious breakfasts. We were able to relax and unwind around the pool and in the gardens.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We stayed in one of the garden rooms for 1 night. Very quiet, well appointed room with large shower and nestled into pathways and flowers. Hosts very pleasant, breakfast good. Perfect for an overnight stay on the mountain route. Recommend a trip to the hot springs resort but dont expect to find lots of nightlife here - place is deserted after 8pm! Pack the mosquito repellent too - we got bitten for the first (and only) time on our entire trip when staying here...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Friendly, warm and professional hosts. Excellent breakfast. Well maintained pool and garden. Beautiful garden suite.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Airlies Gastehuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlies Gastehuis

Address: 36 Bath Street | 36 Badstraat, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Airlies Gastehuis 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the stateliness of a bygone era, when this elegant home welcomes you with charm and style. Your friendly hosts, Tielman and Corrie will spoil you with warm, South African hospitality. Enjoy the comforts of spacious elegant bedrooms where high ceilings and wooden floors offset crisp linen. Sparkling pool for summer, log fires in winter. Within safe walking distance from excellent restaurants and many attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Airlies Gastehuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airlies Gastehuis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.